We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palace of Pink” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Palace of Pink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Me and my boyfriend took a trip to Oahu and were able to stay at the Royal Hawaiian using my hotel points. This place is gorgeous and everything's pink. From the towels to the uniforms to the lemonade (Hibiscus lemonade - they have it specially made for the hotel and it's delicious). The service was excellent, you were always greeted with a smile, and we got banana bread in our room when we got there :). The location was very convenient. Close to the bus stops if you're travelling on a budget. As for the rooms, like the other reviews, I'd advise asking for the historic building instead of the tower. The historic building just got renovated and everything has a unique taste about it. They're much smaller though, and it's harder to get an ocean view. All in all, we had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emiliche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,999
    848
    376
    167
    116
See reviews for
1,064
1,617
128
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

For the most part, the recent renovation of the Royal Hawaiian is brilliant. This hotel is often described as an oasis on Waikiki, and that is a spot on description. Shielded from busy Kalakaua Ave by the Royal Hawaiian Center, the hotel is cool and quiet. Service is top notch.

Couple of things though - we stayed in a Junior Suite in the old building. The bathroom, while small, is great quality and has top notch amenities. Bedroom is OK in size and has a very comfortable bed and a large HD TV. The airconditioning seems to be a very old unit and does not even have a thermostat. Even stranger, there was a sitting room attached to the bedroom, which had some chairs and a very comfortable sofa, but no air-conditioning!! Which meant that the bedroom would be nice and cool, but the sitting room was hot and stuffy. Very strange oversight in that side of the renovation...

The other unfortunate aspect of the renovation is how the hotel has allocated its beach-front space. They have replaced the wonderful open-air Surf Room a casual dining venue, with an enclosed fine dining restaurant. Cabanas have also been built in between this restaurant and the beach, thereby ruining the beach and Diamond Head views from the restaurant. There is a large flat lawn next to the Mai Tai Bar which doesn't appear to be used for anything and then a function room that never seemed used on the other wing. What this means is that the hotel almost seems like it has turned its back on the beach. It's a real shame and has destroyed the naturl human connection that should exist between Waikiki and the Royal Hawaiian.

And while we used the new large free-form pool that is shared between the Sheraton and the Royal Hawaiian, I laughed the first time I saw the Royal Hawaiian's own pool - could you build a smaller pool?!?!? It's not much bigger than a large spa! Ridiculous, particularly when you consider all that wasted space nearby...

However, those things aside, I would certainly stay there again, if only for the service, the atmosphere and the quietness, with all the advantages of being in the heart of Waikiki.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sydneytraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

My family fell in love with this hotel and if we are lucky to return to waikiki and can afford it we will stay here. Where to start, the staff, courteous, friendly, helpful, special mention to Rob (served drinks by the pool) he spoilt us and made the children feel welcome. I fell asleep by the pool and when I woke up there was a ice water next to me, thanks to Rob, he remebered our name and our friends names we met around the pool. Our kids are 11 and 13 and were happy to stay in this pool as opposed to the sheraton next door. Little things that you don't notice until you go over to the Sheraton to do the laundry or use the gym stand out to me. eg. When you go to the lift and press the button it arrives straight away, when you go to the concierge you get served, no lines, no queues. The Sheraton has about 10 lifts and you can wait a long time and they always had queues at their desks, it is very busy. The Royal Hawaiin is so peacful and relaxing. Free coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning and free bottled water at night in your very clean room with comfortable beds. To the management of the Royal Hawaiin, well done don't change a thing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydneytraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

We only stayed at this hotel for 2 nights but enjoyed the location. We stayed in the tower, 16th floor with a great view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Room seemed small but you couldn't beat the view. My only gripes: my husband and I were on the beach and they simply started closing up shop. Someone came and took our umbrella away with out saying a word. We also awoke on the second morning to sounds of our air conditioner vent dripping. The whole entry way was full of water and we mopped it up with towels and told management on our way out.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana farm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

was great stay in great location, concierges could stand to be more knowledgeable as sent us to Polynesian Cultural Center on Sunday when closed. Other then that was great trip and stay. Will come again some day

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

The Royal Hawaiian is a gem of hotel, recently renovated, and steeps in the by gone years of the Matson Shipping age....The port cochere entry way, the endearing staff -- the pink boys bell hops, and the check in and concierge take the extra mile...but the food service and hotel room amenities really leaves much to be desired.
Unlike 5 star properties in Asia, or similar chains like the Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton, this Luxury Collection chain, cuts corners on the pre-text that its for holiday makers who are rarely in their rooms, or in package tours.
We chose the Pink Palace because it is the only hotel on Waikiki with its beach front beach beds...even the Halekulani does not have beach beds on the beach.
The bar service at the Mai Tai bar is accomodating ,and friendly...the table service at the Surf Lanai, and the evening restaurant Azure do not feel five star...dropped plates, sloppy dish outs, just won't cut it for me.
The room we got, upgraded to the old Royal Tower -- great because of the balcony, and my wife being a smoker, shows its age. Frette sheets and towels, and "english" amenities are available, but you need to ask them to refresh it daily, its not standard, it appears.
I would have wanted to stay at the recently re done historic wing, but I can't complain about the great views of the ocean from the room.
The hotel is very well located, and adjacent to a mall, and a 30 minute walk to the Ala Moana shopping center.
If you like to have a good meal, just walk out of the hotel and save alot of money. The Mai tai's at the Bar however, are still one of the best in the strip.
What ticked me off? The food service and room cleaning...But the staff were great...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

The place is gorgous, beautiful view, friendly people

Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing