We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantisches Luxushotel am Waikiki Strand, absoluter Entspannung”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantisches Luxushotel am Waikiki Strand, absoluter Entspannung”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

This is Hawaii's oldest hotel located at Waikiki beach, literally walk a few feet from your hotel room and be on one of the world's most famous beaches. From the marvelous entrance to the very spacious rooms and great outdoor bar, this hotel will give make you relax. The hotel pool with view of Waikiki beach is very well located and quiet. The hotel bar with a view of Diamond Head offers a large variety of cocktails and wines, be sure to try the great New Zealand prosecco. Late check outs (for a small fee) are available for guests flying back late in the day. Staff are plentiful and very helpful for your every needs.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Aloha SWH2010 and thank you very much for visiting us from The Netherlands! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our beachfront location, Mai Tai Bar, romantic pool and well appointed rooms. I have shared with our chef how much you enjoyed our New Zealand dish (he is delighted!) and I will be sure to let all our staff know that their Aloha spirit continues to be noticed. Vielen Dank (Mahalo!) and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    871
    388
    173
    121
See reviews for
1,109
1,681
134
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Werecently returned from Hawaii, celebrating our 10th anniversary along with another couple. The first week we spent in Maui at the Ritz Carlton (Kapalua) & the last three nights (Sept 14-17) at The Royal Hawaiian in Honolulu.

It is the third time I've stayed at the RH, but will probably be my last as well. The grounds are beautiful as always and the location/beach is awesome. The employees are also very courteous and helpful, but the rooms were absolutely terrible - bordering on disgusting. To call this property a category 6 (of 7) & refer to it as "Luxury" is very, very misleading.

We stayed in the Tower & were moved to a second Tower room a few hours after check-in as the guests in the next room were very loud. The front desk was great & arranged a substitute room for us quickly. While much quieter, the room was just as shabby as the first. The tub had brown stains in it and the bathrooms were dark & grungy overall. There were holes in the sheets. The wallpaper was coming apart at the seams. There were brown (food?) chunks on the bed spread. Our friends even had ants in their room & had to have an exterminator come rectify the issue. Luxury? Absolutely not. A Courtyard by Marriott is much cleaner & nicer ... and cheaper.

We asked the Front Desk about the rooms the next day & they explained that it had been 6-7 years since the last refresh in the Tower rooms & that they were currently in the process of a new refresh. Glad to hear, but until refreshed, I really don't think this property should be considered luxury until it is. They encouraged us to come back again once everything was finished and try the property again, but would you really risk this on a Hawaiian vacation?

It became a running commentary amongst the four of us that the property was "a dump" and definitely impacted our decision to utilize the spa and restaurants on the property.

We had also considered the Moana Surfrider, but chose the RH as I'd been there before & it was a higher category level than the Moana (Category 5). I'm not sure what the rooms look like there - but obviously question my decision.

I'm not a big business traveller & have varied in my Starwood status level over the years, but have been loyal to the Westin & W properties (especially in New York).

This was just a VERY disappointing end to our vacation in Hawaii & wish we had splurged for rooms at another property on Waikiki Beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Aloha AJK14 and congratulations on your 10th Anniversary! Mahalo for choosing to celebrate your special day in Hawaii and thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood brand.
I am sincerely sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectation and can assure you that your experience is not our standard. You will be pleased to know that the Tower is currently under renovation and will be entirely upgraded by the end of 2010, though will maintain the indigenous spirit that our resort is known for.
Perhaps the Luxury Collection side of the Starwood brand, which focuses on historic and fabled experiences is not your personal preference, and especially if you enjoy the Westin and W brands, the Westin Moana Surfrider or Sheraton Waikiki would offer more similar accomodations.
I totally emphathise with your frustrations and encourage you to visit one of our other properties on your next visit to the islands, where you can be sure of the same excellence in customer service. We look forward to welcoming you, Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I greatly enjoyed my recent stay at the Royal Hawaiian which was combined business and leisure trip. I had my young daughter with me who was also very impressed with the hotel. The hotel is very quiet and not crowded - which is why I imagine there were so many celebrities that I ran into staying there. But it was right next door to the very nice and very crowded Sheraton hotel, which is a great place to bring the children. The service was spectacular and we enjoyed "renting" a cabana for a day and the extra level of service that provided. The pool is quiet and pleasant and again for the kids, the pool next door can be used for entertainment. The rooms are small and clearly this is due to the fact that it is an older property - so those that aren't into quaint, quiet, and historical hotels should not stay there. I loved that they share the space with the Sheraton and that you could sign at the restaurants at the Sheraton as well, it gave many more options. This was the first time I've been to Hawaii where I actually did not leave the grounds of the property. The Azure restaurant is fantastic and provides great options of local, fresh foods. The Royal Hawaiian is a lovely hotel and recommend it to those that prefer luxury and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleHotelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
SeattleHotelie, thank you so much for sharing your recent vacation experiences with us! We are always absolutely delighted to hear that our guests had a wonderful, relaxing time and enjoyed the old-world luxury experience of our "Pink Palace".
Thank you for noticing our ability to provide a quieter poolside atmosphere at our Royal pool, as well as a family resort-style pool shared with the Sheraton - we really try to cater to both preferences and are so happy to hear that it is working.
I will be passing on your kind feedback to our staff and in particular to the Manager of Azure - it will make his day!
We hope that you and your daughter will visit us again soon, Aloha from The Royal Hawaiian Team!
P.S. Great eye for spotting the celebrities (many people miss them)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

While Waikiki looks like any other crowded beach resort, the Royal Hawaiian stands out for both its history and its elegance. The property offers a bit of quiet and elegance with its lovely gardens and verdanas. The leis are still real orchids and the trademark mai tai is served on the beach and at the bars, but there are updated versions of the classic drinks and trendy seafood on the menu.Starwoods did a major renovation recently that remains very true to the spirit of the hotel while freshening everything up. While some of the rooms are smallish, the modern marble bathrooms are an especially nice touch. The leis are still real orchids and the trademark mai tai is served on the beach and at the bars, but there are updated versions of the classic drinks and trendy seafood on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxieontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Roxieontheroad, we are so pleased to have been able to provide you with an escape from the Waikiki hustle-and-bustle and are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your time with us, the little extras we provide to our guests, and our classic Spanish-Moorish architecture. We hope to see some photographs too!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for noticing that we have upgraded (and continue to upgrade the Tower section over the next couple of months) while maintaining the majestic palace-like ambience of historic times.
We hope you can share another Mai Tai with us soon,
Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Royal Hawaiian the week of Labor Day. This is the most marvelous hotel. We will never stay anywhere else on Waikiki. From the reserved beach area to the effortless way that the staff makes you feel like you are the most important guest EVER, this hotel is the perfect place to enjoy Waikiki.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekmhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Aloha Ekmhart, I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us over the Labor Day week and I will bring huge smiles to all my staff when I share your positive feedback with them tomorrow morning!
We go the extra mile every day to try and make every one of our guests feel special and I thank you so much for not only noticing but sharing your experience as well.
We look so forward to sharing your next Hawaiian vacation with you, Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Our July trip to Hawaii this year was 10 nights at the Royal Hawaiian and we wanted nothing but beach, pool, and pampering. The RHH did not disappoint. We had visited the hotel many times over the years for drinks, food and the luau on the lawn, but had never stayed on the property. We booked an oceanfront room in the renovated historic part of the hotel. We also resevered in advance by email - a poolside cabana for our entire stay. Our only negative experience of the entire 11 days was unfortunately at the very beginning at check-in. We arrived on time around 4:30 p.m. on a Sunday. The RHH was VERY busy. Swamped with people. A huge convention that had been held at the hotel that week was on its final day. On arrival Bell staff quickly and cheerfully with much Aloha escorted us to the RHH's sit down check-in process. Sadly, the young man who checked us in had unfortunately "checked out" himself for the day. No smile, no eye contact, no welcome. He just routinely, in a mono-tone went through the check in process and gave us our keys. We looked on with envy at the two adjoining check in desks where the lovely ladies were smiling, engaging, laughing and checking in their charges with true Aloha spirit. Now with that said -- that was a ten minute "downer" to an otherwise glorious time. The rest of the staff encounters were fabulous our entire stay. The Royal Beach Club pool/cabana managers and staff were beyond wonderful to us during our stay. Cordial, pleasant and constantly full of thank you's for being guests. The cabana food/drink service staff were excellent and attentive. We loved being steps from the pool and beach. Cabana rental comes with daily amenities of ice, water, suncreen, and a fruit plate. We were invited to a "Manager's Cocktail Party" one evening which was lovely. We enjoyed the new "Aha Aina" dinner show on the ocean lawn and thought the food was excellent. We preferred the new table service dinner/drinks to the former buffet. And the updated dinner show was much fun. We used the Concierge desk for dinner reservations - again warm, welcoming service. We also enjoyed the historic hotel tour offered to guests a couple times a week. RHH is a quiet oasis set apart from the noisy craziness of Waikiki central. We also like the perk that RHH guests being able to use the adjoining Sheraton Waikiki pool, grounds and amenities. And also the other sister property - the Moana Surfrider. We will definitely return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kansasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Waikiki at sunset is one of my most favorite things in the world, expecially at the Mai Tai Bar at the Royal Hawaiian. This hotel used to be our annual destination until we finally couldn't stand to watch its decline any longer. We were delighted to stay here again after the renovation, but, after doing so, we were both pleased and disappointed. The renovation is very well done, on the areas that were actually completely renovated which seems to be most of the property. With the exception of the tower, the hotel is fantastic. We stayed in both the historic section of the hotel and the tower during our trip and after staying in the gorgeous historic section, were shocked to see the condition of the tower rooms. In a nutshell, the tower rooms (at least the ones on the 7th floor) received a clean up. Perhaps new mattresses and finishes, but the furniture was old and scratched. The most disappointing part was the air conditioning that would not shut off and kept us up all night. With no historic rooms available, we checked out early and moved to the Trump Waikiki.

I would recommend this hotel, but not the tower rooms. Stay at this hotel, enjoy the Mai Tai Bar, the Waikiki sunsets and all of the wonderful staff! But avoid the tower rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvzparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Luvzparis, Mahalo for your feedback and for your continued support of our resort. Thank you for choosing The Royal Hawaiian; we do hope that you will continue to enjoy your annual vacations with us because I have great news - the Tower is currently under renovation (it has been a slow process so as not to disturb any of our guests) and is due to be completed by the end of November 2010! We are most excited about the progress and soon the luxury feel of the Historic Wing will be very evident throughout the Tower as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort to enjoy the Mai Tai Bar, beautiful sunsets and Aloha Spirit with us. I have shared your experiences and kind words with our Team and we thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We also hope to see some of your sunset photographs!
Until next time, Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing