We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but unlikely to recommend this hotel to anyone”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Waikiki Parc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
“Great location but unlikely to recommend this hotel to anyone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Of the four hotels we stayed at during our honeymoon (3 in Hawaii), the Waikiki Parc was our least favourite. Knowing that the level of room we'd be likely to get in Honolulu as compared to Maui would be more costly, we decided to spend a little more on an Ocean View. Because it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to an Ocean View Prime. This turned out to be a blessing because we were still able to hear the garbage collection and other traffic quite clearly even from the 19th floor. This, however, is not the fault of the hotel--I get the feeling that many hotels in Waikiki must suffer from the same sound pollution in the very early and late hours.

The room itself appeared to be clean but was dominated by a rather antiseptic smell. The only remedy was leaving the balcony door open to keep it aired out. Despite that requested no maid service for 2 of the 3 days we were there, the smell remained. The bed was comfortable and well-outfitted.

Two problems I had while staying there that irked me the most (if the room smell didn't do it) were the following:

1. I was told the hotel had free wifi but ONLY if you bring your computer down to the business centre. As we were staying on the 19th floor this seemed crazy to me. Why would I bring my laptop all the way down to the business centre to use the wifi? What's the point in saying you have wifi? Sounds like a few upgrades are in order to allow guests to use their own computers in-room as part of the room fee.

2. Milk for coffee: I've NEVER had a problem requesting real liquid milk for my in-room coffee before. At this hotel, I was unsuccessful finding anyone to demonstrate an understanding of what I was talking about. In the end, no milk. None. It would be a small detail that would have made the stay much more comfortable.

Otherwise, the staff was courteous and polite. Waikiki is such a massive area that some suggestions for where to head for a good beach spot would be nice but, then again, Waikiki is so crowded that such spots may simply not exist.

Bottom line: this hotel is OK. Nothing more. A decent place to stay if you're trying to save a few bucks and don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heaven11Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    643
    212
    62
    41
See reviews for
392
617
104
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

If not for the location and views, i probably would have rated it average.
This hotel has a very modern feel about it and is very clean. Quite small rooms, but fine for one night stays. Staff were average, did not go out of their way.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1144TravelMaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel is an excellent value in the center of Waikiki. Parking in the hotel garage is $40 per day so the room package with free parking was a good choice. Note: don't rent a big car - spaces are very very tight. Rooms small, pillows a bit hard and the bed not the most comfortable. But overall, would recommend for location and cost. A bit odd that free wi-fi is only for 1 hour at a time, so if you want to use it more, you have to go back to the desk and get another password every time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Just spent 6 nights here. Was fine since I was in town for business. Didn't feel like the hotel was in Hawaii. Buy the location next to the beach walk/royal hawAiian center was fantastic. Rooms were average. Be careful what side u stay on. We were in a deluxe overview on the 17th floor and were woken dIly hearing the trash collection of next door's sheraton. Across the street from beach access. Pool deck is nice, but a shady windtunnel in late afternoon. Nice valet staff. Average morning breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgalTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We just returned from a one week stay at the Waikiki Parc Hotel. It was great to be one block from the beach and have parking! We were on the city side of the hotel and had no issues, but if traffic sounds (morning trash trucks, sirens) can be a bother, a pair of ear plugs will work nicely. The food was tasty at the Nobu restaurant and we were within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, bus stops, you name it. The help was fantastic, we were always quickly assisted by the concierge and/or front desk.

We needed and extra bed and they did not bring a cot or roll away, but an actual twin bed (frame, boxspring, mattress) and just took out the desk and chair to make room. We would definitely go back.

The pool is just a simple rectangle, but there are 3 great oversized chair/loungers that seat 2 people.

Free high speed internet in the lobby as well as concierge area and there is self parking. We did not use it as the valet parking was included in our package.

Room Tip: city side will have street/traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelzDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here to celebrate a graduation and a wedding anniversary. Staff was awesome, greeting us every day, offering suggestions for dinner and even surprising us with a card and chocolates on our anniversary date. They upgraded us unexpectantly when we checked in as we were there to celebrate several events. The beach is just a short walk from the hotel and many restaurants, shopping areas close to the hotel. Great location and great staff! Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyV95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Positives:
Great location, nice foyer and entrance, good pool with view of pacific, useful business centre.
Todd very helpful on the tour desk.
Good value.

Negatives:
Requested sea view and was given view of car park. Spoke with reception but hotel was booked up so nothing they could do.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cedricdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Parc Hotel

Property: Waikiki Parc Hotel
Address: 2233 Helumoa Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikiki Parc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of an exotic and vibrant beachfront city is a chic boutique hotel infused with contemporary style, bold experiences and unpretentious hospitality. To be seen at the Waikiki Parc Hotel is to encounter a vibrant alternative to luxury while being immersed in an enticing and captivating world of culture, Nobu-style cuisine, entertainment, shopping, recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waikiki Parc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Parc Honolulu
Waikiki Park Hotel
Hotel Waikiki Parc
Waikiki Parc Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing