We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is best thing about it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location is best thing about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for a night at the end of a trip to Hawaii, so we could catch an early flight. We had a family room with kitchen, which we didn't use. The decor was very tired but clean enough. Towels were old, small and thin. Even though we were on the 14th floor there was a lot of traffic noise. I used the business centre to check in for my flight, and the pcs were ancient and slow, with out of date browser software. When I tried to print my boarding pass the printer didn't work. On the plus side, it was close to downtown Waikiki. And there was parking. Didn't have much interaction with staff, but they were pleasant enough. It did the job, but one night was enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vicguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    197
    166
    54
    71
See reviews for
192
134
66
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is a little average for the price you pay, but does the trick if you are wanting to spend more of your time out on the mainland. It is in a good location, walking distance to most shops and bus stops.
There is only wifi in the lobby, which was pretty annoying.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottonkandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

the location right in the heart of Waikiki beach is excellent, 5 min walk to the beaches, 10 minutes to the shopping centers, bus station in front,quiet surroundings at night, downstairs big convenience store and coffee shop, good pool 3rd fl, guest launderette check in/ check out fast and professional, very friendly staff the room was huge with 2 queens, balcony, iron and board, fully equipped kitchenette with big fridge, the in room safe is more than big enough for a 15' laptop, flatscreen tv, wired internet at the room, wifi in public area, it's not a new place but good maintained and absolutely clean, we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

It's a hotel in a good location and that's what we were looking for. Nothing fancy but for the price, we got what we expected. About a 15 minute walk from Duke's, etc. Bus stops all around to wherever you want to go. Used the "business center" to print boarding passes which was very handy. Must have been a fire station nearby as there were sirens much of the time. Our room was on the second floor and there were no stairs with one elevator out of service and two VERY slow elevators which really sucked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. It's the best deal on the island. The room was a king bed with a balcony. It was very clean and housekeeping did a sensational job everyday. Within walking distance to everything. Staff is SUPER friendly and helpful with directions and things to do. Room is basic but if you're on Oahu to stay in the room, you're doing it wrong. Stay here! It's wonderful!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mrshoward0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked this room for one night. We were vacationing in Maui but chose to see what Waikiki had to offer. The front desk receptionist were both amazing. They allowed us to check in a little early. Gave great suggestions on where to eat. We stayed in one of their Penthouse rooms. The room was clean but yet really didn't feel so clean. Not quit sure if it was the carpet or that the building in old. No wifi in the rooms only in the downstairs lobby. Although I booked for 6 I had to pay additional $30 for a rollaway due to not enough beds. The wrap around balcony was excellent we could see the ocean on onside and the mountains of the other. If you do book for a large party be prepared to share the ONE shower in one of the bedrooms. The restroom in hallway is only a two piece. I really think what made this an okay stay was that the staff was truly wonderful. The location is great it is in walking distance to everything. If you don't mind a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and stay here on your holiday.. Stayed 11 days and have no complaints.. Would recommend to everyone.. This is the best hotel deal around treat yourself... Staff was very nice and helped every time I needed them. Nice neat rooms no dust or mold.. Do it right and stay at this hotel..

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank incubux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Property: Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2040 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value. We are conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, on the island of Oahu, offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, beautiful beaches, Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more.Residence-style comforts including Full Kitchens, Free Cable Internet, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's and more. Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley line and bus routes. Shuttle Service by Roberts Hawai’i available. Close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing