We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value and Great Service”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It wasn't looking good when our reservation thru Groupon was mixed up and Groupon was closed for the weekend. But the staff stepped up and solved the problem and took good care of our large family. Our stay was 2 weeks long and we found the staff to be friendly and extremely helpful. Room was kept clean and enough extra towels supplied without continually asking. Carpet was new. Hotel provides reusable water bottles and filtered water in the lobby. Close to shopping and quick breakfast/coffee. Room had full kitchen with smaller oven and 4 burner stove and full fridge which helped us save a lot of dining expense. Suggest to hotel to update the kitchen by replacing countertop and cabinetry, and look at replacing stove burners. Add a little color by painting in bathroom, similar to the new paint scheme in the hallways. All cosmetic but will improve the "feel." Already while there, the staff was repainting the facility and we learned that was due to new ownership. Kids really enjoyed the new game room, especially during the threat of hurricane. Easy walk to Waikiki Beach thru the park across the street.

Room Tip: Corner suites have larger balconies and north and south facing rooms have fewer neighbors facing fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnitaBSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Mahalo for your comments!
I am happy to hear that overall your visit with us was a pleasant experience.
The areas of concerns in your comments will be used for future improvements to our property.
Again, appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.

Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    209
    181
    65
    78
See reviews for
217
142
73
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I booked this hotel originally for 2 nights but I had to cancel the 2nd night as my experience was so bad and had to book a room at another hotel. Right at check in, the customer service and vibe coming from the employees were bad. The female who checked me in (Cathy) was very rude to my daughter and I. Being a single mother travelling with my teenage daughter, Cathy gave me one of the more old and "sketchy" rooms of the hotel. The room was old and nothing compared to the pictures shown on their website. The linen was dirty and the AC did not work and we had to wait for an hour to get the technician in to fix it. For the price I paid, it was definitely not worth it compared to the other boatload of hotels available in Waikiki. And that says a lot since I was in Hawaii for a week and I was very satisfied with the other hotel I stayed at down the street.
The hotel is a bit worn out, as the floors leading to hotel rooms were carpet and it was open walled, so when it rained (which it did), the rain would get on the carpet and it would be soggy and disgusting.
The check in experience was very uncomfortable for my daughter and I, and I will never stay at this hotel again.
I filed a complaint to their assistant manager Randy, and they never even emailed me back with a response to which they said they would.
In Waikiki, there are so much more hotels that are undoubtedly better than Ambassador and was definitely not worth my money nor the time they wasted during my trip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pearls1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your comments!
I am very sorry for the negative impression our staff left with you and your daughter.
We strive for constant improvements and will take every phase of your comments for improvements.
Mahalo
Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I think this hotel is in a good location, but tired looking for the price. The staff are very helpful and cheerful, except one of the concierge (female) was less friendly.
Something that Concerned me was the popcorn ceiling in our room was flaking off, and it had fallen on my son's face, and bed during the night. The hotel was built in 1968 when some popcorn ceiling still contained asbestos and this worried me. I wish I could have taken a sample to have it tested. Has anyone else noticed the popcorn ceiling debris?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moominsan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you very much for your comments!
We will take into consideration your comments on the popcorn ceiling for future enhancements to the room refurbishment program.
Much Mahalo
Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

the ambassador is old and our room smell like something die. I would not recommend this place to anybody. check out the place before you make a reservation. and check the company you make your reservation to see if there any extra fees.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your comments!
We are sorry that you felt our accomodations did not meet your expectations. The majority of our guests who have stayed with us have given us a rating that is based on their value during their stay. All companies that book reservations for us disclose our resort amenity fees and parking charges.

Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon through a groupon deal. It is a decent hotel, nothing to rave about, but the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are big and has decent views if you have a room higher up (we stayed on the 16th floor). It has a pool, close to shopping and all the restaurants. It is all a person needs - if you like the upgrades and fancy stuff I wouldn't recommend, But the location is good and has all the basics a person needs.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you very much for your comments!
I am happy to hear that we met your needs during your visit with us. I am also happy to hear that our staff was of service to you.
We hope to see you again in the future when your visit calls you back to Waikiki.
Much Mahalo
Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. But hotel is very old; room and bathroom badly in need of updating. No counter space in bathroom at all. Overpriced for the condition of the rooms. Don't think it's that safe of a location to be walking at night either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottie317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your comments!
I am glad that our hotel staff treated you with the genuine Aloha Spirit that Hawaii is known for. We are currently upgrading and refurbishing all of our rooms. Our property is located in the quieter part of Waikiki, where traffic and pedestrian traffic is lower than the central area.
I hope you will consider staying with us again after all of our room refurbishing has been completed.
Much Mahalo!
Roy Yamamoto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I would give this place 0 stars if I could or if it weren't for the nice manager Sean. This place is very old, out dated,  and dirty. It's worse than a motel 6, but they charge like a 4 star hotel. Spend an extra $25 bucks and stay at a nicer hotel (parkshore was only $17 more,  across the street from the beach and way nicer and cleaner!!) Seriously.

  I booked 2 nights at the ambassador,  at $150 a night. .. Yea,  waikiki hotels are expensive.  But this isn't even walking distance to the beach.  I get there, they add $30 a night for an extra person (even though I booked a triple bed room) and then $20 resort fee and $25 for handicap parking.  So we're talking $225+ a night for a 1-2 star motel!  This was totally unacceptable to me.  Not to mention, the front desk service was so rude and unaccomodating. Kathy, the "lead" specifically. She would be so nice to other customers,  giving coupons, recommendations, asking if they need help with their luggage,  going over all the amenities,  perks, "let me know if there is anything I could do to help make your stay more comfortable" smiling the whole way through and then to me and my family - her attitude was like "what do you want?" She was rude, did not offer any of the services she offered the person in front of me. She interrupted me in themiddle of my question, was just mean and  unprofessional. The male staff were super friendly and helpful. 

I decided to talk to the manager Sean about our situation, and he was real nice,  accommodating putting us in a lower floor (my mom can't walk very far and is afraid of heights), upgraded us to a room with a kitchen (the whole building in general is just really old and kinda gross), and waived some of the extra fees. If it weren't for him,  we probably would have went to a different hotel. 

Seriously, don't waste your money here.  poor location,  poor service,  dirty (I didn't even want to take off my flip flops to shower)  really old building and amenities,  totally not worth the money. 

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilaznbunny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your comments!
I apologize for the hospitality you received during your visit. Bookings are based on double occupancy and in the event a booking was placed for the number of guests staying in the room, the rates would have been pre-calculated at the time of booking.
I am sorry about the service you recieved by one of our guest service agent and we have brought it to the attention of the Management for corrrection and follow up. Parking on our property is limited we are forced to charge all vehicles, including the use of the handicap stalls a $25.00 fee per day. On the plus side, our parking allows for ample in and out privileges without the use of a valet service and waiting time. Many other properties in Waikiki charge a much higher parking fee which does not allow self parking privileges.
I am glad that our male staff at the front desk treated you with the genuine Aloha Spirit that Hawaii is known for. Again, much Mahalo! Roy Yamamoto- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
605 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ewa Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
471 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,838 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Property: Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2040 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value. We are conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, on the island of Oahu, offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, beautiful beaches, Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more.Residence-style comforts including Full Kitchens, Free Cable Internet, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's and more. Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley line and bus routes. Shuttle Service by Roberts Hawai’i available. Close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing