We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next best location after ocean front.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,214 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Next best location after ocean front.....”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is one block from the beach with easy access to many great restaurants. Rooms are large and comfortable. Valet was friendly upon check in, but front desk was not accommodating on an early check in. We needed to change clothes for a boat trip and was told wed get something sooner, but at 3:00, I had to ask front desk again if room was available to be told it was.

As others have mentioned, valet is expensive but so are rest of downtown hotels. Breakfast is not included for those that are expecting it, but priority club members will appreciate the extras they do for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Aloha EDelan, thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards member and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear your kind words about our large, comfortable rooms and friendly valets, but of course disappointed to hear your comments about your front desk / early check-in experience. My apologies. We do our best to accommodate the many requests for early check-ins and will work on improving that aspect of our operation. We truly value and appreciate your business and support and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort in the near future! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    1,218
    364
    78
    36
See reviews for
825
960
140
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Quick check in, service with a smile and helpful, friendly and welcoming staff - this hotel offers good value for money. It is ideally suited for access to everything. It has informative tour desk staff and an ABC store for breakfast cereals and fruits and lunchtime sandwiches just a short walk away. Right beside the hotel are markets with cheapish dining and free entertainment several evenings nights a week and as a bonus, the beach is just a short walk away. What more could you want? For those on a budget this hotel ticks all the right boxes

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Aloha LaurieC and thank you for your kind review of the Beachcomber! Smiles, helpful, friendly and good value are awesome comments to hear and we thank you for recognizing our staff. Mahalo for visiting us all the way from Brisbane and we hope you come back and stay with us at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort in the near future! /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

View at or above 15th floor is awesome even though its not on the beach. It looks over another hotel so if u get an ocean view, it's awesome. Walking to the beach is easy and very accessible, with pool on third floor deck overlooking shopping areas for non-beach days. Clean rooms, quick check in-out lots to see and do and eat and shop nearby. Great location for not on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joepeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Aloha joepeale and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and your kind words about our location, views and service are music to our ears. Our team takes pride in taking care of our many guests and your recognition is truly appreciated. Mahalo for your support and we hope to see at the Beachcomber again in the near future. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel stay was pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable and well maintained on a daily basis. The front desk staff were very helpful. Location nice, short walk to the beach. Parking is expensive. No fridge included in the basic room plan. Located on a busy street.

Room Tip: Valet Parking is expensive. Look for alternate parking sites in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Aloha LeslieC and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! I'm glad to hear about your overall pleasant stay, and your kind words about our helpful front desk and nice location. Sorry to hear your fridge comment, however, as we do equip every room with a mini-refrigerator. If you'd like to reach out to me with more detail, I'd be happy to investigate. Mahalo for your support and we hope to welcome you back to the Beachcomber in the future. /Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield Park, AZ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel has a great location, sizeable rooms, and is over-all quite affordable. The pool are is small and quaint. The only issue with the hotel is if your room is too low, you will hear NOISE, all night. We have stayed here on 4 occasions and moved up each time, but could still hear street traffic, trucks, garbage trucks, etc. Great to walk out straight to beach and right in the middle of Waikiki.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolezal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Aloha Dolezal8 and thank you for your review of the Beachcomber! We're glad to hear your kind words about our location, room size and affordability, but sorry to hear about the noise. We do try to work with our neighbors to minimize noise whenever possible, but being in the middle of Waikiki on central Kalakaua Avenue while most convenient, has its challenges. We appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back to the Beachcomber in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for nine nights and found it to be great.
The reception staff were helpful and friendly.
The location is excellent, with beach, shops and restaurants all down stairs from hotel.
Eva the housekeeper was amazing. She went out of her way to help us with whatever we needed. She not only cleaned our room but was happy to assist us with any other queries we had.She showed genuine interest in whatever we had planned. We soon became friends. Our two six year olds loved her beautiful nature and to this day say " I wonder how Eva is, and we miss her"
She made the experience so personal by leaving us thoughtful notes that we saw upon our return to our room.
The pool was good which the kids could not get enough of.
Our rate included breakfast which we thought would include our two children but it didn't which was disappointing.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you're visiting Waikiki.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela_Sydney2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Aloha Angela_Sydney2013 and thank you for your kind words about your recent Beachcomber visit! 9 nights in Waikiki sounds like you had time for lots of fun and memories. We especially appreciate your compliments about our friendly and helpful reception team and of Eva, your housekeeper. We're truly proud of all of our employees and they all work hard to take care of our many guests from all over the world. We hope you return to see us again at the Beachcomber. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The biggest plus point of the hotel is the location. Right in front of Cheesecake Factory and above Macys, its just perfect.
The hotel rooms are good size. So all good. They have their own laundry which is handy. Pool is not bad either.
Negative and biggest one is do not include breakfast in your booking if you are staying for more than one night, Jimmy Buffet will serve you the same crappy breakfast with no variety for all days you stay. Not worth it. Worst of the lot.You are better off going to Dennys or iHope where you can choose something different everyday.

Lifts are so slow that people get in whatever direction it goes. 4 lifts but it takes ages for you to find one.

One more biggest negative for people from Australia is that all flights reach there early morning. But rooms are not available till 3. So if you want to crash, book an extra night or you have to wait in the lobby for 5 hours.

Overall good location if you want to crash in a nice cosy place.But do not include breakfast.

Room Tip: Book an extra night if you coming from Australia. No breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyRockdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Aloha SydneyRockdale and thank you for your review on your recent Beachcomber stay! We're happy to hear you like our location and room size, and thank you for your comments on our breakfast - we'll be sure to pass on the feedback to restaurant management. We appreciate your business and support and look forward to welcoming you back to the Beachcomber in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,805 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
275 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing