We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomesauce!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesomesauce!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here for first trip to Hawaii. I was disappointed at first when I booked because I heard it wasn't right on the beach. After arriving and staying here, it really didn't matter. The hotel is in a great spot on the strip with tons of high end shopping and restaurants. A mere 5 minute walk across the street will put you right on the public beach. I checked in and was great by friendly staff. My room was great, on a high floor with an ocean view. Room was clean and comfortable and even had a whole box of chocolates in it. I loved this hotel and will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotels2ndhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Aloha Hotels2ndhome,
Thank you for your awesome review. It is so great to hear that you were able to enjoy our central location here in the Waikiki area. Although we aren't an ocean front property, we are pleased to hear that we could exceed your expectation with what we have to offer. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you come back soon.
Warmest Mahalo,
Reid K
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    1,227
    372
    79
    38
See reviews for
837
970
142
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed mid December 2013. This hotel is just like any other Holiday Inn in the world, its very consistent with its basic amenities.

This is the place you want to book if you want basic (but very nice) accommodation in a central location to the restaurant/shopping district.

As it is on the main strip, you will have no problem organising pick ups from your hotel for any tours organised.

Also, the house cleaning staff were very efficient with their job - they were able to service our room even when we were only gone for very short periods of time, perfect timing by them.

Room Tip: If you want to get an early night sleep - get a higher floor, this is Waikiki and the festivities ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShamwowBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My third time at the Beachcomber - and third different management company. My first time years ago I was able to see Don Ho in the hotel's showroom. Now an Intercontinental Holiday Inn, the usual HI amenities were available in-room. Sadly, no Don Ho.

Of course hotels in this area are "tourist" hotels, so a wide variety of guests end up in them, and this non-beachfront hotel is of course no exception. But the hotel took note of my Intercontinental status and ensured I was on a quiet floor.

Staff was friendly. Parking stupidly expensive at $30/day (but tourists to Hawaii generally not big on long-term car rentals, especially on Oahu).

This is a great location for Waikiki and the pricing is reasonable considering the obvious advantage to being centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simeon M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for staying with us again and taking the time to submit your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location in Waikiki. Our central parking facility is very popular with our guests and local visitors with competitive rates, we hope to see you again. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will return to Waikiki – Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Waikiki Holiday Inn for twenty nights. We had stayed here previously but when it was called the Waikiki Beachcomber. We had no hesitation in using this hotel again for our family holiday as it is so central to everything and the staff are super friendly. We were on the 22nd floor and our room hostess, Marilyn G, looked after us all so well during our stay. Each day when we returned to our room, it was spotless, clean towels and linen changed when we required it. Marilyn G was always pleasant to chat to, helpful and a real lovely lady to know. Thanks to the hotel for hiring such wonderful staff.

Room Tip: We chose the same room as we used three years ago when we stayed at this hotel. Room 2205 has a supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Aloha Gibbo23 and thank you for your kind review on your recent Beachcomber visit! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and am most pleased to hear your compliment regarding our housekeeper Marilyn! Our team works hard to take care of the many guests from all around the world and Marilyn and the team make us proud of our hotel. Thank you for the 5-star review and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Mahalo,
Daniel Guittu
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I recently returned from a holiday in Hawaii staying at the Beachcomber with my 2 sisters.
We had an amazing time. This hotel is in a wonderful spot, Macys down stairs and the Cheesecake Factory right across the road. The beach is a short stroll down a lane way. We seemed to be in the centre of everything.
The hotel itself is lovely and very clean. The room was big enough for the three of us and lots and lots of shopping.The view from our room was beautiful. Not one of us could find anything to complain about except we had to leave to come home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Aloha Jennifer and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel and location to your liking and that you enjoyed your time in Waikiki. We look forward to your return to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort in the near future.

Mahalo,
Daniel Guittu
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber with my husband and toddler for seven nights. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again, although if we were to return to Honolulu I would probably try a different hotel just for some variety.

The location of this hotel is spot on. Right in the middle of Waikiki on the main street. You can access the beach through a walkway just across the road. The location is also responsible for the noise (which is mentioned in many reviews). We were on the 20th floor facing Diamond Head (the view from our room was perfect) and at night it was noisy if the door was open, with noise from the road and the music from the International Marketplace, but the music finished at a reasonable hour, so it didn't really bother us.

My one disappointment was the balcony. The railings were very widely spaced, so while our toddler was awake we didn't have the door open as she could have fallen between the railings. My husband could actually easily fit his head between the gaps! If you have small children, I would recommend you stay at another hotel with a safer balcony.

The pool is small, but lovely and refreshing. It was nice to go for a swim and then enjoy a drink from the bar.

Breakfast at Jimmy Buffett's was ok, but I have had better buffets at most hotels I've stayed at. There are enough resturants nearby if you would like something special for breakfast.

Overall, we enjoyed our time at the Beachcomber.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teash21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simeon M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time in reviewing our resort. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed the ocean view from your room and our location. We thrilled to be centrally located in the heart of Waikiki and across the Waikiki Beach. Thank you for your concern regarding the balcony railing our renovation plans include upgraded and updating the railing design. Again, Mahalo Nui Loa for staying with the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The location of this hotel is great! right in the middle of Kalakaua Ave in the heart of Waikiki, and just across the street from the beach! Also it connects to International Marketplace and a short walk will take you to Kuhio Ave. So once again, the location is fantastic!

If you are looking for a decent hotel with a great location, this is it! Everyone on staff that we encountered, from the front desk to housekeeping to valet attendants were all super pleasant! Even the cashier in the little convenience store was nice. It's always a pleasure when people in the hospitality industry truly know the meaning of the word "hospitality" and this place has it in spades!

The rooms were a little on the smaller side, but it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Plus it was clean. I think the description said two queen beds, but really they felt more like full sized. no matter, tho it was comfortable.
The king sized bed felt a lot bigger than our king bed at home so that was nice!
We initially had one room for two nights, but then we added on an extra room for the second night and front desk managed to get the adjoining one to our original room
We enjoyed the top floor and both rooms had partial ocean view which faced the morning sun (much better than the hot afternoon sun)
They have 6 elevators which all are pretty fast. So the elevators are never jam packed.

As for restaurants in the hotel the famous Jimmy Buffett's Maragaritaville is downstairs and yes they get pretty busy, and yes, the margaritas are yummy! Food was decent. Restaurant had a wall showing beach and mermaid videos. There will be a separate review for this place.

They also have a Surf Museum Bar with all kinds of neat memorabilia from Apocalypse Now as well as other surfing related coolness. We hung out there most of the time because the bartender(ess) were so friendly and it was never super crowded. Happy Hour was from 1030a.m. to 6p.m. it connected to the pool deck so you could pop in for a cold one and go right back out to the pool.

The pool, however, was tiny, but good enough for a quick dip if needed. personally, I prefer the short walk to the ocean across the street.

There is also the Magic of Polynesia show in the hotel, so you really could get it all right there. Rooms, food, entertainment.

I would stay here again. even though I live in Hawaii. LOL

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hogggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Aloha hoggit and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel, location and staff to your liking and that you enjoyed your time in Waikiki. We look forward to your return to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber
Resort in the near future.

Mahalo,
Daniel Guittu
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,819 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
287 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing