We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service & location AMAZING! No in room dining or mini bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“Customer service & location AMAZING! No in room dining or mini bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Most of the staff are very friendly too. There was one that was a little unhelpful, but generally they went out their way to help you.
The concierges were fantastic! My concierge was James Speight, and he went out of his way to make sure the tours and trips he booked for me were the best within my price range. He also made sure he followed up with me afterwards to make sure I had a great time. I highly recommend them!
The negatives of this hotel is that there is no in room dining at all, and no mini bar. And by that, I mean that there is not even water in the fridge. The breakfast at Jimmy's downstairs was also very very average. Everything tasted like it has been reheated and is a couple of days old. Having said - that it's very cheap and the staff are friendly. The dinner there is also much better than breakfast.
All in all I would say that this hotel is great value for money considering the location. I would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryssymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for the great review. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your Beachcomber stay. James is truly a master at finding what works best for each of our guests and he is certainly a great asset to our amazing Beachcomber Ohana. We will be sure to pass the kind praises. We hope that you will come back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber soon and Mahlo Nui Loa for the awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    1,191
    359
    75
    36
See reviews for
804
937
137
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been staying at this hotel since 1973 off and on. And streight for the last 7 years. I booked a partial oceanview room was given a run off the house room with the only view of a buiding. When i compland i was given partial oceanview next to the elevator for 3 night. you could hear the elevator everytime it when up and down. finaialy was moverd to a nice room for the other 3 nights. Itold the front desk I was a REWARD MEMBER, how many time i stayed there. they didnt care. More of Wakiki is being like that. Next time ill take my money somewhere else.

Room Tip: Take Your money sonewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simeon M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. Mahalo for staying with us since 1973, we truly appreciate your patronage. We sincerely apologize for not providing a better view room. Please contact us so we may make this right for you. June, July and August are the busiest months in Waikiki and Ocean view rooms are at a premium, as a reward member we always try to provide the best room available and at times the ocean view rooms are booked in advance because of the heavy occupancies in Honolulu. As always, out team looks over all room inventories each day and reviews each room requests and placement in the resort – each team member does their very best to satisfy each guest and commit to providing warm Aloha hospitality. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We hope you return to the beautiful island of Oahu. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mokena
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here before our cruise June, 2014 and were really impressed with the services. The staff was amazing starting with Debbie the manager. Our flight was changed and we weren't going to be able to really do much in Honolulu before the cruise. I asked Debbie if we could store our luggage on our return since we had an extremely late flight and was immediately accommodated. It was my husband's birthday and they sent up a delicious box of chocolates also. All the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with a gorgeous view of Waikiki. No it's not directly on the beach and the pool is small, but a very short walk and you are at the beach. I can't say enough about the staff and our room was great!! We will definitely be back

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor hotel with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocchix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Aloha and warm Mahalo for the awesome review. We take great pride in the level of service we are able to offer our guests and we are truly committed to creating the best possible experience. Debbie is certainly a tremendous part of our team success and is always leading by great example. It is certainly exciting to learn that she could provide the perfect touch to help celebrate such a memorable vacation in Hawaii. Mahalo for the great review and we truly hope that you will be back tot he Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber for your Birthday next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I must admit that I was not sure what to expect, given the construction near the hotel. As this stay was for a special occasion, I contacted the hotel ahead of time with some requests. Daniel G was very helpful with my questions and requests. Upon arrival to the hotel, we were greeted warmly, and received a nice room with wonderful views on the 22nd floor. We received some chocolates as a welcome gift since we are elite members of the chain's loyalty program. The room was nice - although you can tell that this is not a brand new property. They have refreshed the hotel at some point but it is not new.

Our room had two beds, small shower (which had already been discussed with Daniel G so it was not a surprise), small refrigerator, coffee maker (we asked for a tea kettle and received it later), plenty of towels, nice hot water in the shower which had good water pressure, balcony with great views, iron/ironing board, etc. Our favorite thing was the view (we could see Diamond Head and a nice bit of shoreline). Our room was pretty quiet most of the time when we were there, as we were out sightseeing during most of the day. Some late afternoons if we happened to be in the room, we could hear some construction. The room was clean, and the housekeepers were very good about honoring our do not disturb sign on the rainy day we stayed in. The valets were all kind and courteous, and there is a slight discount for Platinum members of the IHG loyalty program.

I would absolutely stay at this property again. I have rated it 4/5 because of the construction, smaller shower and the property being a little older. However, its employees and customer service are 5/5.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a good view -- away from elevator and a/c units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AroundTheWorldInADay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We really like this hotel, the rooms are as expected, amenities are nice, and location is wonderful right in the middle of everything in Waikiki. However, it is not a "full service" Holiday Inn. There is no Room Service at this hotel. So do not see how they can call it a "resort" as even non-resort Holiday Inn Hotels that are full-service have room service.

Otherwise, the value is certainly there, and the prime location is unbeatable.

Room Tip: this hotel is across the street from the beach. all rooms are ocean "view" but really non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simeon M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Mahalo for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Thank you for mentioning our great location in the middle of Waikiki and just steps away from the beach. Value is what we are very proud of, with 496 rooms, a great restaurant – Jimmy Buffett’s and a hoping Surf Museum Bar, a pool area with a large lanai where you can sip on your favorite tropical drink and with so many bars and restaurants around the area, room service for many of our guests is not a priority. We apologize for not offering room service but we always want to satisfy all our guests, next time you visit us please contact the front desk and we will do the best we can to get you what you need. Mahalo for your comments and we bid you our warmest Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here before and after our cruise in June 2014. Great location, easy to access shopping and restaurants. Just a short walk from trolley stop. Stayed on opposite sides of the building each time and thought amenities at the hotel were above average. Would definitely recommend this accommodation and would stay here again. Great location!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view and ocean view rooms give enticing glimpses of Wakiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel, location and amenities to your liking and that you enjoyed your time in Waikiki. We look forward to your return to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber
Resort in the near future. Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is located in the heart of Waikiki, not an oceanfront property but close enough to walk to the beach in 5 minutes. A reward night at this IHG property goes for 35,000 points.

The location of the property is awesome. There are plenty of dining and shopping options all around the resort.

We arrived at the hotel around afternoon and the front-desk agent informed us that the room was not ready and we had to wait till 2 pm. She offered us some bottled water and snacks as a recognition for Platinum status. Did not really get any room upgrade.

We had booked a 2 full sized bed room and the size of the room was fairly standard. Room came with mini-fridge and coffee maker. The bathroom did not have any bathtub and the shower area was fairly small. The balcony in the room did provide some views of the ocean and also was a good place to just relax and soak in the Hawaii atmosphere.

The pool at the resort was much better than the Hilton Hawaiian Village as in you could actually swim in this one. The pools at the Hilton Hawaiian Village were too shallow.

Thumbs up:

In the heart of Waikiki beach, lots of dining and shopping options abound.
Expedia has its own onsite concierge desk. Lots of options for various activities
Compared to the Hilton Hawaiian Village and Sheraton Waikiki, you could actually swim in the pool here.
Free wi-fi

Thumbs down:

Neither early check-in nor late check-out even for Platinum elite.
Parking is valet-only

For more reviews and pictures, please check out my blog at http://www.milespointstravel.com

Room Tip: Since this is not an ocean front resort, location of the room doesn't matter much. However, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milespointstravelkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel and the service you received. We would like to apologize for the room accommodations you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing