We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Caringbah, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was travelling on my own with my teenage son and found the location great, housekeeping staff were superb. Overall staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again. Ideal for family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the location and that the staff were superb. Please come back to visit us again. Safe travels. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    1,227
    372
    79
    38
See reviews for
837
970
142
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My experience at this hotel is nothing short of fantastic.

Patrick, Ryan, and the housekeeping supervisor, Fioncia were very helpful in getting me comfortable during our stay. Hats off!

I will stay hear again because of their incredible service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above 17
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel was very good about providing several options for thinking through environmentally safe options for enhancing your stay. For example, towel locks, etc.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for your great review. We are glad you found your beachcomber stay to be fantastic. We truly have a wonderful housekeeping staff and they will be delighted to see this comments. Thank you again and we hope to see you again. Safe travels home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for the personal bits of a business trip. Chose the hotel because I am a Holiday Inn "frequent sleeper" and like the brand, but also because of the location and value for money they offered at the time.

For sure, the hotel is ideally located, in the center of Kalakaua Avenue, next to pretty much everything. A quick check will show you you are not "on" the beach: there is a row of hotels between you and the ocean. This May or may not be a big deal, this really depends on you.

From here you can walk pretty much everywhere in Waikiki, including the Ala Moana Mall if you are into shopping centers.

Nice feature: a pool deck with a bar (Jimmy Buffet's).

Pleasant staff for the most part, but don't fool yourself: this is a bit of large hotel where personalized service is not the standard. But anything you ask, you get an answer.

Would certainly return if I had a chance to go back and not looking for something upper scale.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JF_Leandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for being a loyal IHG rewards club member and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our location is definitely a plus but yes we are not located on the beach but it's just 300 steps away or a quick 3-5 minute walk. We also glad you got all your questions answered. We hope you get to visit us again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel location was amazing.

I mean its opposite to cheesecake factory shop. Its above Macy's. 1 minute walk to the waikiki beach. Everything is right in front of you.

We arrived early, the room was not ready however, they did organised the room for us before the check-in time which was lovely. Room was nice. Nothing special but had a beautiful balcony looking out to waikiki beach. They lend beach towels to the guests which is very convenient. Lift was never busy and full. I hate it when I have to wait for like 10 hrs to go down stairs.

I just loved the stay here. I will definitely go back there and I will definitely recommend others to stay here too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for your kind review of your recent Beachcomber stay! We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel, location and staff to your liking and that you enjoyed your time in Waikiki. We look forward to your return to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber
Resort in the near future. Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was my first for this hotel .. 2 stays one before cruise and then back for a few days.. We stored our bags free of charge for the return stay..
Excellent central location .. We had a room upgrade as we needed a disabled room ((recovering from broken ankle and an elderly person. Recovering from broken leg in our party). Wonderful view. Short walk to beach.. Jimmy buffets underneath.. Pool so close.. Great view of the 3 parades that were on the week we were there.. Didn't need room service.. Great helpful staff.. Easy access. .. I didn't give the 5 star as I found a toe nail in my bed .. After sheet change.. Must have come from laundry.. But I would not let that stop m from coming again.. It ticked all the boxes..

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Troysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for your kind comments on the Beachcomber! Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and most happy to hear about you describing our great service! We feel we have a very good product and location and offer a great value here in Waikiki, but take the greatest pride in taking care of our many customers. We hope your future travel plans include Honolulu again and if so, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Beachcomber. Mahalo,

P.S. I do apologize about the toe nail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Most of the staff are very friendly too. There was one that was a little unhelpful, but generally they went out their way to help you.
The concierges were fantastic! My concierge was James Speight, and he went out of his way to make sure the tours and trips he booked for me were the best within my price range. He also made sure he followed up with me afterwards to make sure I had a great time. I highly recommend them!
The negatives of this hotel is that there is no in room dining at all, and no mini bar. And by that, I mean that there is not even water in the fridge. The breakfast at Jimmy's downstairs was also very very average. Everything tasted like it has been reheated and is a couple of days old. Having said - that it's very cheap and the staff are friendly. The dinner there is also much better than breakfast.
All in all I would say that this hotel is great value for money considering the location. I would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryssymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Aloha and thank you for the great review. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your Beachcomber stay. James is truly a master at finding what works best for each of our guests and he is certainly a great asset to our amazing Beachcomber Ohana. We will be sure to pass the kind praises. We hope that you will come back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber soon and Mahlo Nui Loa for the awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been staying at this hotel since 1973 off and on. And streight for the last 7 years. I booked a partial oceanview room was given a run off the house room with the only view of a buiding. When i compland i was given partial oceanview next to the elevator for 3 night. you could hear the elevator everytime it when up and down. finaialy was moverd to a nice room for the other 3 nights. Itold the front desk I was a REWARD MEMBER, how many time i stayed there. they didnt care. More of Wakiki is being like that. Next time ill take my money somewhere else.

Room Tip: Take Your money sonewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simeon M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. Mahalo for staying with us since 1973, we truly appreciate your patronage. We sincerely apologize for not providing a better view room. Please contact us so we may make this right for you. June, July and August are the busiest months in Waikiki and Ocean view rooms are at a premium, as a reward member we always try to provide the best room available and at times the ocean view rooms are booked in advance because of the heavy occupancies in Honolulu. As always, out team looks over all room inventories each day and reviews each room requests and placement in the resort – each team member does their very best to satisfy each guest and commit to providing warm Aloha hospitality. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We hope you return to the beautiful island of Oahu. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,819 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
287 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing