We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for 3nts on our arrival into Honolulu.
The location of the hotel is central shops and beaches. Rooms are spacious and clean. We were lucky enough to have been upgraded to a junior suite.
The sofa bed also came in very handy and must say it is one of the most comfortable sofa beds of any hotel I have ever used.
Highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jellybaby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Aloha for the awesome review. With some recent updates to our property, we make every effort to service our guests while keeping them comfortable and it is wonderful to hear that you found our new sofa beds comfortable and relaxing. We thank you for the approval of recommendation and hope that you will come back for another great stay with us at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. Warmest Mahalo and until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 2,788 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel had great service and was in a top location for a reasonable price. The rooms were clean and a fair size. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and street. We could even see a little of the sea!. Jimmy Buffets restaurant downstairs was pretty cool and had good food. The pool was small but for once the children weren't afraid to splash and play. The bar at the pool wa pretty handy too. Having a Macy's store downstairs was a little rough on the purse but shopping was fun. The markets were right next door and there were shopping malls all around. Most of them were high end or aimed at the Japanese market however we still found heaps of shopping to do. We also caught a nearby bus to the Ala Moana centre which had great shopping. There was plenty of public transport near the hotel and the beach was just across the road and through the walkway. The best restaurant was the Chesecake Factory across the road but you had to go and get a beeper at leat 45 mins before you wanted to eat. Very popular! The Starboys surf lessons down near the Duke statue were also good fun for the kids. Everything was within walking distance of this great family hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels facing Kalakaua Ave and you might catch a glimpse of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for the great review. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is truly fortunate to be in the heart of Waikiki and we are certainly excited for the completion of the International Market Place as it will be a shopaholics dream come true. We hope that you and the family will be back for another wonderful Beachcomber vacation and a sincere Mahalo for the awesome review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel in good central location, 5 minutes walk to beach and right near lots of shops. We had a room with full ocean view and glad we paid extra as vacant block right next door, in which building has begun!! Rooms were clean and staff helpful

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Holiday_Living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simeon M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for taking the time in reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations as we are committed to receiving the highest rating on Tripadvisor and satisfying every guest, every time, guaranteed. Please contact us as soon as possible so we may rectify your dissatisfaction. We are very appreciative of all our Australian guests and appreciate your comments about our central location as we are just steps from Waikiki Beach and all the world renowned shopping and restaurants. Thank you for your patience as the International Market Place is undergoing revitalization. Mahalo nui loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is located very near (200m) to the beach. The breakfast is very american and you can't find anything healthy from a european point of view except of a plain coffee. All famous restaurants and bars are close by and all are familyfriendly.
The quality of the room and hotel facilities is reflecting the rate you pay. Don't compare it with other higher class hotels right next to it.
There're no parking spots in walking distance and the hotel offers only valet parking for 25$/day.
Great thanks to the girls from the front and concierge desk. They either answered all our questions or phoned up people until they had a satisfying answer for us.

Room Tip: rooms with beach/ocean view are getting all the noise from the all day busy 3 lanes road at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank spinnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha and a warm Mahalo for the 4 star review. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort prides itself on, service, location and value and it is absolutely wonderful to learn that we could meet your expectations in everyway. We hope that you will be back to the islands soon and we truly hope you will choose to have another great Beachcomber vacation. Sincere Mahalo for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is located right in the busiest part of the Waikiki beach area, overlooking the classic pink Royal Hawaiian hotel. Hotel is surrounded by shops and restaurants (Jimmy Buffett's is on site) and the beach is within 5 min of walk. The room is a little outdated, with adequate space but basic facilities. I feel you mostly pay for the location.

Room Tip: Ocean view is pleasant. A huge construction site is next to the hotel (the original international ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Aloha and a sincere Mahalo for the great review. With our location central to Waikiki, it is wonderful to learn that you could take advantage of the many shops, beaches and restaurants. As Waikiki looks towards the future with the International Marketplace, the Beachcomber is truly excited for some of the new updates that will take place later this year and we hope that you will be back soon to enjoy these enhancements. Mahalo Nui Loa for the great review and until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As hotel experiences go, this is about as average as it gets. Staying in Waikiki is generally pretty expensive, and the Beachcomer is one of the more reasonable rates available. Nonetheless, you wind up paying a pretty penny for a room and ammenities that are largely indistinguishable from a HoJo in Kansas.

Positive: the hotel is located right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. As such, there is easy access to the beach, shopping, and restaurants. Our bellman was also quite gregarious and willing to share advice about local eateries.

Negative: the hotel is located right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. As such, the vehicle and foot traffic feels more like a Manhattan Street than Hawaii. There is no other option than to Valet park, which is both expensive and makes leaving the hotel wildly inconvenient. The resort has a postage-stamp-sized pool that makes it feel more like your taking a bath with your fellow guests, but--hey--Waikiki is literally a couple of minutes away on foot, right?

Our particular experience: we had a room on the 8th floor that faced west. No beach view--instead, we were overlooking a ragged collection of vendor carts crammed into an alley that had the appearance of a Brazilian slum. Our room was little more than a plain box with slightly less decor than I've seen in some menal wards. It was, however, immaculate when we arrived. The room was equipped with a small refrigerator and a coffee maker so small it was barely worth firing it up. And forget about finding some fresh coffee in the lobby--you will find NO perks while staying at the hotel. These are barebones accommodations!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvergladesLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. With our central location in the heart of Waikiki, many of our travelers enjoy the convenience of being able to explore the entire Waikiki area with the ease of walking. We are completely committed to provide our guests with a comfortable experience that can meet their expectations and I apologize that we were not able to provide you with a memorable Beachcomber stay. We request that you contact us at Hnlor@hibeachcomber.com to allow us the opportunity to make it right for you. Sincere Mahalo and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I have just spent 12 nights at this Holiday Inn. We booked an ocean view room 8 months prior to our holiday..What a disappointment Room 1405 was! It could be best described as a room with ocean glimpses.The worst feature was that it was located beside the lift which creaked incessantly throughout the night and at times sounded like a freight train coming through your room.We complained and asked to be moved but this wasn't immediately possible because of the high volume of bookings.When I stated to the lady at the front desk that my room had been booked for months she said it probably was booked cheaply and was a cheap room! I was taken aback by this acrid comment as I knew how much I had paid.Our travel agent in Australia was immediately contacted and she arranged for us to be moved.We were moved but there was no follow up by Holiday Inn to ask if everything was OK.Public relations and customer service clearly is very poor.
In room supplies were disappointing. I have never encountered paper cups being supplied in quality hotels before and the supply of tea, coffee and especially sugar was inadequate.
To me, nobody cared about you, you were just a number in a large hotel! For example, the front desk personnel did not explain that you needed your room key to operate the lift, that the lemon and orange drinks were for guests,that you could only get a plastic beach bag if you liked them on social media etc etc
Location is good, right in the middle of the action with Macy's in the building and restaurants and beaches close by.
Next time I visit Waikiki ( I have previously visited 4 times) I will not stay at the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not located near a lift. If your husband is tall request a room with a king b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jannsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered throughout your Beachcomber stay. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber takes great pride in the level of hospitality and service we are able to offer each of our guests and I truly apologize that we were not able to provide you with the exceptional service that we are known for. Although we were not able to accommodate to your requests during your stay with us, we pride ourselves in making things right for our guests, guaranteed. Please contact us at Hnlor@hibeachcomber.com to allow our Beachcomber Ohana to make it right for you. Mahalo Nui Loa for sharing your Beachcomber experience with us and we hope to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
611 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,564 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £152 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing