We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just spent 11 beautiful days at your resort. Gorgeous views of Waikiki Beach and not so good view of the International Market (which is being torn down). Food and service at the Jimmy's Bar & Buffet highly recommended. All staff at the resort were very obliging and helpful. Marilyn our housekeeper on the 22nd floor was outstanding and thank you to her for looking after us so well.
A wonderful way to spend my 60th birthday celebration!

Room Tip: High up is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Aloha and thank you for the "Fantastic" review. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort takes great pride in the level of hospitality we are able to offer our guests and it is certainly wonderful to be acknowledged of our dedication to guest services. A sincere Mahalo for recognizing attention to detail efforts by Marilyn and we wish you a Happy 60th Birthday. Warm Mahalo for the awesome review and until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 2,789 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Let me start by saying this is not a luxurious hotel BUT it is an awesome location close to resturants, nightlife and shops. The rooms are very neat and tidy and the beds are comfy with firm and soft pillows.

This is my second stay at this hotel and I would definitely go back. The hotel is really well priced, does not charge resort fees and has free WiFi that is actually decent!

The pool is not an "awesome lets hang around all day pool" but it does get heaps of sun and has a pretty cool bar located next to it if you want to relax with a drink.

Don't let the photos on the website put you off, I don't think they have picked the best snaps to show off the property.

If you want a well priced and located hotel in Honolulu then give it a go!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank BjhTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Aloha and a warm Mahalo for the 5-rating review. It is always exciting to learn when our guests come back for another Beachcomber vacation. With our central location and no resort fee service, we truly pride ourselves on the exceptional value that we are able to offer our guests. We hope that you will be back soon for your third Beachcomber stay and Mahalo Nui Loa for the awesome review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location if you love shopping, Macys is attached to the hotel. Great restaurants are also in walking distance. only a couple blocks walk to the beach, less than a mile walk. Staff was very helpful. Rooms are nice and loved the balcony.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank AprilFlower80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Aloha and thank you for the great review. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is fortunate to have one of the greatest locations in Waikiki that's central to everything and it is wonderful to learn that you could take advantage of this. We hope that you will be back soon for another great Beachcomber vacation and a sincere Mahalo for your awesome review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed a week in this hotel and feel we got a good value for the bucks. Holiday Inn doesn't sound so exotic, but how much time do you have in the room? Our room was clean and updated with a balcony. The cleaning staff was friendly and efficient. The front desk never answered their phone for us and were a bit abrupt, but nothing that ruined our vacation. Parking is $30/night unless you are platinum, then they drop it to $25/night. Complimentary water every day in the lobby, but no coffee. You must go out or make it in your room. Washer/dryer on premise which is always a plus in a beach town, but you have to wait your turn (only 3 washers) or get there first thing in the am. I would think twice about staying here if I was looking for great service, amenities and romance, but descent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for your continued loyalty to us as an IHG Platinum rewards club member. Although it sounds like you were able to enjoy most of your stay with us, I do apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is truly dedicated to providing exceptional service and I apologize that we did not extend the same level of service to you during your Beachcomber stay. Please allow our Beachcomber Ohana to make it right for you and contact us directly at Hnlor@hibeachcomber.com We look forward to hearing from you and again a sincere Mahalo for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber for one week to celebrate our honeymoon. The view from our 25th floor room was breathtaking. The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Waikiki and walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and activities. The entire staff was extremely helpful and courteous but our concierge James Speight was the highlight of the hotel. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the area and had tons of great ideas about what me and my new wife should do. We inquired about a dinner cruise to see the Friday night fireworks and he had three different options (all at different price points) immediately ready. He talked through the pros and cons of each option and ultimately booked us an incredible cruise at an extremely affordable price (no mark-up or commission for the concierges). James made sure to greet us and ask how our trip was going every time he saw us and ask if we had any questions. Overall, James was an incredible benefit to the hotel and made our trip even more special!

Thanks James for everything!!

Sam and Rebecca
"The Lovebirds"

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Aloha and a congratulations to you both as a newly married couple. We are truly honored that you have chosen to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort to celebrate your Honeymoon. Our Beachcomber Ohana is dedicated to providing great service and it is wonderful to learn that James was able to deliver exceptional service that could create the perfect Honeymoon for the two love birds. A sincere and warm Mahalo for the fantastic review and until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I arrived for an 11 day stay for business. As is my custom, I immediately give my credit card, reservation and tip to the front desk attendant. In this case it is Serena. She was very surprised at the tip and said that she had never gotten one. I said it was for her and if there was anything that she could do to make my stay more enjoyable, I would appreciate it. I got upgraded to a king size bed room all the way at the end of the hall, away from the elevators and only one neighbor. That equals quiet. On top of that, my balcony has a partial view of the ocean.
The hotel is nice, the room is clean and housekeeping did a great job throughout my stay.
Being in the heart of Waikiki, there are plenty of places to go and see with food establishments within easy walking distance.
My only complaint is that there were no lounge chairs in the room. All that was available were two straight back desk chairs. Other than lying on the bed there is no comfortable place to relax and read.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jody O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Aloha Jody O,

Thank you for choosing to stay here with during your business trip to Oahu and for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that Serena was able to recognize your business needs by placing you in a quiet room away from the elevator. She is always quick to respond to our guests needs once they are revealed to her. I apologize that there was no seating area to lounge around in your room. We have a few larger rooms which contain sofa beds in them which sounds like they would better suit your needs. If you plan to return to Oahu again, please do not hesitate to contact our management staff who can ensure that you are reserved into a room which will meet all of your business and/or vacation needs. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a fantastic location and hotel. Staff are great!

James Speight the Concierge is fantastic. He was so helpful and arranged our holiday activities. If there were any problems he was only to happy to help. A real genuine guy. Made our holiday go like clock work.

Thank you James for everything

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 39sarah40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for the wonderful review. James is truly a master at crafting tours and activities to best suit the needs of our guests and it is wonderful to learn that he was able to put together the perfect Hawaii vacation for you. Mahalo for the raving review and we sincerely hope that you will be back soon for another "Fantastic" Beachcomber stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
612 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,566 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £151 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing