We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ANOTHER GREAT VISIT TO THIS HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Wa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GREAT VISIT TO THIS HOTEL”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel, having visited in July 2013. Like our first visit the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are well presented and very roomy. The only down side this time - which the hotel could do nothing about - is that there is construction going on on the old International Markets site so they started work very early.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the construction work.
See more room tips
Green Features: We regularly left our towels hanging on the racks to ensure they were not changed each day, however the towels were changed each day which was a bit of a waste.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Aloha for the excellent review. We are flattered to learn that you have chosen the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort for the 2nd time and it is exciting to learn that you had "Another great visit" I do apologize for any noise disturbance that took place during your Beachcomber vacation but do hope that you come back when the International Market Place is complete as we are very excited for the many new shops and restaurants. Mahalo Nui Loa for the fantastic review and until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    1,189
    359
    75
    36
See reviews for
804
933
136
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

we stayed at the beachcomber in august with our family and some friends 2nd time for my wife and me hotel is clean top position and excellent service from all staff,great bar and restaurant hoping to go back next year for halloween and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Mahalo Nui Loa for the awesome review and your loyalty to come back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort. It is wonderful to learn that you were able to enjoy our service and location as we truly strive to create the greatest experience for our Beachcomber guests. Halloween is very exciting in Waikiki as the entire Kalakaua Avenue erupts into a block party celebration and we can't wait to host you for another awesome Beachcomber stay. We will anticipate your return and Mahalo for your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yackandandah, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is in a great position but with that comes noise - but that can't be helped for being in a city. The Beds are super comfy and the showers worked well which for me is the main things in a hotel. The pool area was good but I'm glad I didn't include breakfast as any food that I ordered was pretty average. It was pretty pricey - but that's the norm for that area. I would stay there again. Just take your earplugs!

Room Tip: My Ocean View - you had to go out to the Lanai and lean over to see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort is fortunate to have a prime spot in the heart of Waikiki and it is wonderful to learn that you could enjoy the great convenience that comes with our location. Although you were able to relax and enjoy a comfortable Beachcomber vacation, I do apologize for any noise inconveniences you may have encountered. We truly hope that you will be back to the islands soon and we will look forward to your return. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machida, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would not recommend staying at this hotel even if you are an IHG club member. I stayed at this hotel for a total of 8 days while working on the island and was not impressed at all with it. I am a platinum member with this hotel group and I receive extra benefits being so. I had to go back down to the front desk just to find out what those benefits where, and they were not very much. Every IHG brand hotel I have stayed at always provided complimentary water in the guest rooms, this one does not. The staff at the front were really nice and tried to be accommodating, but there is a major lack of training for them and that’s not the front desk fault it’s the hotels overall managers. This hotel does have a small bar attached to it that has the surf board from the movie “Apocalypse Now.” I thought that was kind of cool and it is in a really good location for Waikiki, but those are about the only two things going for it. I personally won’t be returning to this hotel next time I am on Oahu.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikokijason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simeon M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Aloha Jason - Mahalo for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate your patronage, being an IHG Platinum member is commendable, thank you for staying with us. Please contact us immediately as we want to make this right and provide you with an apology and rectify the situation so we may avoid any similar situation with other Rewards guests. As a rewards member you are entitled to receive IHG points (which are most preferred by our rewards members) or a bottle of water and a snack or a complimentary beverage presented upon check in. As a Platinum guest we find you the best room type and location available upon arrival. IHG family of brands offer different rewards amenities in all different countries. Again we apologize for falling short in providing those amenities. Our team members are tenured and continuous training is mandatory as we are known to provide personable aloha service. We hope you contact us soon. Our property is centrally located in Waikiki, steps to world famous beaches, shopping and fine dining facilities – we hope you will return and give us another opportunity. We hope your return to Japan (after Rimpac ) was comfortable and pleasurable. Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family & I stayed for an extended period of time while the Army shipped our household goods to the island. I found it to be quiet between rooms, clean...never saw a bug even on balcony! Excellent view & accessibility to many much needed bare & essential necessities. Staff remembered us & were always very prompt to accommodate. One in particular stands out, she made our stay even more pleasant. We were in rm 307 & I believe her name was Maricon. Lovely, hard working lady who never for a second felt bothered or disturbed if my kids wanted to ask questions or if our room needed service. She deserves a special mention for her hard work in a thankless industry. Thank you! I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuxie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for choosing to stay here with us on your relocation to Oahu! Moving can be very stressful and I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay due to the help of our many staff members. We strive to provide our guests a warm sense of place so that they feel that they are part of our Beachcomber Ohana.
Thank you for recognizing our housekeeper's attention to detail and the cleanliness that they provide. Maricon is a great asset to our team and is always ready to assist our guests in any way possible.
I appreciate your time taken to review our hotel and we hope to see you again!

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the beachcomber and it was great the staff were very helpful on arrival the concierge made sure our bags were in our room as quick as possible the room was clean and very comfortable. Jimmy Buffetts restaurant is on the lobby level and is a great place to eat and just sit at the bar for a quiet drink. this has been our 4th trip to Hawaii in the last 2 years and we have stayed at the beachcomber each time, and have just booked another trip back next February and we will be staying at the beachcomber.

Room Tip: the higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us time and time again upon your return to the Hawaiian Islands. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer from our great staff services, to our comfortable rooms, and the ambiance of Jimmy Buffet's .

We value your loyalty and appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel. I am excited to hear that you will be returning to stay here with us again for your 5th trip to Hawaii! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Thanks to Mother Nature for creating an opportunity to check out this property!

The room was very clean, modern and comfortable. The location is ideal. It is not beachfront however the location makes up for it.

The manager on duty Daniel has a heart of gold and displays the aloha spirit quite obviously. Sophia and Emma at the front desk deliver great customer service with pleasant attitudes and efficiency, not to mention how attractive they are.

The parking lot attendants were polite and professional. Overall a very memorable experience. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Pay for the deluxe room Kalakaua Premium Ocean View, you will not regret it.
See more room tips
Green Features: It is evident that this hotel is dedicated to making a difference in the environment. Keep up the good work!!!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiko56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Service M... B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Aloha and a most gracious Mahalo for your excellent review. The Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Resort takes great pride in offering exceptional service that create the most memorable experiences and we are truly grateful to have a dedicated beachcomber Ohana. Daniel, Sophia and Emma are all wonderful assets to our amazing Ohana and we thank you for taking the time to acknowledge them personally. With Mother nature giving the state of Hawaii a wake up call, we are very pleased to learn that you could enjoy a wonderful Beachcomber stay and relax comfortably. Mahalo Nui Loa for the fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing