We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2M Full day Pearl Harbor tour.”

Discover Hawaii Tours
Ranked #22 of 332 Tours in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leave those giant motor coaches to the herd. Savvy travelers join Discover Hawaii Tours on our small-group tours that include the Road to Hana, island sightseeing, eco tours, private tours and much more. Our huge selection of tours and our friendly, professional tour guides create an unforgettable experience of Hawaii that you'll love. We want you to feel at home in our islands, and it's our mission to provide the perfect tour for your Hawaiian vacation. We want you to love our tours so much that you’ll tell your friends! Since 1995, we’ve hand-selected the finest tour guides in the islands. Our guides are experts on Hawaiian history and culture, including Pearl Harbor and ancient Hawaiian folklore. When you choose Discover Hawaii Tours, your tour guide will be as memorable as the breathtaking sights around you.Discover Hawaii Tours is a locally owned and operated company with headquarters in Honolulu.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2M Full day Pearl Harbor tour.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My family flew in from Maui to go on this tour. We had quite a bit of waiting for others to also arrive at the airport.
We were then late getting to Pearl Harbor and the tour had already started. We got rushed through the Bowfin sub, had about 15 mins to look over the rest of the entire site before our booked tour to the Arizona memorial started at 9.15am. At this stage we'd been up since 3.30am, having been told breakfast was included (a juice and 2 granola bars which we never got) we hadn't eaten anything.
The next part, we rushed from the Arizona to meet our bus and we're taken aroundvto the Missouri where we waited for about 20 mins for a guided tour to begin. Was told that if we hadn't managed to eat something yet, best we do so here. By now my 12 year old was so over it, he missed the joy of exploring the magnificent ship and chose to get something to eat.
From there we were rushed to the Aviation Museum where we again sat around waiting for about 45 mins before our guided tour started. The tour itself pretty much told the exact same information our bus driver and tour guide on Missouri had already said.
Finally after the museum we were given a tour of Waikiki and surrounds which was pretty interesting. We were then dropped off at a random hotel and was told we had "An 1 1/2 of free time" before the bus was to pick us up to take us back to the airport.
A couple more hours waiting for flights and then finally made it back to our condo around 9pm.
Overall we felt certain things were far too rushed and unorganised, considering the amount of money we spent on getting the tickets, to then have so much time wasted on sitting around waiting for other things to start.
Bit disappointed as we had travelled all the way from Australia and wanted to really check out Pearl Harbor.

Helpful?
Thank Meagan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Mahalo for joining us on a tour and thank you for your feedback. We continually strive to deliver the best tour experience possible to each and every guest, and we are sorry you had this unfavorable experience. Kindly let us know what day you toured with us so we may address this. We value your time, business and feedback. Please direct message us at jackie@discoverhawaiitours.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,019
    404
    134
    98
    121
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tips for families”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We did the Pearl Harbor/Dole Plantation/Polynesian Center tour with Tavita. He was very funny, entertaining, and extremely knowledgeable. A few tips for families: there is NO time for breakfast, so bring food with you. We got up at 4:15 am to make it to the Kona airport for check in at 5:00 and to Oahu by 8:30. We had minutes to run to a gift shop at Pearl Harbor to buy and wolf down some snacks for breakfast. Another tip or caveat: know that you will be rushed. Because there are SO many stops on this tour, you have VERY little time at each stop. We wanted much more time at Pearl and the Dole plantation. A third tip: the Polynesian Cultural Center is the longest and hottest part of the trip. We found three hours too long and the outdoor park too much in the heat. Finally, the last two and a half hours had NO bathroom breaks and there is NO bathroom on the bus. We had an excellent day, but it was a somewhat hungry, hot and long one. Still worth it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We are happy to know that Tavita took good care of you. Also, th ank you for sharing your tour tips with the other readers. It was our pleasure to take you along and share the culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Road to Hana”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Wife and I in mid 20s staying in Oahu for 4 nights did the day trip to Maui with discover hawaii for $400 each. As well as the tour this included shuttle to airport from near hotel, flight to Maui, breakfast (didn't know this), lunch, flight back to Oahu, shuttle back to near hotel.

Bjorn was our guide and in a high-energy, "Jack Black" kind of style, he led us magnificently around the island with all the information you could want, especially about the flora which we really appreciated. He definitely went above and beyond bringing various "show and tell" pieces for along the way.

We were unsure about spending so much money for a 1 day event but in the end we were very grateful for this excellent, informative, entertaining trip that took us away from the high-rises of waikiki and into the jungles of Hawaii. The nature of this trip is that you cover a lot of ground but don't get long off the bus at the various places so you have to be OK with sitting in the bus, looking out a (big) window, and listening to the information as you drive. No toilet on board but didn't have to hold on for too long between facilities.

We recommend this trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We are happy to know that Bjorn took good care of you and your wife on your Road to Hana tour. It was our pleasure to take you along and share the beauty, culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Day well spent”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We took the Hawaii Volcano National park tour. Short wait at the airport, the guide had to circle around because our flight was a bit late, and then dropped off at a candy place while he had to pick up a couple more people. The tour included the street with Banyan trees planted by famous people and a japanese garden which was pleasant but unimpressive, and then Rainbow falls, followed by lunch. At the beginning I was getting a little worried about how much time we'd get in the volcano park but we spent the whole afternoon there. Our guide was knowledgable, friendly and funny. We went to several different views of the volcano, took a short hike with the group, went through the lave tube, and walked on a cooled lava field. We were lucky enough to view 2 eruptions (no lava sighting due to daylight). I'm not a big fan of group tours but overall it was a day well spent. The only complaint I'd have is we could have used a little more time for the hiking part, I felt like I was on an army march.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ktjnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. It was our pleasure to take you along on the volcano tour and share the culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great company to tour with”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We did 3 tours with Discover Hawaii - Ohau Island Tour (John), Pearl Harbour (Kanoi) and the Big Island tour (YB) and we were not disappointed. All 3 tour guides were knowledgeable, friendly and fun. The Ohau and Big Island tours are long but well worth it if you are limited for time and want to see as much as possible and Pearl Harbour is a must. The buses are tidy and clean and at all times we felt safe. Thank you Discover Hawaii for a great time

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2GnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoverHawaiiTours, Manager at Discover Hawaii Tours, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Mahalo for the gracious review. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed all three of your Discover Hawaii Tours and that our guides took good care of you. It was our pleasure to take you along with us and share the culture and heritage we're so proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discover Hawaii Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discover Hawaii Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing