We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it and wouldn't stay any other place!!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We love it and wouldn't stay any other place!!"”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Just returned from our 25th wedding anniverary in Hawaii and had an amazing time!! We have visited Oahu many times and the Grand Waikikian is our FAVORITE place to stay. Location is wonderful and is a part of the Hilton Hawaiian Village (which is a mini vacation all its own, shops, restaurants, conveniences) Rooms range from a studio to 3bdrm suites, which means cozy for two or spread out spacious for a whole family!! Check in greets you with orchid leis for the ladies and kukui nut leis for the men. It is a busy hotel with constant arrivals and departures, but rooms are quiet as a church mouse, which is a lovely feature all its own!! Rooms are generously appointed, neat and tidy, equiped with fully functioning kitchens and housewares!

It is withing walking distance to Lewers Street (shopping, restaurants) and International Marketplace. If you are connected to the military, the Hale Koa is right next door and offers you extra savings, shopping, facilities etc...

Landscaping is gorgeous and the pools (and even a lagoon) are plentiful and its all right on the beach if you'd rather sand with your sun...

The Hilton Grand Waikikian makes paradise just a bit more heavenly!! :o) If you want a visual, visit www.hgvc.com and click on explore resorts--HAWAII, enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notsothrilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    428
    136
    37
    35
See reviews for
795
287
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This our 3rd trip back to Waikiki and definately the BEST. What a great resort with everything at your doorstep from restaurants to pools to the beach and lagoon.
Yes other resorts say go use the lagoon and beach.. at the Waikikian it is at your doorstep.
Yes it is more expensive than some other resorts but we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and it was fantastic. In a resort view room we had a great water view still from our lanai and right beside the lagoon and pool with slides for us all to enjoy not just the kids.
The surf guys Kane and Mike were sensational and had lessons with my wife and 3 boys was such a great experience and the guys were great...The resort is a class above, rooms, activities, location, luau and total experience. Not exactly for the budget minded however you don't have to spend there if you don't want to.
We loved it and will definately be returning to the Garnd Waikikian Suites...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyfamily9969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimac, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed on 30th floor of the Grand Waikikian tower. There are 7 towers in the Hilton Hawaiian Village. There are plenty of activities to do.

The weight room is like any hotel fitness room. (Our vacation started at the Four Seasons in Maui at Wailea. They have an excellent weight room that allows you to target every muscle group plus they have yoga classes, Zumba classes, Hip Hop classes, and body sculpt classes.) There are no fitness classes at Hilton Hawaiian Village. We took the Lei Making class and the Hula Dance class. Both were fun! We witnessed the penguin feeding time, but couldn't hear what the trainer was saying. I wished she would have been wearing a microphone so that we could hear about the 7 penquins and what they look for when they are feeding them, etc. Too many little kids surrounding the penguins.

Great shopping on the hotel grounds! I loved selecting the oyster and getting not one, but two pearls at the Maui Divers Jewelry store for $14.95. Then you can have it mounted if you like. This was my favorite souvenir from Hawaii.

The beach was beautiful. We took surf lessons at the hotel. I never knew how much upper body strength it takes to surf! But, true to their word, the four of us (ages 48, 49, 21, and 18) stood up and surfed.

We attended the Luau on Thursday night. We paid extra for the premier seating. They tell you that if you have little kids it is better closer than farther. Since we are all adults, that was not a concern. We still chose the premier seating and it pays off when it is time to go up to the buffet line. The tables are called up and they start with premier seating. Plus, the premier seating gets a flower and a coral lei. We thought going early to eat was worth the extra $20/person. The food was good. The dessert was so-so. The entertainment was great! The drink guys worked incredibly hard.

We also attended the dinner starlight cruise with fireworks viewing from the catamaran boat. We dressed up, and wished we had worn jeans or casual clothes. We didn't know. The food was okay. The dessert (mini cheese cakes and creme puffs) was great! The staff was fun and one of the blue-eyed, blond crew members, Josh, was fluent in Japanese!

The Pronto Pickle has some great sandwiches and Lapperts serves great ice cream and shakes.

The grounds were beautifully kept. There seemed to be a wedding every day. The Hilton has a cute little church. It is an awesome place to get married.

We walked from Hilton to the other end of the beach. Great exercise then, we walked down the shopping street. Everyone has a store on this road. I think it beats the Magnificent Mile in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hahnje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, CA
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

When we go to Oahu, we never fail to stay at HGVC. My Shell Vacations Club timeshare gives me privileges to exchange next door at the Ilikai (I should have bought at the Hilton) but why stay there, when this is ten times more superior?

The Grand Waikikian is the latest addition to the HGVC properties. Advantages: closer to the waterfront, more modern appliances, own back entrance which is closer to the street, access to the water slides pool - our suite gave us a view of the rooftop luau show, close to the boarding lessons at the lagoon area. Minuses: don't get the corner suites -- seem smaller with less oceanfront views, the cold, cold air conditioning in the lobby, pricey.

This property is definitely for you if:
- you want to save money by cooking meals in a full kitchen
- you like the apartment experience and need your space but still have hotel amenities at your fingertips
- you like to hang out in your suite, relax and soak in the views and the breezes
- you like your own beachfront (the umbrella fees are horrible!)
- you like to walk a few steps to shops and a variety of hotel restaurants.
- you like to have supervised entertainment for your kids
- you want a clean, well-maintained top notch property

TIPS: Shop for food at Costco or Ala Moana Center -Foodland or pre-cooked Asian food at Shiryoka - top floor. Go to the military hotel next door to the fast food deli by the beach for $3.50 hot dogs instead of the $10 ones at HGVC property. DVD rental kiosks in the lobby are good for chilling out at night.

Room Tip: If you are willing to suffer through a timeshare presentation, you might get a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripsntraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Just came in today. So far, not very impressed. I brought my family here with a time share sale deal. I upgraded the package to stay in a two bedroom fully furnished and equipped unit. Hilton Grand Vacations at check in would not honor my Hilton Honors gold status with resort vouchers that I typically would use for breakfast. They told me that since I was staying with Grand Vacations and not Hilton, they would not honor my Gold Status. After checking in, the unit is ok. The A/C doesn't seem to be workiing up to par. It's quite warm in here. The master bath has a seperate shower, tub, and sink. Guess what, we get two bars of soap! The dresser is attached to the wall. It looks like it weighs a ton or so, but they see the need to user straps to tie it to the wall. A piece of trim in the master bedroom bath area appears as if it is about to pop off the wall, and this is a new building! These may seem like trivial issues, but remember, Hilton is trying to convince me to buy one of their timeshares. So far, no way! Like I said, the jury is out. Still to early to render a final review of this property.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sawneeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We loved having our own kitchen and washer/dryer while being in Honolulu. Units are very new and clean. Also, units are very quiet. We felt right at home. The only glitch we experienced was at check-in. Our reservation was lost do to misspelling our last name. After a brief delay, we were found.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TexasFunTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This was my 4th trip to the Hilton Hawaiian Village but my first in the Hilton Grand Vacation Club. We booked a timeshare promotion for the HGVC. We stayed in the Grand Waikikian towers and it was absolutely beautiful!! Even better than in the pictures. It was like having a small (luxury) apartment.

Our unit faced a main street but it didn't stop us from having meals on our balcony daily. We slept with the balcony door open for the breeze but the hotel-provided clock radio was also a sound machine that played soothing water sound. We use one at home for our toddler to sleep so I packed my ipod and docking station for nothing. I know for next time!

It was perfect for my 2 year old to run around in and we didn't feel crowded. We usually rent suites with kitchens or vacation rentals but this was like having a vacation rental plus the added bonus of top notch hotel amenities.

The customer service is outstanding as well. My daughter threw her pants off the balcony... twice (Luckily they just landed on the patio of the room below ours)! Both times they were quickly retrieved by hotel staff.

One of the pools is a salt water pool and my daughter LOVED it. It's much gentler than chlorine. There are waterfalls, water slides, a lagoon, fireworks and flamingos in the "village"! I LOVE this hotel. This is by far the best hotel in Waikiki for families with young children.

Room Tip: Book a timeshare presentation for possible deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havekidwilltravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,968 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1601
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations. Accommodations include one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing