We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penthouse stay - awesome in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Penthouse stay - awesome in every way!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Last year we spent some time in a penthouse suite and thought we would never be so fortunate as to do it again. Not so! As luck would have it, we managed to squeeze three nights in the Penthouse again this year. It did not disappoint.

To clarify, the penthouse suites at the Grand Waikikian are not your standard HGVC Penthouse suites. It comes with private Penthouse concierge service, daily cleaning service and evening turndown service, Penthouse lounge, complimentary continental breakfast, and cocktail/ pupu hour nightly including complimentary beer/wine. Penthouse suites are floors 35 and up. Theses cost a ridiculous amount of points (but are totally worth it).

This year we got a two bedroom penthouse (ph) suite - room 3511. This suite was truly amazing. Being on the end of the building, it encompassed the entire side of the building, and offered three balconies each with its own view on a different side of the building. So we had a diamond head view (lots of ocean), a city view/ ocean view, and a full city view. Unreal!! The suite was beautifully decorated, well appointed and in good shape. Two balconies were average size and one was quite long. The views were gorgeous. Both bedrooms had bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs under the windows that allowed you to relax in the tub while enjoying the beautiful city lights at night. The second bedroom's shower was quite large and had a seat in the shower. Both bedrooms had their own balconies. The layout was not as open as the standard two-bedroom floor plan because of its end location, but given those views, there was no reason to complain. The suite is also on the same floor as the Penthouse lounge, which was very convenient. That meant we also had convenient access to the concierge staff just down the hall. There was no increased noise associated with being near the lounge.

What really makes having a penthouse suite worthwhile is actually, in our opinion, the amazing Penthouse staff. We were really thrilled to see no turnover in the concierge staff from last year. Each one of them is remarkable in their own way. They are on top of everything, knowledgeable, multi-lingual, and just plain pleasant. We just love each one of them. From managing room switches, to making a dinner reservation, to making recommendations for what not to miss on your day's plans, to just smoothing out some little wrinkle, they can be counted on 100%. They remember everything. It's great walking in to the lounge for breakfast and being greeted by "so how was dinner at Tiki's last night? Did you try the ribs?". They just never miss a beat. I am not exaggerating when I say these people make the trip go from great to spectacular!!

Penthouse was all we remembered it to be. Great suites, amazing views, and truly wonderful staff. I know we won't catch all of you (and we do mean to....not one of you fails to amaze us) and I will likely butcher some spelling but ... Thanks Keiko, Mayumi, Hiromi, David, Darlene and Stanley! We miss you already.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite - room 3511 is amazing. Great views on three sides of the building all in one suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank austengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    410
    130
    35
    29
See reviews for
748
268
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

just want to go back! big beach, nice surf, nice pools, great icecream! Great staff! Very nice island with very nice people, best beach is on the other side of the island, but best choices for family stuff is in honolulu. Dolphins! Turtles! Lava tunnel diving! Surfing! Skydiving! Polynesian cultural center, very interesting! Helicopter Tours!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Rickard Jan Ken... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Wow we finally went to a hotel where they greet you with Leis when you arrive. Such a great finished hotel with great wood work and fountains everywhere, and a 3 slide pool. The room had wood floors, easily cleaned and a great kitchen, " if you want to cook, we didn't " A great balcony on the 28th floor that overlooked the Park and ocean. A little scary if you are afraid of heights but we didn't request a lower floor, but was fine.. The private room had a great mattress, slept like a baby. Service was great when you needed it, they were always willing to help.

Room Tip: lower floor pool side or higher floor park and street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttocs8769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pak Kret, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We recently stayed in the Grand Waikikian for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. I traveled with wife and kids 6 and 9. The facility is big and it is commingled with other Hilton towers. At some point in time it felt a little crowded, specially at some times during the day where lots of people was checking in. We arrived early because we were flying from Seoul. They did not allow us to get to our room until 3:30 PM. But they gave us access to a Lounge, which it was very basic compared to others I have been. The staff was very professional and eventhough they offer timeshare acquisitions, they were not pushy nor irritating.

There are many dining options but it is better to call and make sure you can walk in. Many restaurants at walkable distance as well as cafe shops. There are small stores called ABC that sell absolutely everything and that's were I found healthy snack to take to my kids on the beach. Believe it or not there is a dairy queen as part of the complex as well. There was a breakfast buffet in one of the cafes close to the beach but only some days of the week.

My kids enjoyed the paddle board on the lagoon and also the slides at the pool. This is a family friendly hotel. They are small to take the surfing classes but may be next year. But there is so much to see in Oahu that we also visited other areas in the island - Hanauma Bay, Makapuu lighthouse trail, Pearl Harbor and off course Waiola Snow Cones !

Our room was in the twenty something floor and it was very quiet. The suite had kitchen, laundry and dryer. When traveling with kids that becomes handy. I recommend the Suites for the location, easy access to the beach and multiple pools.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ortiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The accommodations are good, but it is a money pit. Overpriced for everything. Pools undersized throughout considering the number of rooms. Gym - how about some blinds or sun screens for morning goers? Gym was undersized (and too hot!!) relative to the number of rooms/guests - maybe 20-30 pieces of cardio equipment for thousands of guests? Staff was generally friendly and approachable. Worst experience with concierge - book stuff on your own, they are misinformed and self-interested.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Matthew H. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Front Office Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time to write about your experiences while visiting here. It was really nice to hear you like the accommodations you had… and you are correct in that Hawaii is a very expensive state to visit. As we are an island state located in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, everything tends to be quite pricey, especially in Waikiki.

I will forward your ideas concerning the fitness room to the proper department, from size of room to blinds for the windows and hopefully we can make a positive impression on you on your future trip. I will inform the concierge supervisors of the impression the concierge’s made on you, and to improve our service which always strives for the best.

Thank you again for you invaluable opinion.

John R. Reagan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnademar
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

I am here now enjoying my 2 bedroom premier suite on the 31 floor with beautiful ocean views everywhere I turn!!! Service has been great. A few issues with room were immediately addressed and this is a busy time. Bravo!!! Reception was outstanding! Bellman are very professional and running all of the time. Concierge Wendy Davy is most helpful. I am supposed to be meeting her right now but I am enjoying and appreciating my room so very much!!! Will I return? Absolutely! For those of you who enjoy the 6 day sales deal ...you have no idea how much better it is to be here as an owner. more thing the Mandara Spa may be in desperate need of renovation (come on Hilton get this handled) but Bronson is a fabulous masseuse.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnademar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you want to have a great 4th of July experience come to the Grand Waikikian. Great pool,lagoon,and ocean access but if you come 4th July week you see the fireworks up close and it was like 15 mins long and well worth being near the crowd. Also I believe that there is a fireworks show on Fridays that lasts about 8 mins and you are right next to the fireworks. Overall great family experience and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunterj97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1601
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations. Accommodations include one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing