We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice facility, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Lathrup Village
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice facility, centrally located”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Facility and amenties were very nice. Especially liked the in suite kitchen with stove and full size fridge. Great location on Wikiki, walking distance from many stores/restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank jgo_michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    414
    131
    36
    30
See reviews for
756
276
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is very clean and the decor is beautiful!. The pools are so overcrowded you will not get a chair unless you get there by 8am or hover and stalk people until they leave. the beach is beautiful but it IS a public beach. The lagoon is misleading. It is NOT owned and operated by the Hilton. You will pay dearly for chairs and shade.
We enjoyed the restaurants and found the service to be very good. If you like to shop high end, this is your place! If you want more popular priced souvenirs to take back with you, that is easily found as well.
I found that this is definitely a big city hotel with a beach and palm trees. It could have been anywhere. We had our 12 year old son with us and I didn't feel comfortable allowing him to wander the grounds as the hotel is located off a main street and is accessible to the public and ALL ways. Even the bathrooms are accessible to anyone using the beach. It made me a bit uncomfortable.
As for the room, It was well appointed and clean. The Upgrade to Partial Ocean View meant that if you squint really hard and can see past your neighbor's balcony, you can make out a faint strip of ocean. The pillows are very flat and hard so you may want to bring one.
We had a good experience but will not go back again.

Room Tip: Get out to find some toys for your kids for the ocean or pool. there is NOTHING to keep them amused...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1traveljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests as it not only lets us know what we are doing well, but more importantly where we can improve in those areas where it will increase guest satisfaction and meet or exceed guest expectations. We are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied and that the resort did not meet your expectations. We are happy to read that you mention the hotel is very clean and the décor beautiful. Also that you enjoyed the restaurants and service. You note that you stayed here last month and the pools were crowded. This is one of the busiest times for the resort due to the Spring Break so the pool areas do experience more guests as more children tend to be staying at the resort during this period. You also mention the beach being public which is correct, but almost all beaches in the state of Hawaii are public. The lagoon is owned by the city of Honolulu, but through an agreement Hilton maintains it, but does not oversee the activities. That is done by an outside vendor. Thank you again for your comments and feedback.

Steve Stoyanow
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We really enjoyed our visit. The staff here were wonderful. They were very accomodating and went out of their way to be helpful. The owners facilities were great for an early arrival and late departture due to flight schedules. The pool was a bit crowded and dominated by kids but we were out on beaches and visiting sights most the time so that didn't bother us. It's convenient to beaches, shopping, bus lines, etc. We had a car rental but if you didn't it wouldn't be a show stopper due to the location and public transportation options. We'd definately go back & recommend. If you go to the North Shore try Opal Thai (lunch) and Cinnamons for breakfast is great if near east coast. I'd recommend Safeway for groceries. Great produce and even sushi. (crispy roll samples convinced us to buy -delicious!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank tazcount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Hawaiian welcome with leis was great. The pool and lagoon were fabulous and the kids had a great time on the water slides and snorkeling in the lagoon. The rooms are nice and clean and comfortable. (Skip the upgrade to the ocean view room. Wasn't worth it.) Parking was expensive $30 a day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Jeff G. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Not really suitable for couples more a family venue. Unfortunately the weather was dreadful so spoiled the stay but convenient location on the beach. It takes ages to get any help especially when the TV internet wouldn't connect. Also the cleaners don't speak English to ask for tea /coffee which wasn't left. The restaurants are ok but the birds are aggressive although they do have signs to warn you. Wouldn't go back or recommend. Ignored request for low room and put us 2 from top of building.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests as it not only lets us know what we are doing well, but more importantly where we can improve in those areas where it will increase guest satisfaction and meet or exceed guest expectations. We are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied and that the resort did not meet your expectations. As you mention you felt that the resort was more of a family venue than for couples. During the year we do have a mix of families, couples and even large groups staying at the resort. Sometimes, depending on the month you may see more of one group versus another (In February/March and summer there will be more families with kids since they are on their school breaks). We are sorry to hear you had some difficulty in getting your TV internet connected and getting some room amenities such as the coffee. It should have been easier for those situations to have been taken care of for you. In regard to the room move if we can accommodate the request we will, but most of the year we are running almost full occupancy so the ability to accommodate room moves is generally always tight. Unfortunately we cannot do much about the weather even though most of the time we do have good weather. As for the birds the resort does try to do whatever possible to control them, but one problem is some guests feed the birds which promotes the birds to want to always return to be fed. Thank you again for your comments and feedback.

Steve Stoyanow
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a beautiful luxurious suite (time-share/condominium) hotel in the Hilton Hawaiian Village. It is well designed, quiet and comfortable. One Lanai had a view of the beach (my daughter saw a Whale breach from it) and the other looked down Ala Moana Blvd toward the mall, park and Downtown Honolulu. The building is on a lagoon with numerous watercraft swimming and tanning options available as well as on Waikiki Beach. There are several pools available, all of them were filled with children and parents. The nightly Luau is next door on the roof of the parking garage. It is quite loud, but does not run late. Sunday night has fireworks on the beach which would not have been visible from our room. We saw them from another room with members of our group.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas Hall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great visit to HI for our granddaughter's college graduation present. Super balcony view of the oceanfront and Convention Center Roof Top site of the daily Luau performance. We got the entire show but minus the great chow buffet. Actually made luau reservations at the luau next door at the Hale Koa so got the advantage of best price and best show!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank A. Lincoln G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1601
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations. Accommodations include one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing