We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property too many points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

First visit to HHV staying at this building. Nice lobby great easy check in vs main lobby but why the added pints via timeshare I just don't see it as an extra value for the points I own here and love the idea of getting 3 month jump on everyone else but the crowded pools are a little much maybe it's due to summer. But with adding another tower next year I can't see it getting less crowded. Big island is better value per point

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Zimco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Aloha. Thank you very much for staying with at Grand Waikikian on your most recent visit to Waikiki! Thank you also for enjoying our properties on the Big Island. As the Hilton Hawaiian Village is located in Waikiki adjacent to Waikiki Beach and the many restaurants and shopping which Honolulu has to offer, we have a higher demand resulting in higher costs for everything from water, electricity, gas, and such which in turn results reflects the higher pointage. Similar to the difference between New York City properties versus some of our properties down in Florida. If your desire is the vibrant excitement of Waikiki, by all means we are the spot, however, if your desire is more of the Hawaiian countryside resort, by all means choose one of our properties in Waikoloa on the Big Island. One of the merits of the Time Share Properties as that you the owner, can choose and pick.
We look forward to assisting you on any one of our properties.

John R. Reagan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

It is really tough for me to write this review. I wanted so bad to like the Grand Waikikian, but at the end of the day/stay it really was just average, at best. If you're considering the property you probably already know the drill and may even be a Hilton timeshare owner. If not, then expect about what you'd get at a timeshare, just in a high-rise setting. The rooms are plain and minimal in their decor. The kitchen facilities are adequate and in a place like Honolulu and Waikiki, the option to prepare even some meals on your own is a major cost savings...though getting the groceries themselves is not cheap. To that end, do not do your shopping at a store that begins the alphabet. The property doesn't really offer much on its own as it is part of the larger Hilton Hawaiian Village, which is really why you'd consider this property. The access to several pools, a lagoon, somewhat private beach and multiple restaurants and shops all on one property is really what makes the visit worthwhile. We did encounter some good staff who provided quality service, and had some less than fulfilling experiences with others. The staff that ran the surf school the day we participated was good but the whole thing was a disappointment. More time was spent on dry ground learning the fundamentals of surfing than actually out in the water. Once in the water it was a process of holding a rope to become next up in the queue, then get one try at catching a wave while the instructor yelled at the students...really wasn't much a 'fun' vacation experience. The entire staff of the HHV would be well advised to remember that the guests are there on vacation, to relax and enjoy themselves...HELP THEM DO THAT...it's not rocket science. There are a multitude of options across Waikiki, in most ways, the Grand Waikikian is no better or worse than they are. Keep in mind you are at the end of the stretch of Waikiki, so getting into the main beach or around the shops is a little walk or challenge navigating in your rental car.

Room Tip: Always go for a high floor, request a FULL OCEAN VIEW room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelguyry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback we receive from our owners and guests as it not only lets us know what we are doing well, but more importantly where we can improve in those areas where it will increase guest satisfaction and meet or exceed guest expectations. We are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied and that the resort did not meet your expectations. We are disappointed to read that your stay seemed average. The store that you mention that begins with the “letter of the alphabet” is meant to provide the basics for the guests and the prices for items can be higher due to the convenience it provides. We are happy to see that what made the visit worthwhile were the several pools (five), lagoon, beach and restaurants/shops located within or near the resort. Again, we sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. Mahalo.

Steve Stoyanow
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hilton Hawaiian Village is a large, sprawling, crowded, busy and expansive place. My wife, two kids and I spent a week here, and as with most things in life we found both pros and cons. THE PROS: The Grand Waikikian is a beautiful building with great rooms and wonderful views of the ocean, the city, and Diamond Head. The room are well appointed with full kitchens, a washer and drier, balcony and large bathrooms. As a timeshare owner with Hilton I've come to expect nothing but the best in all of their HGVC properties, this one included. However, for 39 floors, four elevators screams bad planning. No one should have to wait 30 minutes for an elevator. And asking someone to "deal with it" on Friday and Saturday Check-in/Check-out doesn't cut it. The resort offers several pools and even though a lot of people on here complain about the crowds and the rarity of getting a lounge chair - I offer the same as above - deal with it! The place has a lot of people and they all want the same chair by the same pool at the same time. We found there was always room on the giant beach to throw a towel down. We'd spend the day at the beach or lagoon, and then cap the day off at the pool where we found plenty of seats and a cold drink waiting. THE CONS: Crowds everywhere - so make reservations and don't just show up at a restaurant or you'll wait and wait and wait. And in "The Village" there is a very "cruise ship on shore" feeling. The place is in a prime spot on the planet so they'll charge you a lot for anything you might need or want. Go off sight for tours, luaus or rentals of surf boards, umbrellas, snorkels and chairs. I mention Cons, but I truly believe how much those add up are completely up to you and your attitude towards life. If you complain at a resort in Hawaii, I assume you complain most everywhere. Prepare for people, prices and fees, but also take stock in where you are and who your with. The Grand Wiakikian was fun for all of us because we knew what we were signing up for. Do the same, make your plan and then kick back and enjoy the surf and sun and everything else will be painless ... Unless your mind creeps into the negative while you're waiting for the elevator.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank Casa4602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Aloha and thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and Resort. Thank you for pointing out the pros and cons of staying with us. We try to provide an ideal place where everyone can enjoy their experience, but as you pointed out, with so many coming to Paradise, we tend to get a might crowded at times. We hope to be able to serve you and your family in the future again and help provide many happy memories.

Mahalo,

John Reagan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Although it is saying well, when it returns to the room, relaxation which has returned to my home is felt. This time, the child seemed to be still more pleasant for the child's friend to have come for play. I was allowed to participate also in the manager reception of Hokulani. The taste of the beer drunk while looking at the highest scene cannot be said not at all. Although the lottery did not win, but my family was excited very much.It is not believed that this is participation fees no charge.It is recommended absolutely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
3  Thank Susumu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Aloha and thank you for your kind words about the Hilton Hawaiian Village and Resort in Waikiki as well as for staying with us on your recent visit. We are very pleased that you and your children were able to enjoy their time spent with us. Thank you also for attending the reception at Hokulani.

Mahalo,

John Reagan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Hilton Hawaiian Village is definitely a beautiful and extremely large resort. Don't have to leave as it has everything you will need, however, extremely expensive. Everything was expensive from the restaurants to the activities. Beautifully kept grounds and facilities. But for the money would probably try to stay somewhere cheaper so we can spend our money on activities in Hawaii.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
2  Thank mervat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Aloha and thank you for your kind words about the Hilton Hawaiian Village and Resort in Waikiki as well as for staying with us on your recent visit. We are happy that you were able to enjoy your time spent with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Mahalo,

John Reagan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My father,mother, my wife, my daughters really enjoyed stayed in grand Waikikian. In/adjacent the hotel, there are pool and lagoon. 2 bed rooms are comfortable more than I expected. I always use business hotel alone, so I have no chance to aware of condominium type room's advantage for family. There is restroom and shower in the each room, so we close,but keep the moderate distance with My parents and child, very nice. add to excite experience in Hawaii, We could deepen our relationship! Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Hidetomo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Aloha,

Thank you very much for staying with the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at the Hilton Hawaiian Village on your most recent family trip to Hawaii. We are very pleased that you had such a nice experience when experiencing our Time Share condominium style suites! We like to think of them as home away from home for our owners and guests.

Here in the Hilton Hawaiian Village, as you pointed out, we have many pools, a salt water lagoon which is perfect for first time paddle boarders as well as for ocean swimming, and of course the adjacent Waikiki Beach and the wonderful blue ocean.

We hope to see you and your family soon again and look forward to having you enjoy our service and many other fun activities.

Mahalo,



John R. Reagan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It was a four-day stay standing, but was able to spend the best time. Room on the south side most two bedroom Premier. It looks good to sea, night view of the city side clean. Is the size it is too enough for three people. It has been showing the English version of the "Frozen" on the lawn at night, Children was also a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Makoto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Aloha,

Thank you very much for choosing Grand Waikikian on your 4 day trip to Honolulu.

The room you had certainly does sound like Paradise, with the view you describe, and we are very happy that your time spent with us was so very enjoyable. Perhaps on your next visit, you can enjoy one of our many other activities we have which cater to children as well as adults.

Mahalo,

John R. Reagan
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1601
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £285 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations. Accommodations include one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing