We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We just concluded a 16 night stay at our favorite place in the world and again the Outrigger did not disappoint. From the location to the staff and the restaurants we never have a bad time. You always get treated very well and the rooms are very comfortable. We have already booked for next February and look forward to seeing things after the renovations.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Aloha Hawaiilovers50,

Thank you for staying with us! We are so lucky to have such wonderful guests that spend so much time with us. We are delighted that our staff took good care of you during your stay. We are so excited about our upcoming renovations. We are excited to welcome you back in February.
See you soon!

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,031 - 3,037 of 4,850 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

My hubby and I stayed at the Outrigger Reef for 5 nites and then rather than move on to another island we decided to stay on in Waikiki, but we moved to the Outrigger Waikiki for 8 nights, it was so relaxing with the beach out the front and the shops and resturants out the back.
Good rooms, most with amazing views, very relaxing, beach is good but busy this time of year, everything was booked out because of Valentines Day and the Presidents long weekend.
We packed and left on the 16th of Feb, got to the airport only to find out that our Air Australia flight was not going anywhere (thats another story isn't it)
After ringing 30 or 40 hotels looking for a room with no luck! we picked up another couple of oldies also without a room so we decided to go back to the Outrigger Waikiki to beg or base ourselves for looking further.
The hotel was full but the young lady at reception went to speak with a manager who come to the rescue with a room we could all share just for the one night! God bless him and his staff!!!
Luckily for us there was a cancelation the next day for two days and we were back on the beach and drinking margaritas at Dukes.
Thanks Outrigger Wailiki, staff and management, we'll be back.

Room Tip: High up, left hand side of the building, as close to the beach as possible it's like a moving pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cracow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Aloha cracow2,

We are happy to see you made it home! I remember your group. Your party was so nice and easy to work with. I was very happy that we were able to accommodate you during this busy time. That weekend was the perfect storm with all the different things going on. We look forward to your next relaxing visit.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Talk about a hotel being in the middle of everything. This was smack dab in Waikiki and allowed short walking distance to everything that you could possibly want. Our room was great considering that it was for 2 people. The hotel was undergoing some elevator upgrades during our stay so that was a slight issue as it caused delays getting an elevator. Other than that, we could hear our next room neighbor as they...well you know. The walls were thin. Otherwise, the room and service was great. Their room service was very well priced and very competitive. The Hula Grill downstairs wasn’t bad at all – try their fried rice for breakfast – you’ll never eat anything else again. Heard lots of chatter about Dukes but they were always booked to the max…must say something about their food. The one thing that I would suggest though is to avoid their activities desk – they try to upsell you on their timeshare stuff and frankly, they pester you about that then. Will never make that mistake again. Give this hotel a good 4/5.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmurderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Aloha cmurderer,

Thank you for your descriptive review. We are happy to see that overall you were happy with your stay. Thank you for mentioning our location and how convenient everything is within walking distance. We will be sharing your comments regarding the travel desk as we want to make sure everyone is comfortable with their stay. We are excited about our upcoming renovations. It will be a little inconvenient for some but the results will be worth it. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just got back from a 10 night stay. Overall we had a great vacation. The hotel is in a great location although if you are looking for a quiet time, the middle of Waikiki beach is not where you should be staying. It is a very busy and noisy area. Our room (1002) was very nice, clean and had a partial ocean view. The cleaning staff were always friendly (although they kept leaving 3 towels when there were 4 of us). The front desk people were also friendly and helpful as well as the bell staff. I would say that staff wise, we did not have any issues with anyone.

We read some reviews where people complained about the pool area and chairs not being available. It is a very small pool area so that's not surprising. Personally we paid to be on the beach so that is where we wanted to be not the pool area.

We have two major complaints. First, the ridiculous price to rent chairs and umbrellas on the beach $60/day) and the fact that these companies take up most of the space on the beach. The other complaint is wi respect to the rooms. The doors have shrunk so much over time that you can see light (and therefore noise) coming around the frame (hopefully they will fix this in the renos they are doing). The other room issue is that the walls of the rooms are VERY thin and you can hear EVERYTHING coming from the room next door, especially if you have a room with an adjoining door. Of course, people staying in hotels should be a little more discreet with their "activities" so other guests don't have to explain to their children what the moaning and slapping sounds coming from the room next door are from (I'm not kidding).

Overall though, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. Oh, and try the Hula Grill and Dukes restaurants at the hotel. They are both great.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sobral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Aloha sobral,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so excited as we are fast approaching our renovations. We will be renovating our rooms, guest hallways, Pool area and adding insulation to our guest room walls. The City is currently working on adding more sand to Waikiki Beach in the near future. Hopefully there will be more space for everyone. We appreciate the time you took to share your experiences with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Clean rooms, excellent employees (everyone was helpful and friendly), and a great location. If you have the money to spend I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Aloha bob b,

Thank you very much for a positive comments. We will do our best to keep up the Great Service. We can't wait for your return.

Mahalo,

Todd
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Outrigger on the Beach for 8 nights. We had a great experience. The hotel is literally on the beach from one side and in the heart of the main street on the otherside. The rooms were spacious, clean and well serviced. The staff all seemed polite and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for families with young children. The proximity to beach and shops just makes everything so convenient.

Tips: Catch the trolley (open buses) with the pink flag to go to the big shopping mall "Ala Moana centre", hire a car and visit Pearl Harbor, Waikele Premium Outlets and Sunset Beach on the North Shore where they host the Surfing Pipe Masters comps, eat at the Hula Grill, Roys, Cheesecake Factory and Hard Rock - we didn't get a chance to dine at Yard Mile but heard lots of good feedback. There are loads of ABC stores - go there to stock up on water, fruit, sandwiches, sunscreen, etc.

Room Tip: We choose a Partial Ocean View room. I would recommend this option. Was lovely to watch the sunset e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheDinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Aloha TheDinas,

Thank you for a great review and sharing your wonderful tips with our future guests. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed not only your stay but our location and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next year.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

First time to Hawaii and loved the location of this hotel. It is right on the beach. We had an ocean front room and it was well worth the extra money to see the ocean, hear the waves, and watch the sunsets all from our balcony. We were on floor #1, and as other reviewers have noted, the elevator situation was tough. The current renovations will fix this so no worries for future travelers.

-The housekeeping staff was excellent. They were timely and helpful. Great job!
-The room was large and although we requested a king bed, we ended up with 2 double beds. We told the check in staff it was our 25th anniversary and specifically requested king when we booked months ago, but were told the hotel was full. So no concessions for our anniversary, bummer.
-Beware that the concierge for this hotel, is not related to the hotel and actually works for Expedia. So you can book any side excursions on your own and not be pressured for the up sales. Also they would not do any pre-arrival requests.
-Breakfast at Hula Grill several days was one of our best meal experiences, food and staff.
-Duke's is always lively, live music and party atmosphere. This hotel has more of a party "have fun" type attitude. Hotels nearby seemed more refined, just depends what atmosphere you prefer.

Overall, you will definitely enjoy staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean front room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiloPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Aloha LiloPa,

Thank you for a nice review. We wish you a Happy 25th anniversary! We are sorry that we couldn't accommodate your request for a king bed during your stay. We guarantee the view but not the bedding type. We try to accommodate everyone's needs however sometimes due to unavailability we cannot. Our Ocean Front room's views are spectacular for any occasion. On your next visit please call the hotel and request the bedding and we will make an effort to honor the request. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,122 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £203 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing