We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel elevated by super friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average hotel elevated by super friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a great experience at this hotel which was more to do with the friendly staff than the quality of the hotel itself. After a long (and bumpy) flight from Japan we arrived tired and stressed in the early morning and faced a long wait until our room was ready. To our surprise and appreciation The front staff lady who will be we will be eternally thankful for was able to give us a room at 9 o'clock in the morning! She must have been able to Tell by the look of those that we had a hard night. The hotel is situated right on Waikiki Beach and we found it very accessible to all the local shops and attractions . The room itself was rather small but clean, but really nothing to write home about and that wasn't much of a view as we were overlooking the side of another hotel . Throughout our stay the staff at this hotel will always very polite very helpful and very friendly, and we were delighted and surprised again when the hotel had arranged without us asking a complimentary return car to the airport which turned out to be a stretch limousine!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Aloha Richard C. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are extremely proud of our staff and we are very happy to hear that their service stood out during your stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,515
    1,509
    400
    132
    58
See reviews for
1,433
2,038
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here on the 14 Dec for 4 nights. Arrived at 9 am and room was available. Every single staff member is friendly and so helpful. The position of hotel would be the best. It is equal to its neighbours but without the heftier price tag.
The Sheraton Moana next door had a more " old world charm" which you pay for and this would just be wasted on many kids.
We had vouchers for breakfast which we used at all the restaurants. We were not that impressed with the breakfast at Dukes. The Hula grill was nicer. The meal I had was just plain weird. French toast and croissants topped with strawberries and then cream and bacon. It was not nice.
Overall this hotel is great. It would be more economical to buy your beach gear at the ABC shop than hire through hotel. It was $ 26 for 2 hours for chairs and umbrella. They also had blow up toys for rent.
Our room 720 was great. Close to beach but not noisy. The rooms are huge and even have a walk in wardrobe. The bath is a tiny square though. We loved it here and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meggssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Aloha meggssy. Thank you for spending four nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to read your positive comments about our friendly staff, best location, good value and great rooms. Your tips for future travelers are very informative and useful. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel has it all; right on Waikiki beach and 3 great restaurants. The rates range from $250 to $400 per night depending on your ocean view, but for $300 you can get a nice ocean view (just not full ocean front). The rooms are very nice and look recently renovated. Nice pool area is right on the beach ad well as lots of nearby beach rental activities. Don't miss a 1-hour catamaran boat ride for only $15 ($20 at sunset).

Room Tip: Ask for "ocean view" instead of "ocean front" for a better rate. The "part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vic_and_Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Aloha Vic_and_Leila. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and for noticing our recent renovations. In 2012, our hotel underwent a $18million renovation project. Today, we are very proud to showcase 524 newly refurbished guest rooms, upgraded elevators a remodeled saltwater swimming pool and expanded pooldeck. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived early to the Hotel and they kindly let us go into our room early which was great. The staff were very helpful, friendly and assisted with any questions. Its a great location in the busy end of Waikiki with lots of shops and restaurants. All within walking distance. Dukes Bar was a great place to have a drink and a bite to eat after lazing on the beach. Basic room but plenty big enough for 3 of us and very clean. Would highly recommend this hotel. Must make a mention of Todd who helped us with our booking. Really enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: book on line you get great rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Aloha aussieale. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We never tire of hearing compliments about our helpful staff and we will be more than happy to pass on your special mention of our Guest Services Manager, Todd. Todd never hesitates to offer personal assistance to our guests and he constantly goes out of the way to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Arriving in from Australia at 8am and getting to the hotel at 9am to find out our room was ready was fantasic. I was sick so this was a huge relief we had somewhere to shower and relax. We booked just a standard City View room and the room was quite big, was pleasantly suprised. All the staff we encounted were very nice. Location was perfect for us. Walks at night up the street were easy. Caught the bus to Ala Moana which was easy and the stop is about 1 min walk from the hotel. Massive Pro for me was the free Wifi at the hotel.

We ate and both Dukes & Chucks Steak House and had great meals.

I really couldnt fault this hotel for our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipper303m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Aloha Dipper303m. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry to hear that you were sick upon your arrival and we are so happy to have been able to provide you with an early check-in. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed great meals at two of our oceanfront restaurants - Duke's Waikiki and Chuck's Steakhouse. Please come back soon for another wonderful visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Loved our stay here! Booked and received an oceanfront room, 10 floors up , overlooking Waikiki Beach and Duke's bar below. Best view in Waikiki!! The beach is awesome, with lots of activities and ppl. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Cleaning staff saw us walk into our room with the kids and was knocking on the door 5 minutes latter with a stack of extra towels for them! So sweet. Anyone who wants a hotel in the center of beach action should book here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vicki0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Aloha vicki0728. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your family. We are so glad to hear that you loved your stay here. Our employees are always observant and they try their best to anticipate guest's needs before being asked. Mahalo Nui Loa for your five-star rating of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at the Outrigger since the renovations. The location is the best - right on the beach. Beachfront sparkling pool. Very tropical and makes for a great vacation location. Lots of shopping within walking distance, but the hotel staff will also help you plan activities away from the hotel. I recommend attending a luau where they roast the pig in the ground. This is a must when visiting Hawaii. We would highly recommend the Outrigger and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Aloha Ron C. Thank you for staying at the newly renovated Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your high recommendation and compliments about our prime location are truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing