We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View-14th floor- hot in afternoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Healdsburg
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing View-14th floor- hot in afternoon”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Spent one week in a Deluxe Oceanfront Room. Booked trip through Expedia and requested two beds/non-smoking, only to find out 10 months later when we arrived that you can't get two beds in a deluxe room. Since I brought Grandma for her 80th birthday, that posed quite a problem. Outrigger did nothing to help us. Said we booked thru Expedia and we should contact them. Strange since we were standing at the front desk. Oh yeah, they did offer to downgrade our room (with no refund of the price difference). We ended up with me sleeping on a roll-away bed on the balcony since the room was small.
The view was amazing ,but the afternoon sun made sitting on the balcony impossible. Still, the sunrise hours and sunset viewing was priceless.
Room service was prompt and typical.

Room Tip: OK- Oceanfront rooms=great view, but HOT in the afternoon. Deluxe rooms are small because the jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha DarleneC. Thank you for spending a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to celebrate your grandmother's 80th birthday. We are sorry to hear that Expedia did not inform you of the bedding situation in our Deluxe Oceanfront room category when you requested two beds at the time of booking. Due to size limitations, all of our Deluxe Oceanfront rooms are furnished with one king-sized bed instead of two double beds. If having two beds was a priority for you at check-in, our Front Desk employees likely offered the option of accommodating you in a larger Oceanfront category room with two beds. While the Oceanfront rooms do not have a Jacuzzi tub as the Deluxe Oceanfront rooms do, both categories are priced the same. In that instance, a refund would not have been applicable. We are glad you enjoyed the amazing views from your lanai and we hope to welcome you back for another visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,566
    1,529
    411
    138
    60
See reviews for
1,472
2,070
111
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Can't get more in the "action" of Waikiki Beach than this hotel! Ocean view room was worth it...slept with doors open to the sounds of the waves in a comfy king bed. Views to die for! Surfers everywhere from early am to sundown. Sunsets are lovely, view of Diamond Head from room, walks on the beach were perfect, staff helpful & friendly. Shopping outside the door and wonderful restaurants abound (not to mention the famous Duke's) ...upscale Hawaii at its best! Love it & will return! My hubby loved the surf lesson with Cam & pics by Walter...made it so memorable! Thank you for an awesome vacation!

Room Tip: The ocean view is worth it and you don't have to up high for a good view! Amazing shopping rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha Jan H. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our beachfront location in the heart of Waikiki definitely contributes to a memorable and delightful Hawaiian vacation experience for our guests. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy walks on the beach, views of the sunset, fresh island cuisine in some of our restaurants and surf lessons right in front of our hotel. Mahalo Nui Loa for letting us be a part of your awesome vacation memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Our Oceanfront room with Jacuzzi on the 11th floor was lovely. Every night we slept with the windows open listening to the sea.
The restaurants and Plantation spa were good, as was the service throughout the hotel.
We've stayed at many nice hotels around the world and this one was definitely a good choice and one we will be visiting again.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Aloha AshGuam2013. Thank for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. The room you stayed in is one of our Deluxe Oceanfront rooms. Our Deluxe Oceanfront rooms are relaxing, intimate and breath-taking. Perfect for couples, they feature full ocean views from lanais with glass balconies, a king-sized bed and a Jacuzzi tub with bath amenities. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very proud to be a good choice amongst the many nice hotels you have stayed in around the world. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We spent one night before a cruise in a 'partial ocean view' room, and then seven nights following the cruise in an 'ocean view' room, and were very pleased with both. Maybe it was my imagination, but the full ocean view room seemed a bit bigger, and came with a couple of extra amenities like liquid hand soap and a little gift bag of treats on our arrival. I was afflicted with a minor case of food poisoning at the end of the cruise, and so I spent a bit more time in that room than I'd typically spend in a hotel room, as I was pretty tired for a couple of days. The beds were super comfortable, the view was fabulous, we had a great shower, and the place was super clean.
WiFi was free and relatively fast, the small fridge was helpful for storing drinks and leftover food, and it was also great that they offered free towel service for the pool and beach. We sat by the pool on a couple of occasions, but prefer to swim in the ocean. We walked up toward the Diamond Head end of the beach to swim where the breakwater is, as we prefer calmer seas for swimming, but it was really fun to watch surfers and paddle boarders from the beach and from our balcony. One day we even saw a group of massive sea turtles playing near the shore.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and hope to return again before too long.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor, which was nice and quiet. Lower floors might experience a bit more nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girl_from_vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Aloha girl_fron_vancity. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach before and after your cruise. It is wonderful to read your positive comments about our hotel. We try to provide comfortable accommodations and many convenient services on property so that our guests feel right at home while they are on vacation. Mahalo Nui Loa for recommending us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We decided to visit Hawaii for a week in November just as a teaser to our usual February vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki. You can never get tired of the special way you are treated by the staff of this fine hotel. From the time you step out of the taxi until the time you have to get back in one to head to the airport you always feel welcome. The staff has your best interest in mind at all times and will go out of their way to make your experience in Hawaii a special one. The pool staff of Danny, Peter and Ray always have a smile and greeting for you and the cleaning staff greets you whenever you are in the hallways. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with everything we like to see while on vacation. This property is not as large as the ones around it and that is one of the reasons it stands out for it's service to the guests. We are return guests and travel every February to the Outrigger Waikiki and will be back very soon but just had to give it another big thumbs up!

Room Tip: When you book this hotel it is always a good idea to ask for a room on the Diamond Head side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Aloha hawaiilovers50. Thank you for spending a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are honored to have return guests like you who stay with us each year and even know our employees by name. All of our staff members take pride in providing personable guest service with genuine Aloha. Nothing pleases them more than to see the smiles on guests' faces, especially the familiar ones. Mahalo Nui Loa for your continued patronage and the big thumbs up. We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had a great experience at this hotel which was more to do with the friendly staff than the quality of the hotel itself. After a long (and bumpy) flight from Japan we arrived tired and stressed in the early morning and faced a long wait until our room was ready. To our surprise and appreciation The front staff lady who will be we will be eternally thankful for was able to give us a room at 9 o'clock in the morning! She must have been able to Tell by the look of those that we had a hard night. The hotel is situated right on Waikiki Beach and we found it very accessible to all the local shops and attractions . The room itself was rather small but clean, but really nothing to write home about and that wasn't much of a view as we were overlooking the side of another hotel . Throughout our stay the staff at this hotel will always very polite very helpful and very friendly, and we were delighted and surprised again when the hotel had arranged without us asking a complimentary return car to the airport which turned out to be a stretch limousine!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Aloha Richard C. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are extremely proud of our staff and we are very happy to hear that their service stood out during your stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here on the 14 Dec for 4 nights. Arrived at 9 am and room was available. Every single staff member is friendly and so helpful. The position of hotel would be the best. It is equal to its neighbours but without the heftier price tag.
The Sheraton Moana next door had a more " old world charm" which you pay for and this would just be wasted on many kids.
We had vouchers for breakfast which we used at all the restaurants. We were not that impressed with the breakfast at Dukes. The Hula grill was nicer. The meal I had was just plain weird. French toast and croissants topped with strawberries and then cream and bacon. It was not nice.
Overall this hotel is great. It would be more economical to buy your beach gear at the ABC shop than hire through hotel. It was $ 26 for 2 hours for chairs and umbrella. They also had blow up toys for rent.
Our room 720 was great. Close to beach but not noisy. The rooms are huge and even have a walk in wardrobe. The bath is a tiny square though. We loved it here and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meggssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Aloha meggssy. Thank you for spending four nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to read your positive comments about our friendly staff, best location, good value and great rooms. Your tips for future travelers are very informative and useful. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,967 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing