We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wouldn't stay anywhere else on Waikiki beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We wouldn't stay anywhere else on Waikiki beach!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was our second stay at the Outrigger in 12 months and we are already planning to stay again for Christmas 2014.

We again stayed in a deluxe Diamond Head oceanfront suite which is perfect for our family of two adults and two daughters aged 12 and 14 as there is a separate bedroom and two full bathrooms. The rooms are impeccably clean and are serviced twice daily by friendly housekeeping staff. In our opinion, it is worth the expense for the oceanfront suite and is comparable to booking two adjoining rooms without the view. It is a bonus having both Dukes and Hula Grill downstairs and we visited at least one of them daily for breakfast, lunch, pupus or dinner.

We again also enjoyed a couple of classes with Wally in the main lobby who is an absolute asset to the Outrigger.

Please read my earlier review for more detail as this visit was just as great as our last and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Griswalds2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha Griswalds2074. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the second time. Our Deluxe One-Bedroom Oceanfront suites are perfect for families who want to make the most of their vacation in Hawai`i. From those suites, guests can wake up to breath-taking views of Waikiki Beach, the Pacific Ocean and iconic Diamond Head volcano. It is wonderful to hear that you participated in our weekly cultural activities taught by our very own Uncle Wally. Uncle Wally is a true Na Mea Ho`okipa (host) who loves to share his genuine Aloha with visitors from around the world. His gentle, welcoming personality helps guests to feel like they are part of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach `ohana. Mahalo Nui Loa. We will look forward to welcoming you back this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,475
    1,494
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,420
2,001
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a lively stay here in September 2013, in an Ocean View room. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. Service excellent. Visited Dukes numerous times and the Hula Grill for breakfast is delicious and excellent value. Pool and proximity to beach was great for our 11 month old daughter.

The only small downside was the room service menu is very limited, and not much healthy/ vegetarian options (we are not vegetarian but sometimes need veggies!).

Room Tip: Ocean view is lovely - sit and enjoy your takeaway coffee or lunch with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jleonardAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Aloha jleonardAustralia. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you and your family enjoyed a lovely stay with us. Your feedback about our room service menu options are appreciated and will be communicated to our management team. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint paul
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We've been staying at the outrigger for years and this year was even better than the last. I love that they remember us from each prior visit and thank us for returning. We got a cute little gift bag delivered to our room as a token of appreciation. Tips: splurge for the ocean view. At this hotel, its worth it to sleep with the lanai open and the waves crashing. Ask for a high floor, less noise from the beach bars. Go have breakfast at dukes just once. Its fun to eat on the ocean. And come back again and again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank stpetesaltlifegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha khadro74. Thank you so much for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for 14 times! It is such a pleasure to hear from one of our loyal, return guests and it is even more of a pleasure to welcome you back time and time again. We wish you a very happy New Year and we will look forward to seeing you on your 15th visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed only three nights before heading off on a cruise, we have regretted since that we didn't book extra nights. But, it just means we cannot wait to go back. The hotel is in the most perfect position, the beach is wonderful. From the moment we arrived we could feel the worries of life disappear. The service was wonderful the food at the Hula Grill was sensational. You are on the Main Street for shopping, it just could not have been any better. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a city room view but were surprised you could still sit on balcony and see the beach and coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie-ann59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha Julie-ann59. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach before your cruise. Hearing that you cannot wait to come back is truly a compliment for us. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

i had two stays at this hotel recently 3 days before our cruise on the POA and 3 days aftter the position of the outrigger waikiki on the beach , is great , there is no doubt on this isssue , and reveiws read by myself ,before my visit are correct on this
however , any hotel on the waikiki beach front , from the hilton village , to the westin moana, holds in the same credit , in my view , as long as its on the beach,, , outside this , hyatt and marroitt on the same street at the end would be my second choice on position ,. depends on what your looking for
a special thanks to the outrigger on the beach for our room being ready at 8.am in the morning , this was good after a long fllight and very much appreciated .. the 1st three days our room was adjacent to big nioisy AC units ,from the shopping centre next door , this room was a upgrade apparantly ,from city view , , , when we asked to change.. mamlamala (not sure on spelling,its probably hawawian for rude person) at the front desk , she said she coundt do anything ,it was out of her control ,, then i asked her to change our room ,for our second stay in another 7 days , and were told she coundnt do anything ,?? (what could i do now ,when every hotel worth staying in is booked to capacity )
fortunatly on our return ,with no interventian at all , (just suck it up ),we had another very helpful young man checking us in the second time , who actully seeemed interested in our accomadation , and he fixed the problem ,,
the ocean front views looked fantastic ,we were only two back from the front the second time that made a differance ,at a small cost off course , add $55 per night
all the restarurants, here were good , and views equally as special ...we had minor complaints here and there not to much to get excited about , like $2,50 for a extra tea bag because i like strong tea ,at breaky , yet you can get 10 cups of coffee for free ,if pay for one ,?? the evenings
I prefered The hula grill , the bar snacks here are great,, and a little quieter than dukes for sunset drinks , try the mushroom fries you wont be dissapointed .. NOTE , you cant buy two drinks at once at dukes , at the bars unlesss the other adult is next to you , I thought this was unusual , the bar has great views and is allways buzzing .. especially at around 5 to 6.30 to watch the beautiful sunsets , big tip get a good seat before 5 pm .. and use the waitresss if you can find a seat
talk at the international market ,is they are pulling down the markets , right accross the street from this hotel to build a saks 5th avenue , if this is so
i coudnt compere the rooms at other hotels as i didnt stay there,,, but i personnally i would try the sheraton or the hilton next time, in the coming year ..not because the outrigger wasnt good ,,just because ,,,i loved the topical pools and outdoor arears , in these hotels, which was lacking at the outrigger , after walking through all the hotels foyers and pools along the strip ,facing the same beach, which were just as affordable ..
i did this , after the first comments i recived from a genuine complaint , plus i wouldnt want to stay at hotel on a holiday or vacation ,, next to a construction site ,in the comming year or so ... worth a check before you go ,, thanks outrigger

Room Tip: book a room on the left hand side of the hotel standing in front of the building on the street or fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandersonsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha sandersonsAustralia. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room facing the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center on your first 3-night stay. We regret that, due to high occupancy levels, we were unable to locate a vacant room on the opposite side of the building to move you into. However, it is good to know that on your second visit, you were able to upgrade to a Deluxe Oceanview category at a discounted rate. We are glad you were happier with our rooms and service the second time around. Mahalo Nui Loa for giving us the opportunity to meet your needs and for taking the time to review the pros and cons of your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Spent one week in a Deluxe Oceanfront Room. Booked trip through Expedia and requested two beds/non-smoking, only to find out 10 months later when we arrived that you can't get two beds in a deluxe room. Since I brought Grandma for her 80th birthday, that posed quite a problem. Outrigger did nothing to help us. Said we booked thru Expedia and we should contact them. Strange since we were standing at the front desk. Oh yeah, they did offer to downgrade our room (with no refund of the price difference). We ended up with me sleeping on a roll-away bed on the balcony since the room was small.
The view was amazing ,but the afternoon sun made sitting on the balcony impossible. Still, the sunrise hours and sunset viewing was priceless.
Room service was prompt and typical.

Room Tip: OK- Oceanfront rooms=great view, but HOT in the afternoon. Deluxe rooms are small because the jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha DarleneC. Thank you for spending a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to celebrate your grandmother's 80th birthday. We are sorry to hear that Expedia did not inform you of the bedding situation in our Deluxe Oceanfront room category when you requested two beds at the time of booking. Due to size limitations, all of our Deluxe Oceanfront rooms are furnished with one king-sized bed instead of two double beds. If having two beds was a priority for you at check-in, our Front Desk employees likely offered the option of accommodating you in a larger Oceanfront category room with two beds. While the Oceanfront rooms do not have a Jacuzzi tub as the Deluxe Oceanfront rooms do, both categories are priced the same. In that instance, a refund would not have been applicable. We are glad you enjoyed the amazing views from your lanai and we hope to welcome you back for another visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Can't get more in the "action" of Waikiki Beach than this hotel! Ocean view room was worth it...slept with doors open to the sounds of the waves in a comfy king bed. Views to die for! Surfers everywhere from early am to sundown. Sunsets are lovely, view of Diamond Head from room, walks on the beach were perfect, staff helpful & friendly. Shopping outside the door and wonderful restaurants abound (not to mention the famous Duke's) ...upscale Hawaii at its best! Love it & will return! My hubby loved the surf lesson with Cam & pics by Walter...made it so memorable! Thank you for an awesome vacation!

Room Tip: The ocean view is worth it and you don't have to up high for a good view! Amazing shopping rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha Jan H. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our beachfront location in the heart of Waikiki definitely contributes to a memorable and delightful Hawaiian vacation experience for our guests. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy walks on the beach, views of the sunset, fresh island cuisine in some of our restaurants and surf lessons right in front of our hotel. Mahalo Nui Loa for letting us be a part of your awesome vacation memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing