We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for 10 nights at this great hotel.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with such superior service- well-done one and all.

The hotel is excellently located without experiencing any of the negatives associated with being front and centre.

Rest assured we will be back- cant wait too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarrenCut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Aloha DarrenCut. Thank you very much for spending ten nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our staff and managers are honored to read your compliments about their superior service. All of our employees make every effort to welcome guests throughout their stay with a warm greeting and friendly smile. We recognize that feeling at home while away from home is important to the success of any vacation. Mahalo Nui Loa. We can't wait to welcome you back to paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,516
    1,511
    400
    132
    58
See reviews for
1,433
2,041
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Although it was a bit expensive. ~$500 CAD a night, the rooms were nice. The ocean front view is a bit deceptive. We could only see the one side and not the side with the sunset.

+
Duke's restaurant, it's awesome and the best food around. We went to several restaurants and nothing was that great. You have to go there at least once for lunch or dinner.

Beach right down stairs, it's really packed thought. We only went there for a few hours each day. The coral and rock kind of sucks, our feet were cut up some.

Close to shopping; if you are into that. The Galleria is packed full of high end clothing companies. I felt like it was a mousetrap, full of snobbish people, inconsiderate Japanese people though. They played Christmas music and jungle music at the same time. Really weird.

-
It is really busy on the street outside the hotel. Go in the morning to shop, after supper there is hoards of people.

Chuck's steakhouse. I would avoid, not that great and it's expensive.

Avoid the Ku'ai market in the hotel like the plague. Just go to an ABC store. Seriously. They charged $18+ for a bottle of sunscreen.

Elevators. You have to use your room key to go to your floor and it takes a long time to get an elevator sometimes or it's full.

Room Tip: If you want to save money, I don't think the ocean view was worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griffin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Aloha griffin86. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Mahalo for patronizing our restaurants and shops during your stay. Your comments about our property are truly appreciated. Please come back soon for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

stayed on the 28-12-2013 for five nights , found check in to be smooth and very quick, we had a partial ocean view that had more of a city view than ocean, but we can't complain as the staff and amenities are quiet good as is the location, this hotel has a lot to offer Dukes restaurant is on the ground floor and we found the food to be very good with that comes a long wait to get in as the restaurant was busy every day we were there so a good tip is to book early, over all you will be very happy with this hotel as the rooms are very nice and clean we will return to this hotel no problem ,i hope you enjoy your stay as we did

Room Tip: partial ocean view room or if you can afford it a full ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casinomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Aloha casinomelbourne. Thank you for spending five nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you were happy with your stay here. Your positive comments about our staff, amenities, location, rooms and restaurant are greatly appreciated. We will look forward to your next visit with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Not overly impressed. Good value for money & great location - but not much else going for it.

Positives:
- Smack bang in the middle of the action at Waikiki -- right next to the Royal Hawaiian shopping centre and the Moana Surfrider hotel
- Right on the beautiful Waikiki beach, with direct access to the sand (without having to cross the road)
- Overall good value for money

Negatives:
- You feel like you are in an old Vegas casino (thankfully minus the gambling and smoking)
- Walls are paper thin - could hear neighbours enter/exit their rooms.
- Had to use earplugs to be able to sleep
- The curtains don't quite shut out outside light
- Very crowded and small pool area

If I can, in future I would go to a neighbouring hotel. And no need to pay a premium to be right on the sand at Waikiki beach. It is easy enough to cross the road and hit the sand, from the multitude of other hotels in the area. Waikiki is a public beach and no hotel will provide you with lounge chairs on the beach (you can get them from private operators at a high price).

Room Tip: The partial ocean view is exactly that. You get a very partial ocean view, and a very good view of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank villdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Aloha villdre. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy to continue to provide excellent value for clean and comfortable accommodations right on Waikiki beach. Your feedback about our location and property are appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had stayed in an oceanfront room at this hotel in 2011 on about level 12. It was a good sized room and had lovely views of the ocean. We therefore had no hesitation in booking an oceanfront when we returned in 2013. When we returned we were given a tiny room on level 3 which looked out on to palm tree fronds. Could not see the ocean at all really and the room was so small we were very cramped.

We complained to the management who said that we got what we booked - an oceanfront room. He said that they did not guarantee an ocean view. The management said we had to stay overnight in the room we had but they would try and transfer us the next day. The next day we did transfer to one of the larger oceanfront rooms on level 15 which was much better.

Oceanfront rooms below about level 4 have a very restricted view of the ocean. Also, the two rooms in the middle of the oceanfront are the largest and what you would expect of a hotel of this quality. The room either side of these two is tiny (the one we initially had). I can't speak for the end rooms as I have not been in one, but looking at the hotel plans it seems they are mid-sized.

Rating this was hard - I would give it 4 stars for the large oceanfront room we got in 2011 and the one we were transferred to in 2013. However a score two is generous for the oceanfront we were initially assigned. The attitude of the management was also frustrating. You got an oceanfront room which is what you booked. We felt this is not the way a situation like this should be dealt with. They could have at least charged us the partial ocean view room rate for the first night.

Room Tip: If going for oceanfront, make sure it is one of the middle two rooms and at least level 5 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Out_to_pasture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Aloha Out_to_pasture. Thank you for being a return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the view in your oceanfront room on the third floor. Our hotel features three oceanfront category rooms on each floor from floors 1 through 15. Each of the three oceanfront units on each floor has different configurations and bedding arrangements. While some guests prefer to have a more panoramic view from the higher floors, some guests prefer the rooms on the lower floors to experience a closer feel of the ocean and the activity on the beach. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again. Since you are familiar with our rooms and know your preferences, please do not hesitate to contact us at 808-923-0711 when you have made a future booking so we may input your specific requests. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Nice hotel, dated now, but we got a nice refurbished room with sea views. Check-in smooth. Room on the 16th floor (top floor). So far so good, then opened the door to the balcony and greeted by the noise of fans (counted 32 fans on the top of the building next to us). Could not keep door open during the day due to noise, had trouble sleeping first few nights, even with door close, then we drank more lava flows from Dukes and that did the trick. Bars and restaurants all good and good atmosphere. Please get rid of the goons trying to sell timeshare deals, we are on holiday, not there to be accosted by these turkeys. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wabbit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Aloha craso. Thank you for giving the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach a try. It is so wonderful to hear that you had a great holiday and you were happy with our rooms and location. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked this hotel well in advance and was a little reluctant at first because of the other reviews I read. But, I found the location excellent and the room very large and clean. The restaurants were great although very hard to get into as they were always busy and they didn't take bookings. The wait for a table anywhere around Waikiki was around 1/2 hour to 1 hour. We had a partial ocean view room which was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Aloha craso. Thank you for giving the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach a try. It is so wonderful to hear that you had a great holiday and you were happy with our rooms and location. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing