We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel perfect except the elevator system” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hotel perfect except the elevator system”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Overall the hotel is nice. Their elevator system/design was a poor choice and at times was frustrating. Being in such a crazy highly trafficked area of Waikiki, my thoughts are that the pool with its limited seating area is so easy to get to via dukes or the beach that non hotels find their way in. We even saw an odd local couple that we had seen on the street many night, lingering around the pool / beach ( they were on the loud side so hard to miss) during the day.As NYers its hard enough leaving belongings chair side while you enjoy a dip in the pool but knowing anyone could be wandering thru led me to take my pool tote to the pools edge or shoreline every time I wanted to cool off. On a positive note, our rm though small was clean with all the modern comforts and a lanai, check! Having Dukes and Hula grill in the hotel made dining easy especially for breakfast, check! The bell staff were a really nice bunch and even arranged our return shuttle to the airport! If you want a nice relaxing cocktail experience in he evening with nice live music, visit the surfrider next door their outside bar is beautiful, with great drinks that won't break the bank with a mature crowd where conversing is possible. Try the carafe of sangria...it's really good
All and all may return next Jan or try the outrigger Reef a few blks away

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank withak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha withak66. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you had an overall nice experience with us and are considering a return visit next year. While our property is located right in the heart of Waikiki, we do have a team of experienced employees throughout the property to ensure the safety and security of our guests 24 hours a day. In addition, our newly upgraded elevators are equipped with a security system which operates only with the use of a guest room key at all times. Thus, non-guests are prevented from accessing the floors where our hotel rooms are located. Mahalo Nui Loa. We will look forward to welcoming you back in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,451
    1,485
    395
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,407
1,984
106
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, ,MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great Location right on Waikki beach! We were on the 3rd floor ocean view - if you go higher up you can see more of the beach. We had some plam trees in our view. Rooms were very clean, staff was great, spacious. I would stay here again

Room Tip: Ocean View is the ONLY way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 121JenniferW121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha 121JenniferW121. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We love hearing that you would stay here again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location-it is on the beach and backs on to the main street for all the main shops and market- the hotel offers a good selection for dining -Dukes beach bar serves excellent food and has a really good atmosphere the staff are really friendly and helpful- Chucks steak bar is worth the experience if you like great steaks.
The room with a partial sea are great and spotlessly clean and are very large you won't be cramp for space here.
The only downside was that if you wanted to go on the beach they charged you $30 a day for sun bed and umbrella each, yet less than a metre away around the pool it is free

Room Tip: Partial sea room view are good, if you don't what to pay for a room with a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha Richard P. Hau`oli la Ho`omana`o (Happy Anniversary)! Thank you very much for spending your Anniversary holiday at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is such a pleasure to read your compliments about our location, restaurants and rooms. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you want to be on Walkiki Beach this is the place for you. Stay in the Diamond Head suite. What a view. Well worth the extra money. It was spacious and clean. Bathrooms were nice and there was plenty of room for four of us. There is lots of action around, good restaurants and place to by drinks and essentials. Valet parking was a breeze easy in and out. Spent the day on the beach rentals was $62 for the day a bit steep but expected. Would definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogwalker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha dogwalker27. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you stayed in one of our Deluxe 1-bedroom Oceanfront Suites. Our suites are amazing with stunning oceanfront and Diamond Head views, spacious living and bedroom areas, two full bathrooms and two private balconies perfect for relaxing in paradise. We are honored to be a part of your vacation memories and we hope to welcome you back for another fantastic visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days of relaxation after a fairly long holiday on the mainland. From the moment we got out of the taxi everything was just easy. I felt very relaxed just sitting down at a proper chair during check-in! We were very relieved when we first got to our room - It was very spacious and for a city-view room had a reasonable (partial) view of the beach from the balcony (we were on the 3rd floor overlooking the Westin). The bed was comfortable, the shower had enough water coming from it, and the bathroom area was clean and well laid out.

The hotel complex was very busy (particularly at Dukes), but there was still a nice relaxed atmosphere in the air - might have something to do with being on the beach :) We had meals at both Hula Grill and Dukes and both were great. If you have breakfast included, I would definitely recommend Dukes - massive variety and great for me as I am very partial to banana pancakes! Staff in both bars and restaurants were also fantastic - every single one we dealt with was fun, nice and friendly and very good at their jobs. One of the housekeeping ladies even left us a little note to say thank you for the tip! Wow.

The beach was also very busy, but we aren't ones to lie on the beach for too long. The hotel is also smack bang in the middle of the shopping area which is a great bonus, though the shopping at Ala Moana and the Outlet Stores is much better. Great if you just want to walk though. The convenience store on the lower level was also very handy and open early and late.

All in all, we loved this hotel and would be back in a heartbeat if we didn't have to work for a living!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha Wetham. Thank you for spending three days at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you loved it here. Please come back soon for another relaxing stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I guess it's a feature of Waikiki in general but this hotel was teeming with people all the time. It's right on the beach with a pool area right next to the beach as well. That part of the beach is nice and sandy but the sand and the water are crowded with people virtually from dawn to dusk. The pool area has deck chairs all lined up next to each other - you can hold hands with the person in the neighbouring deck chair! Some of the deck chairs are lined up in front of Duke's restaurant so you can always hear the the clatter of plates, people talking, and smell the food. The Outrigger Waitkiki pool and deck area is just not an environment where you can genuinely relax by the pool. It's just too busy and crowded.
The rooms are ok, a good size, furnishings and decor are dated but well maintained.
Location is right in the middle of Waikiki so the main strip is right on your doorstep.
I went up to the spa for a treatment one day and this is the most pleasant place in the hotel - it has chairs set out on the rooftop overlooking looking out on the beach and rooftops - a wonderful pace to sit and take in the view.
Outrigger Waikiki is basically a mainstream hotel that does a decent job of catering to the masses. I wouldn't stay here again as this sort of busy, mass market hotel is not really my scene.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Aloha stpe. Thank you for spending your vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you had an enjoyable experience at the Waikiki Plantation Spa located right on our rooftop. The Waikiki Plantation Spa is Waikiki's only penthouse spa with unobstructed views of the ocean for sunbathing and relaxing between treatments. It is the perfect place to escape the energetic vibe and enthusiastic crowds that are characteristic of the Waikiki area. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Splurge on the oceanfront room, it is well worth it. Stayed in a Diamond Head Suite this time and it was lovely, highly recommend it. Staff as always is very nice, rooms are clean, nice bedding, etc. Hotel is not super deluxe but can't beat the location.

Room Tip: stay away from the side near the royal hawaiian, its really noisy and lots of kitchen smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redsoxnation949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Aloha redsoxnation949. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our Diamond Head 1-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite is the best place to savor a vacation in paradise. It is spacious with two bathrooms and two lanais for relaxing to the sound of the waves below. The views of both Waikiki Beach and iconic Diamond Head crater are breathtaking. In addition, it is clean and comfortably furnished so guests can feel at home while on holiday. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please come back for another excellent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing