We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rudest hotel we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“rudest hotel we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We own a boutique travel company and are constant travellers ourselves. We booked an ocean view room on line through trip advisor. This hotel has by far the rudest staff working the front desk we have ever encountered. My partner and I arrived at the hotel separately. My partner arriving from another country at 6.00am and I to arrive early afternoon. I had requested a possible early check in for my partner in our on line booking but we were not counting on this as we know that it is not always possible. No problem there at all and no grievance.

What we were not counting on was the appalling treatment of my partner caused by her early arrival ahead of me as the registered guest. Even though she had all the booking details and reference she was told that until I arrived she was not able to access the room or use any of the resort facilities until i had arrived and registered. This is in itself is unusual in our experience as we often arrive separately to hotels and have never had this issue before anywhere else.

Although we think that is unusual we are of course very willing to accept the policy of the hotel but what we will not accept is the appallingly rude treatment of my partner in the time before i arrived

After a 12 hour flight she politely enquired if there was somewhere she could store her bag while waiting for me to arrive , The aggressive male person at reception just pointed and showed no inclination to assist in any way or explain where the luggage could be kept. The same thing occurred when she asked where the restaurant was and if she could buy breakfast. Again he was surly and unhelpful. This continued when sh Once this person had established that she was waiting for me and not registered herself his treatment and manner was rude, surly aggressive and unhelpful. A real nasty piece of work.

To make matters worse ( and this is why we are writing) when we were checking out the next day we asked to speak to the manager on duty The person at reception said she was the manager which we later found out to be not true. She said she understood our point of view but showed no real interest or empathy and it was clear she did not care .

We also found other staff working there to be surly and have no service orientation The most notable exception to that were the valet and garage staff who were very pleasant and helpful and could not do enough to assist. We gave them a very good tip despite the disgraceful treatment we received at the hotel Overall the hotel is nothing special and there are many many other options to choose from, There are plenty of hidden fees and charges so make sure you check all the details out. Also I would recommend seeing the room you ordered to make sure that it does indeed meet the standard you requested, eg ocean view, high floor etc.

We have stayed at many hotels throughout the world of all different standards and in both mainstream and exotic locations , we are particularly experienced travellers in the US so we do know what we are comparing this to. We have never ever had to go to the trouble to write a review like this and in thirty years of extensive travel I think I have had to speak to a manager once to rectify a problem which it was. We are not serial complainers or whingers this was out and out appalling treatment. We will be taking every opportunity we can to let this be known

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Slipstream01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha Slipstream01. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry our staff could not check-in your partner when she arrived to the hotel ahead of you, the registered guest. For the safety and security of all of our guests, our hotel policy does not permit unregistered individuals access to any guest rooms or facilities. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any unsatisfactory service she experienced from any of our staff members. Your detailed feedback will be carefully reviewed by our management team. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,571
    1,529
    411
    138
    60
See reviews for
1,475
2,072
111
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

we recently made the outrigger our home for 7 days and we would rate it overall as a pretty good experience. The hotel is well positioned which makes it easy to shop,eat or chill out on the beach. It is also attached to dukes and the hula grill which services consistently good food and is even a great bar to sit at to sip on cocktail and listen to live music. Our room was of average size (not the smallest nor the largest in waikiki). The queen size bed was more of a double and the bathrooms were definitely the smallest I've ever seen. Having stayed at a few of the waikiki properties and had it not been on sale i'd probably stay at one of the other hotels like the royal since there all about the same price range.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itsbui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha itsbui. Thank you for spending a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our position on the beach and our oceanfront restaurants - Duke’s Waikiki and the Hula Grill. We hope you will stay with us again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I took our daughter, son-in-law and two teenage granddaughters to Waikiki, Oahu at the end of January, '14.
As we have stayed in this hotel a few times before my wife insisted that we stay here again.
We both feel very comfortable here and we relax as if we were at home.
The hotel and excellent staff have never disappointed us.
Add Duke's Bar & Restaurant, the very close proximity to the beach and the hotel's central location and we envisage a few more visits and stays here.
My earlier reviews describe our previous stays in some detail, so, this review is pretty much just to reinforce our satisfaction with the hotel and to recommend it again to potential travelers to Waikiki.
I read that some reviewers have been disappointed that they did not get sweeping views of the ocean.
Unless you book an Ocean Front room you cannot expect that type of view from pretty much any hotel on the beach.
This hotel is situated between the Royal Hawaiian and the Moana Surfrider and therefore cannot offer wide views.
However, as I have stated, there are views and quite reasonable ones in spite of this.
It's all about location and this hotel has that.
Spend the money and you get what you pay for.
See the attached photo taken from our room category.
I also read that some people found their rooms to have a musty smell.
We have stayed here more than once, as I have stated above, and have never found this.
Our family had three rooms on the occasion of this holiday and nobody noticed any smell of any kind.
My wife and I stayed in the Moana Surfrider, in the old building, on a previous holiday and DID in fact notice a musty smell.
My advice is to just see the staff on the front desk and ask them, nicely, to remedy the situation.
We did and received satisfaction.
Be nice and receive nice.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Ocean Front, Deluxe Ocean View, Ocean View, and Partial Ocean View. Naturally the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2ozzietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha 2ozzietravellers. Thank you for bringing your family to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We truly appreciate your continued patronage over the years and we are so happy to hear that you feel right at home with us. Your advice to future visitors could not be better stated. Mahalo Nui Loa for posting an informative review from an experienced traveler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Illinois, USA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

After reading reviews about outdated musty rooms, we were skeptical. Nothing could have been further from the truth. Everything was cheerful, clean, and staff was attentive. Our vacation package included breakfast which awesome. One negative is slow unreliable WiFi. Several times I was told there were too many on the server. After check-in, we were called over to a desk in the lobby and soon found they were pitching a 2 hour sales tour. No thanks! I don't like being approached for this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pontiacnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha pontiacnuts. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and for taking the time to read reviews about our property before deciding to stay with us. We are delighted to have met your expectations. Please come back for another wonderful visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here 6 nights at the end of a 4.5 week holiday and ended both going home sick.
the location is fantastic and we paid the extra to get ocean front room which was well worth it as the side rooms hardly get any view.

The rooms are very old and very musty and we think this made up get a cough through our stay and also woke up everyday with what felt like asthma. We had to start sleeping with the balcony doors open to get some free air in but the noise from the Duke downstairs made sleep very difficult until the band and noise stopped. Even the air from the air conditioner didn't seem fresh and we were a bit concerned that it was that air that made us sick.

The food and drinks were great, from Dukes, and the poolside service was great.

I would definitely stay next door at the Moana Surfrider (Westin) if the budget allowed as us getting sick really put a damper on the end of our trip, and we definitely think it was the musty room that did it.

Room Tip: definitely ocean front and the higher the better, for noise from Dukes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LisaandToddfrommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha LisaandToddfrommel. Thank you for ending your long holiday at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry to hear that you and your husband were sick during your stay. Please be assured that all of our rooms were completely renovated in 2012 and throughout the year, they are periodically taken out of inventory for routine maintenance and deep cleaning. In addition, our air-conditioner units are regularly serviced to ensure the best air quality and cooling for our guests. We hope you have both recovered from your illness and are feeling much better. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

After many years of staying at the Moana Surfrider we decided to try its next door neighbor, the Outigger Waikiki on the Beach and we weren't disappointed. This Outrigger is a prime property in a perfect location.
First, a word of caution--when booking be aware that the room descriptions aren't very accurate. We booked an ocean view room expecting a good view of the ocean. Instead we got a 30% view of ocean and 70% view of the roof of the Royal Hawaiian and other city buildings. We we so disappointed we upgraded to an ocean front room and loved it. Of course, it came with a hefty premium but our room is important to us and the front desk was very helpful in finding us a room.
So, the highlights: pool, beach access, housekeeping, on-site restaurants, access to Waikiki stores and restaurants, views, room comfort and cleanliness, on-site guest laundry, and overall hotel ambience. Lowlights: Internet access was spotty for a few days...message said too many users were on the system, beds were below expectation for this type of resort (not high quality pillow-top mattresses, and the elevator system was confusing at first but once you figure it out it is actually quite efficient.
Overall, I highly recommend the Outrigger Waikiki at the Beach but it's not perfect.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha Ken M. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you decided to give our hotel a try after staying next door at the Moana Surfrider hotel for many years. Our Oceanview rooms are located on the east and west facing sides of the building with beautiful water views from the rooms' angled lanais. For the most breath-taking views of Waikiki beach from shore to ocean, we have 75 Ocean Front rooms and suites that are positioned on the south side of the hotel directly overlooking the beach. It is excellent to hear that you spent your recent vacation in one of those rooms. Mahalo Nui Loa. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach had everything we needed on our first trip to Hawaii. The location was great, the staff was friendly and helpful and we had a beautiful breakfast view at the Hula Grill.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Aloha Michelle F. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your first trip to Hawai`i. It is wonderful to hear that we had everything you needed throughout your stay. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,971 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing