We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It is not worth $1800 for 5 nights in double room with city view. We stayed on the 5th floor and very noise even with the door closed. The coffee & tea maker and mini fridge is situates together with the bathroom/toilet which is odd.
Unfriendly and unhelpful check in experience with Alex.
Staffs at Bell Services are very friendly & helpful especially - a gentleman name Skip.
However hotel location is very good which is closed to International brand name shops, DFS , Macy's and Cheesecake Factory and other restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Aloha Chi N. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We appreciate your comments about our employees, especially your kind words about our doorman, Skip. Please accept our apologies for any disappointments during your stay. Mahalo Nui Loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,203 - 2,209 of 4,999 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We went to Waikiki to celebrate my birthday (and get away from the coldest, snowiest winter in 30 years). We go every year and both agree that the choice of this hotel definitely added to fun. Very satisfied! Reservations, check-in, bell services, room (size, furniture, balcony, cleanliness, LCD TV, refrigerator, coffee....), service with a smile, amenities, pool, spa, restaurants, location, location, location....the Outrigger on the Beach had it all down to a science! The renovations were well done. We appreciate how flexible they were with our check in date as we were flying standby. We enjoyed it all and will visit again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank PAK_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Aloha PAK_Chicago. Hau`oli La Hanau (Happy Birthday)! Thank you for celebrating your special occasion at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy to hear that you escaped the snowy weather and enjoyed a fun-filled vacation with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We own a boutique travel company and are constant travellers ourselves. We booked an ocean view room on line through trip advisor. This hotel has by far the rudest staff working the front desk we have ever encountered. My partner and I arrived at the hotel separately. My partner arriving from another country at 6.00am and I to arrive early afternoon. I had requested a possible early check in for my partner in our on line booking but we were not counting on this as we know that it is not always possible. No problem there at all and no grievance.

What we were not counting on was the appalling treatment of my partner caused by her early arrival ahead of me as the registered guest. Even though she had all the booking details and reference she was told that until I arrived she was not able to access the room or use any of the resort facilities until i had arrived and registered. This is in itself is unusual in our experience as we often arrive separately to hotels and have never had this issue before anywhere else.

Although we think that is unusual we are of course very willing to accept the policy of the hotel but what we will not accept is the appallingly rude treatment of my partner in the time before i arrived

After a 12 hour flight she politely enquired if there was somewhere she could store her bag while waiting for me to arrive , The aggressive male person at reception just pointed and showed no inclination to assist in any way or explain where the luggage could be kept. The same thing occurred when she asked where the restaurant was and if she could buy breakfast. Again he was surly and unhelpful. This continued when sh Once this person had established that she was waiting for me and not registered herself his treatment and manner was rude, surly aggressive and unhelpful. A real nasty piece of work.

To make matters worse ( and this is why we are writing) when we were checking out the next day we asked to speak to the manager on duty The person at reception said she was the manager which we later found out to be not true. She said she understood our point of view but showed no real interest or empathy and it was clear she did not care .

We also found other staff working there to be surly and have no service orientation The most notable exception to that were the valet and garage staff who were very pleasant and helpful and could not do enough to assist. We gave them a very good tip despite the disgraceful treatment we received at the hotel Overall the hotel is nothing special and there are many many other options to choose from, There are plenty of hidden fees and charges so make sure you check all the details out. Also I would recommend seeing the room you ordered to make sure that it does indeed meet the standard you requested, eg ocean view, high floor etc.

We have stayed at many hotels throughout the world of all different standards and in both mainstream and exotic locations , we are particularly experienced travellers in the US so we do know what we are comparing this to. We have never ever had to go to the trouble to write a review like this and in thirty years of extensive travel I think I have had to speak to a manager once to rectify a problem which it was. We are not serial complainers or whingers this was out and out appalling treatment. We will be taking every opportunity we can to let this be known

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Slipstream01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Aloha Slipstream01. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry our staff could not check-in your partner when she arrived to the hotel ahead of you, the registered guest. For the safety and security of all of our guests, our hotel policy does not permit unregistered individuals access to any guest rooms or facilities. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any unsatisfactory service she experienced from any of our staff members. Your detailed feedback will be carefully reviewed by our management team. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

we recently made the outrigger our home for 7 days and we would rate it overall as a pretty good experience. The hotel is well positioned which makes it easy to shop,eat or chill out on the beach. It is also attached to dukes and the hula grill which services consistently good food and is even a great bar to sit at to sip on cocktail and listen to live music. Our room was of average size (not the smallest nor the largest in waikiki). The queen size bed was more of a double and the bathrooms were definitely the smallest I've ever seen. Having stayed at a few of the waikiki properties and had it not been on sale i'd probably stay at one of the other hotels like the royal since there all about the same price range.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itsbui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Aloha itsbui. Thank you for spending a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our position on the beach and our oceanfront restaurants - Duke’s Waikiki and the Hula Grill. We hope you will stay with us again. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I took our daughter, son-in-law and two teenage granddaughters to Waikiki, Oahu at the end of January, '14.
As we have stayed in this hotel a few times before my wife insisted that we stay here again.
We both feel very comfortable here and we relax as if we were at home.
The hotel and excellent staff have never disappointed us.
Add Duke's Bar & Restaurant, the very close proximity to the beach and the hotel's central location and we envisage a few more visits and stays here.
My earlier reviews describe our previous stays in some detail, so, this review is pretty much just to reinforce our satisfaction with the hotel and to recommend it again to potential travelers to Waikiki.
I read that some reviewers have been disappointed that they did not get sweeping views of the ocean.
Unless you book an Ocean Front room you cannot expect that type of view from pretty much any hotel on the beach.
This hotel is situated between the Royal Hawaiian and the Moana Surfrider and therefore cannot offer wide views.
However, as I have stated, there are views and quite reasonable ones in spite of this.
It's all about location and this hotel has that.
Spend the money and you get what you pay for.
See the attached photo taken from our room category.
I also read that some people found their rooms to have a musty smell.
We have stayed here more than once, as I have stated above, and have never found this.
Our family had three rooms on the occasion of this holiday and nobody noticed any smell of any kind.
My wife and I stayed in the Moana Surfrider, in the old building, on a previous holiday and DID in fact notice a musty smell.
My advice is to just see the staff on the front desk and ask them, nicely, to remedy the situation.
We did and received satisfaction.
Be nice and receive nice.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Ocean Front, Deluxe Ocean View, Ocean View, and Partial Ocean View. Naturally the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2ozzietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Aloha 2ozzietravellers. Thank you for bringing your family to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We truly appreciate your continued patronage over the years and we are so happy to hear that you feel right at home with us. Your advice to future visitors could not be better stated. Mahalo Nui Loa for posting an informative review from an experienced traveler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

After reading reviews about outdated musty rooms, we were skeptical. Nothing could have been further from the truth. Everything was cheerful, clean, and staff was attentive. Our vacation package included breakfast which awesome. One negative is slow unreliable WiFi. Several times I was told there were too many on the server. After check-in, we were called over to a desk in the lobby and soon found they were pitching a 2 hour sales tour. No thanks! I don't like being approached for this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pontiacnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Aloha pontiacnuts. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and for taking the time to read reviews about our property before deciding to stay with us. We are delighted to have met your expectations. Please come back for another wonderful visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here 6 nights at the end of a 4.5 week holiday and ended both going home sick.
the location is fantastic and we paid the extra to get ocean front room which was well worth it as the side rooms hardly get any view.

The rooms are very old and very musty and we think this made up get a cough through our stay and also woke up everyday with what felt like asthma. We had to start sleeping with the balcony doors open to get some free air in but the noise from the Duke downstairs made sleep very difficult until the band and noise stopped. Even the air from the air conditioner didn't seem fresh and we were a bit concerned that it was that air that made us sick.

The food and drinks were great, from Dukes, and the poolside service was great.

I would definitely stay next door at the Moana Surfrider (Westin) if the budget allowed as us getting sick really put a damper on the end of our trip, and we definitely think it was the musty room that did it.

Room Tip: definitely ocean front and the higher the better, for noise from Dukes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LisaandToddfrommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Aloha LisaandToddfrommel. Thank you for ending your long holiday at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are sorry to hear that you and your husband were sick during your stay. Please be assured that all of our rooms were completely renovated in 2012 and throughout the year, they are periodically taken out of inventory for routine maintenance and deep cleaning. In addition, our air-conditioner units are regularly serviced to ensure the best air quality and cooling for our guests. We hope you have both recovered from your illness and are feeling much better. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,215 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £209 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing