We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We had a fabulous time at The Outrigger Waikiki ! We stayed August 20th - 27th. Has an ocean view room and we were able to keep the door open at night to listen to ocean. All staff gave excellent service and was always willing to assist us. The food at Dukes and Hula Grill was tasty. I definitely recommend the Outrigger Waikiki! Great Location! Great service! Clean rooms!

  • Liked — Clean, great service, value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,451
    1,484
    395
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,406
1,984
106
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

My family and I stayed here for ten days in early August 2008. The Outrigger has a lot of things going for it. First of all, I found all of the staff very friendly, from the check-in to the restaurants, shops, UPS store (forgot my wallet after I'd made copies and they were happy to wait for me to go get it, guess they didn't have a choice, but they were still very nice about it), the deli, and the pool towel guys. Oh, and the valets, very nice guys asking if you need directions, etc.

The location is also awesome. If you are thinking about saving money here or off the beach, you can't beat this location. Splurge on the umbrella set-up. There are different choices and you get a discount as guest. There are also canoe rides and outrigger boats running all day. Don't know the prices but everyone seemed to be having a great time.

The pool was fun and warm (just the way I like it!). It is quite deep so if you have very young children make sure they have floats. It starts at 3 feet, jumps to 4, then 8. There is also a nice-sized hot tub. I did not order drinks at the pool but there seemed to be plenty of servers so it didn't look like people were waiting long.

I also found the food at the restaurants to be very good. The banana/macadamia nut pancakes are great! Also, try the famous hula pie. I did not eat at Chuck's steakhouse, but my mother did and said it was very good. Prices are not cheap, but compared to many Hawaiian resorts, they will not require a second mortgage! I found them rather reasonable. The only complaint I'd have is the drinks were a little weak.

Our room was a partial ocean view. It was clean and the closet space was great, one was more like a walk-in and the other was the typical sliding door. It had a sort of tub-shower, which was a small square tub or you could shower. Great for the kids. There was lots of counter space as well. The balcony was angled and small, though. Difficult to move around. As far as noise, you do hear flushing toilets, etc. but I've heard that in even nicer places so don't know how preventable it is.

Overall, the hotel is fun and laid-back. I personally prefer more upscale when I travel, but sometimes a place like this can be just right, esp. if you don't want to be nickel and dimed by a 'high-end' resort. Oh, two other things that deserve mention, the hotel allows free long distance to anywhere in the US. I've never seen that before in a hotel. Also, when you order room service, the bill states 'tip already included'. Now how many hotels can say have the integrity to do that? Aloha, and happy travels.

  • Liked — Location, aloha of staff
  • Disliked — motel-style pool towels, ask for extras
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank One+Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikiki6
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

Arrived 2 days ago and went to see Society of Seven last nite. Loved it!! Great entertainment for all ages. You can choose buffet dinner and show, or show only. Show is about 1.5 hours and all 7 men are very multi-talented: they all sing, dance, play multiple insturments, tell jokes, involve the crowd, just a fun time.

Hotel is fantastic as well. Hotel employees all very friendly, and accomodations are clean and well maintained. Any questions I can answer while I'm here??

More to come.

  • Liked — location, location, location and it's clean and friendly
  • Disliked — nothing yet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Waikiki6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

What an amazing hotel. The location was perfect, right in the heart of Waikiki, across the road from the International Market Place. Great location for shopping, all the best shops are right at the doorstep. 5 min walk max to the bus stop to Ala Moana Shopping Centre (number 8 bus) or Aloha Stadium (number 42 bus) for the flea markets on a Wednesday.
The hotel staff were excellent, could not fault them once.
Room (Ocean Front) was exactly as promised and well cleaned by the staff.
Pool was salt water and quite warm due to the weather being hot.
I had a great holiday at the Outrigger, compliments to the management team. Will definately be back.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller77Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

My family, (Wife and 2 teenage children), stayed at the Outrigger the first week of July and had a tremendous time. The hotel was just what we expected, clean, good size room, a great veiw of the beach and located in all of the crazy activity of Waikiki! The beach was great and the pool(even though not large by some standards) was more than adequate. The resturants on the property ( we ate at all three) were very good and reasonable for a hotel in this location. We had ocean views every time we ate there. One bit of advice, if you want to avoid a hectic time at the hotel, avoid staying there on the 4th of July when they host outrigger canoe races which occupy the entire beach area for most of the day. The area around the hotel was perfect to keep 2 teenagers busy and occupied. Lastly, the hotel was awesone in accomodating us with a hospitality room for part of the day since our flight was not until 11pm. It provided us a great place to rest and freshen up. I would definately stay there again!

  • Liked — dLocation, service and resturants
  • Disliked — 4th of July canoe races occupying the beach
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

DON'T BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!! It is average, at best. We just came home yesterday and was so disappointed in this property. We wanted to switch hotels after the first night, but would be penalized if we left. I heard it was renovated (cosmetically), but it's still an OLD hotel with paper thin walls and narrow hallways. Consequently we heard flushing toilets all night, someone snoring next door (as well as their conversations), noise from the beach alleyway, guestroom doors slamming all night, late night emergency vehicle sirens, etc . Don't forget to pack earplugs to get a good night sleep. Everything about this hotel is just mediocore (staff, guestrooms, etc.) For your money, you can find a better place to stay.

  • Liked — That it was on the beach
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveagoodvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

We chose this hotel for our holiday with our teenagers as we had heard great things about it and read the reviews on this website. My Mum stayed here many years ago and raved about it and it certainly lived up to all our expectations. From the time we arrived at midnight to the time we left we experienced superb hospitality, friendly and helpful staff, great dining experiences at Dukes, The Hula Grill and Chucks Steak House and had the best holiday at Waikiki Beach. We would definitely recommend it for families with teenagers and also couples travelling alone. Our kids disappeared after breakfast and we didn't see them again till it was time for dinner or they had run out of money! A very safe place to holiday. Everyone did their own thing and we always managed to meet up outside the hotel on the beach despite all the people there. After 11 days staying at the Outrigger the place felt like home. Am sure this was due to the welcoming way in which the staff greet you and are always happy to assist you. Great location, great people, we could go on and on. As far as the noise concerns we have read about we had two rooms with a room in between us and had no concerns. We in fact slept with the sliders open to hear the activity outside and the surf. If your'e enjoying your holiday and soaking up the sun and surf, shopping and entertainment then sleep won't be a problem. A must see is the fab guys at the Society of Seven - all of us including our three teenagers had a ball. Thanks guys, we will definitely be back no need to look any further than the Outrigger.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tikitourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag and Odigeo so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing