We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have been blessed to be able to vacation again at the Outrigger Waikiki. This was out 5th trip here in the last 5 years. We have been to Hawaii a total of 9 times, but once we found the Outrigger, we will never stay anywhere else. We have even decided not to visit other islands and spend out entire stay at the Outrigger. There is not one negative comment we could make about our stays. The entire staff is friendly, helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated. We had breakfast every morning (without coupons) at the Hula Grill. Not only is the view fabulous but the entire staff are exceptional. In some restaurants, people will ask for a certain server but no matter who waits on you here, you will never be disappointed. From Ryen, to Lisa to Jackie to John to Lauren, you couldn't ask for a friendlier staff. Duke's in the afternoon for Hula Pie,, yum. Totally different atmosphere than the Hula Grill. We were sorry to see that the International Market Place is closed and construction is underway for a new retail complex. We know it will go on for some time and are concerned about any disruptions we may encounter if we are lucky enough to return next February. The only improvement we could suggest would be if you would join the frequent flyer program with American Airlines. Would help us accumulate more miles more quickly for a return visit. Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Diamond Head side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pittsburghers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Aloha Pittsburghers2011. Thank you very much for being loyal return guests of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach over the past 5 years. We are honored that you decided to spend your entire Hawaii vacation with us instead of visiting other islands. Our dedicated team of employees truly makes a difference when it comes to creating a warm, memorable vacation experience for all of our guests. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the exceptional staff at the Hula Grill. Mahalo Nui Loa. See you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,976 - 1,982 of 4,848 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

From the lobby you walk one way onto Waikiki Beach or a few steps in the opposite direction and you're in the Main Street - this motel has the 3 L's. Location, location, location. We stayed in a partial ocean view room which I thought would mean ocean glimpses - how wrong was I. The room gave us views of the beach and we could really see what was happening. Dukes is on site and I thought we may have been disturbed by the noise from this bar - how wrong was I. We stayed on the 3rd floor and heard nothing. We travelled with our 2 teenage sons and the room was plenty big, no need to book the extra space. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Schme10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Aloha Schme10. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Since our property is situated right on the shore, all of our Partial Oceanview rooms offer generous views of the beach. Guests are able to take in all of the sights, sounds and energy of Waikiki straight from their balcony seats. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights here, can't really say too many bad things. Awesome view from the ocean front rooms, although if you don't like loud music then get the highest floor you can.
Dukes bar and restaurant is awesome, try the baby back ribs.
Just watch out for the marketing people at the tours desk, trying to get you to seminars etc. Worse than telemarketing in my opinion.

Close to everything, the ABC store across the road was excellent and next do to the Cheesecake Factory.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Is M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Aloha Is M. Thank you for spending four nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very happy to know you found Heaven right here in paradise during your stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

No Hotel can ever be perfect, but the Outrigger Waikiki came close.

First of all the location could not be better. Right on Waikiki beach with many rooms facing directly to the beach.

Second, the people who work there are well trained and work hard to please you. Everyone greets you with a smile and if they have heard your name will call you by name.

Third, it is a very secure location. Effort is made to keep the hotel floors secure.

Fourth, you could not find a hotel with three better restaurants than Dukes, Chucks Steakhouse, and the Hula Grill.

Lastly, all of the shops in the lobby are very convenient. You really do not need to leave the hotel
to by sundries, liquor, or souvenirs. However, if you do leave there are many shops and other restaurants within a short walk of the hotel.

The only negative that some would mention is the room size. They are small. However, the bath in our room was large and included a shower and spa tub. The balcony was small but had a wonderful view and very nice furniture. I did not find room size to be and issue but I'm sure some would.

Pricey, but very much worth what you pay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a full ocean front view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2150John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Aloha 2150John. Thank you for spending your Hawaiian vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are humbly grateful to have come close to being a perfect hotel for you and your friends. Being located in the heart of Waikiki, and on the best section of Waikiki beach, our goal is to provide our guests with everything they need without having to leave the property. We have the best oceanfront restaurants in Oahu that serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and late evening cocktails with live entertainment every day. There are shops for guests to purchase everything from sundries, to swimwear to fine jewelry. On-site amenities include a coin Laundromat, fitness center, rooftop spa, Jacuzzi, swimming pool and sundeck. We even offer complimentary cultural activities for guests to participate in throughout the week such as a vow renewal ceremony, hula lessons, lei-making and walking tours. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please come back for another near perfect stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Dated , unbearably small rooms and common areas , it is like being in the 70s, smells of smoke in the foyer, would never recommend it . We paid $500 per night and I was happy to give it away and walked out , I could not imagine a worst hotel , shower had a curtain, you had to wait for the lift for ages . The only one positive is location is good but inside is simply horrible . Avoid this place, it is in need of renovation

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Radisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Aloha Radisin. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us. In 2013, we completed a $18 million renovation project. All of our 524 guest rooms were completely updated with new carpets, wallpaper and furnishings. In addition, our swimming pool, pooldeck and elevators were remodeled with the interests of aesthetics and efficiency in mind. One of the major goals for the renovation was to ensure that the look and atmosphere of the Outrigger Waikiki reflected the true identity of the property. Instead of a sleek, modern urban decor, the Outrigger Waikiki is styled with dark woods, tropical accents and historic local artwork to give guests a sense of place in Hawai`i. Mahalo Nui Loa for sharing your feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The location is right in the heart of Waikiki. The beach front is a plus and I would recommend upgrading to a beach front room, worth the price. Be prepared, nothing in this town is inexpensive. This hotel offered one of the best bar/restaurants in Waikiki, Dukes named after a famous Hawaiian surfer who is honored on the nearby beach. If you want a chair on the beach, be prepared to pay a hefty fee anywhere. The hotel had comfortable chairs and umbrellas for rent. There are also two other restaurants that were very good. Everything is close by and easy to get too. We hiked to Diamond head from our hotel and the Honolulu Zoo was close by. The little deli close to the pool had great hand made sandwiches and fresh fruit smoothies. Morning coffee is served free inside of Dukes. Aloha

Room Tip: Upgrade to a water view, the beach is fun too watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vacakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Aloha vacakelly. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our great location, beachfront rooms, three oceanfront restaurants and Pai's Sandwich Shop right next to the pool. Please come back soon for another delightful visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I went to Hawaii and chose the Outrigger for our 7 day stay, split before and after a cruise on NCL's Pride of America. We couldn't have done better for position as it was right on the finer sand part of the beach with it's own area for hiring the sun loungers and beach umbrellas as well as surf boards, rubber rings, body-boards and paddle boards (Ideal for families). Several catarmarans also came in there for 1 hour trips and there is also a lifeguard station. We originally had a city view room booked but upgraded to a partial sea view which we took full advantage of every morning as although we used the restaurant the first morning for breakfast we bought in our breakfasts the rest of our stay for a relaxing start to each day. We purchased milk (you have a hotel room fridge), breakfast cereals, fruit juices and croissants/cookies/cakes from the ABC store (don't buy plastic spoons as they give them out free if you buy breakfast cereal from them) across the road to eat on the balcony (though they do have a reasonable shop on the lower lobby level (though less choice than ABC) along with quite a few other gift shops, a hair salon, etc;) The Outrigger on the beach is also known as the Outrigger Main (don't get it mixed up with the Outrigger on the Reef further down the beach, they are both close but on the reef doesn't have as good a beach area as it has lots of rocks when wading in. You may prefer the Reef if you like to snorkel but even that may be too sharp a coral area for you. The service at the Outrigger on the beach was excellent and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. It is also in an excellent position for the city and right near the Royal Hawaiian Mall which you must visit. The best chinese restaurant is Chungs situated in the nearby Royal Hawaiian Mall as well as one of the best impersonator shows we've seen with very good Elvis, Michael Jackson and Lady GaGa lookalikes (and sing-a-likes) a great show (Go for the best seats and be served your food at the show rather than the lower options of self serve buffet (with added entertainment) or no food options) though quite a bit more expensive you will feel like lords and ladies at the show. Back to the hotel and the swimming pool, though not big is ample for a dip and swim and the sea is just a stone's throw away from the pool area (regular towels are provided by the pool). The hotel provides many good facilities including its own beach facing restaurant and bar with waitress staff for serving drinks and food inside and out. The safe in each room is easy to use but the room card activated lifts take a little getting used to. The 27 hour journey time (with waiting between flights) from Manchester to Frankfurt (United Airlines save tax this way) then from Frankfurt to San Francisco and then on to Honolulu was a bit wearing but we took it in our stride as part of our holiday fun and surprisingly didn't feel the jet-lag on arrival. On the way back however we stayed over in New York for one night to get some further sightseeing in but felt very jet-lagged once home. As with all America tipping is the norm but they add state tax and gratuities and if they don't then they will suggest anywhere from between 10% to 20%. The beds were okay at the Outrigger Main but the pillows were not particularly comfortable a bit to fat and hard for me. Rooms are air conditioned which is must in the heat and the balconies are sufficient to have breakfast for 2 possibly 3 people. All round, a very good hotel with traditional dark wood Hawaiian style furnishings. Though we did like the looks of them,the 5 star hotels such as the Hilton, Hyatt or Sheriton do not have such good positions in my opinion, however, one of these not too far along the beach from our hotel towards the Royal Mall did look very luxurious and executive if that's what you prefer.

Room Tip: Upgrade to full or partial seaview and possibly between the 8th and 11th floors inclusive would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wraakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Aloha Wraakian. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach before and after your NCL cruise. Our hotel is located on one of the best sections of Waikiki beach, perfect for swimming, surfing and sun-bathing. We owe the superb sandy-bottomed ocean floor conditions to a natural Hawaiian fresh water stream called 'Apuakehau. 'Apuakehau flows from the mountains and enters the ocean right in front of the hotel. Since coral cannot grow in fresh water, the ocean is free of rocky coral in this area. Kalehuawehe, the ancient and famous surfing spot for Hawaiian royalty, was located just outside the mouth of the stream. Mahalo Nui Loa for appreciating our unique location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,122 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
273 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £207 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing