We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THREE NIGHT BREAK IN HONOLULU”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THREE NIGHT BREAK IN HONOLULU”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived at this hotel after an 18 night cruise from Sydney. It was 8.30 am and we were hoping to get baggage store because we had booked a Tour to pick us up at 10.30 am and would not be returning to the hotel until after 10.30 pm. The young woman at the Check-in counter was very friendly and gave us a Hospitality Room which we could use until 10 am and the Porters held our luggage for the day. Both the Hospitality Room and our ultimate Room were just great. Our bags were brought up to us within a couple of minutes of our late night arrival. We had chosen a City View room because we like to see the city lights at night and from our Room 1606 we also had a side view of the beach which was also good during daylight hours. The room was well fitted out (two double beds with a balcony and quite spacious)and very clean. It was perfect for 2 adults travelling with a tall teenage boy.

The hotel is located in the middle of the main shopping street opposite Macys and Footlocker. The Apple store is also very close. There is direct access onto Waikiki Beach from the rear of the hotel if you want an early morning swim. It is also opposite an ABC store where you can buy snacks and alcohol until 1 am in the morning. We dined one night at the Hulla Grill at the time of Happy Hour and had wine at $5.00 a glass until last orders at 6 o'clock. We also had fish and chips off the Happy Hour menu which was a very large serving for $12.00. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful and we were well pleased with his service. The Porters were also very helpful in organising taxis and giving advice.

We would recommend this hotel to other travellers and would most certainly stay there again if we return to Honolulu.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room 1606. It was top floor and quiet with a very nice city outlook but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank New_horizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Aloha New_horizons. Thank you for spending part of your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We understand that many guests have various arrival and departure schedules throughout the day. To meet their needs, our hotel offers secure baggage storage as well as the complimentary usage of a Hospitality room so guests can utilize private shower and changing facilities before check-in or after check-out. We are very happy to hear that you were able to benefit from this service and that you had a wonderful stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,566
    1,529
    411
    138
    60
See reviews for
1,472
2,070
111
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hotel was on the beach we had a great view and could see the ocean from our balcony! The service was excellent. When they took our bags to the room they noticed a light was out and had it fixed before we got back from dinner. We would highly recommend the restaurant in the lobby, Hula Grill, the food and drinks were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Aloha Lori G. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very proud to be home to one of Oahu's most popular oceanfront restaurants - the Hula Grill Waikiki. The Hula Grill serves up Hawaii Regional Cuisine, showcasing fresh seafood and local farm ingredients, for breakfast, pupus (appetizers) and dinner. Tourists and local residents love the restaurant's sweeping panoramic views of Waikiki shore and iconic Diamond Head volcano, as well as the live local entertainment featured every night. Mahalo Nui Loa. We hope you will be back for another fantastic visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a week over the Easter break. We took an ocean front room with great views over Waikiki beach to Diamond Head. The location is perfect right opposite what was the International markets (being renovated) They have some excellent restaurants (see my other reviews for these). The beach front is good but does get very busy if you are looking to claim your spot on the sand.
The quality of the rooms are good. Good size rooms and bathroom. The beds are comfortable. The rooms come with multiple wardrobes and draws. The staff are very friendly and always willing to assist.

Room Tip: High Floors have better views - we were on the 9th floor which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tys63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Aloha Tys63. Thank you for spending your Easter break at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our Oceanfront rooms are perfect for enjoying a tropical getaway right on the beach. Guests can relax on their spacious balconies while watching the Hawaiian sunset and listening to the waves as they break on the shoreline. Mahalo Nui Loa for taking the time to post reviews about our property and our three on-site oceanfront restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here over Easter and it was our first time in Waikiki we wanted a place that was quite central and this definitely is. The hotel staff were friendly and we really don't have anything to complain about at all. The location is great, the beach is nice (if you like busy beaches) and the hotel rooms were clean. The partial sea view room are just that, a small glimpse of the ocean but we didn't spend one minute on our balcony so probably not worth paying extra for this at all... The only thing to mention is the noise from the street, very loud and hard to sleep if you are a light sleeper. I think this might be the same for a lot of the hotels along the main road of Waikiki.
Overall we would recommend this hotel however we may check out the Sheraton next time to compare.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GetonaJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Aloha Anita L. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your first visit to Waikiki. We are glad you enjoyed our great central location, friendly staff and clean rooms. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springtown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

One great hotel! Customer service was excellent, as well as all staff we came in contact with. Check out was at noon, our flight wasn't til 8 pm, they provided a complimentary room for us to freshen up before our flight to shower ect. Try and get that at a Disney resort.....anywhere. Room was spacious and clean, well maintained and refreshing. I would personally recommend this hotel to all family and friends. I read a few of the negative reviews, they can't possibly be talking about the same place. This was by far one of the best hotels in Waikiki. We were there for 10 days and everything was perfect all 10 days. Contact me at jwaros@ msn.com if you have a question. Security in and around the hotel is always present.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room on the 6th floor and it was perfect. Room 632
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jwaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Aloha Jwaros. Thank you for spending ten days at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is such a pleasure to hear that everything was perfect throughout your stay. We truly appreciate your recommendation of our hotel, as well as your generous offer to be personally contacted by other TripAdvisor users should they have any questions about your review. Mahalo Nui Loa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldcoast QLD
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on the 19th of April for 6 nights, we found it to be very comfortable and very clean. The hotel had lots to offer, plenty of bars and restaurants and things to do The hotel had one pool which we thought were on the small side to what we have stayed in before, but saying that were a very nice pool, also it had a separate spa which I used a lot, the only down side to the pool area it had not got much shade, what it needs is a more shaded area around the pool. We had breakfast everyday at Dukes, it were a hot buffet lots to eat, what I would suggest is that they change their menu as it was the same everyday which was a shame. The cost of the breakfast was $17.95 I thought that were good value. The hotel had lots of shops to browse in, the whole hotel I thought were very big and pleasant, would stay there again. We stayed on the 14th floor with partial ocean views and had a balcony.

Room Tip: I would chose the partial ocean view or full view also the higher the floor less quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindarobinson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Aloha lindarobinson123. Thank you for spending six nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very happy to have met the vacation needs of you and your husband. Your suggestions for a change in variety at Duke's breakfast buffet will be passed on to the restaurant manager. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here in early April 2014. If you are looking for a hotel on the beach in Waikiki this is probably the best location. You walk out the back door straight onto the sand. The pool and spa are also right next to the beach and both restaurants overlook the ocean. We stayed here with 2 children (ages 8 and 11) and the rooms were big enough and had everything we needed. We paid for an ocean view room and were very lucky to be on the fourth floor at the beach end of the building and had very good views. Overall we enjoyed our time here. The reception staff were outstanding and when ever we asked staff questions about the area they were very helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and didn't have any problems with noise from the restaurants and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Aloha Kevin F. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your family. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms, excellent views and helpful staff. We will look forward to welcoming you and your `ohana back in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,967 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing