We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
gosford-newcastle nsw
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best of everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights here Ist week of May 2014. Splurged on a one bedroom apartment oceanfront on floor 9 . King bed, beautiful furnishings and space. Total waterfront views, hotel staff excellent plus Duke's bar, the grill and the breakfast dinner areas the best, all beachfront. Very reasonable prices for meals and drinks. Room staff great, gave us a big hug and kiss on our departure! Aussie's, please remember to tip as staff here earn as little as $5.00 US an hour. Usually $2 per bag for porters, leave $5-10 on bed for room clean ea day and same for night room turn down service. Will return again to this hotel

Room Tip: Splurge as much as you can for oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha judy m. Thank you for staying 5 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you decided to splurge on a 1-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite. Our suites are the most luxurious units in our hotel and they are the perfect way to experience beachfront living in paradise. They are spacious with a separate bedroom and living room, two balconies overlooking the water and comfortable furnishings to give guests the home-away-from-home feeling. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and we truly appreciate your advice to other TripAdvisor users about tipping Hawai`i hotel and restaurant employees. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,481
    1,499
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,424
2,005
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for 7 nights in May of 2014. We loved the hotel and the restaurants in the hotel. The no resort fees approach is much appreciated. The location right on the beach in the heart of Waikiki is wonderful; we opted not to rent a car for a good portion of this trip which made the location very important. The only down side is that we had arranged a king size bed when making our reservation through expedia, but when we arrived they put us in a room with two double beds. The desk agent informed us that sleeping arrangements were not guaranteed. We were pretty disappointed but the gentlemen said he would work on getting us into something we wanted and they would move us over. Once we got to the room we loved the view we had and realized we'd be able to overcome the sleeping arrangements, so when they called 20 minutes later to tell us they had indeed found us new accommodations, we thanked him for his help, but decided to stay in the room we were originally assigned.

They have three restaurants in the hotel; Dukes, The Hula Grill, and Chuck's Steak House. We never made it to Chuck's, but both Dukes and the Hula Grill were excellent. On our last evening in Waikiki we went to the bar within The Hula Grill and ordered chips and salsa and some honey mustard to dip fries in that I got with my burger, neither of these items is on their menu, but we got both of them. Its nice to have a customer service experience like that!

In the room we could hear both the noise from the street and the roar of the ocean, but that was only when we had the sliding door to our lanai open, when we closed the door we couldn't hear any of that. Aside from the restaurants, the facility appears a little dated and not nearly as ornate as some of the other resort hotels we wandered into, I point this out as an observation, not a complaint, the building is clean and orderly just not as fancy as others. They have an elevator system in the building that took a little getting used to, you have to swipe your card and select your floor before you get in, there is no way to select a floor inside the elevator, this is an interesting security feature but a little cumbersome.

If you are headed to Waikiki, we highly recommend the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach as a good value with excellent customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabreDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha SabreDave. Thank you for spending a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We could not agree with you more that a great vacation needs a great location! Mahalo Nui Loa for mentioning that we provide good value with excellent customer service. It is our goal to do so and we are delighted that our efforts are successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Well most of the hotels in Waikiki appear to be in tower blocks, but the Outrigger Waikiki has been designed so that many of the rooms have an 'ocean view', even if only at an angle from the balcony!.
Rooms are large, comfortable, and entirely satisfactory as a base for exploring the immediate neighbourhood and the wider delights of the island of Oahu. With several restaurants within the hotel, and another Outrigger nearby so that there is little need to search out other restaurants, although there is a profusion within easy walking distance.
Centrally located, right on the beach and within easy reach of the shops, if you are that way inclined, the hotel offers everything that one might need, although sorry to note that the 'in house' floor show had been 'pulled', so had to go over the road to the Holiday Inn for their offering.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a bonus but not essential. However if having a 'breakfast include' tar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha john t. Thank you for spending your Hawaiian holiday at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Being centrally located in Waikiki and right on the beach, our hotel is an ideal base for enjoying the very best shopping, dining and entertainment options in Honolulu's famous tourist district. We provide our guests with comfortable, spacious rooms and a range of on-site services to keep them relaxed and ready for a vacation filled with activities and exploration. Mahalo Nui Loa. Please come back for another wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. The staff is outstanding. It is very clean and relaxed. Waikiki is very busy and dining reservations can be difficult if not planned out a head of time.

The Beach is one of the any where.

We will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha James A. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your family. We are very proud of our great location, outstanding staff and clean, relaxed facilities. Mahalo Nui Loa for your five-star rating of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have always stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village (HHV) but could not get in for this trip. At the recommendation of my corporate travel agent, I chose the Outrigger and I have to say, I'd stay there again if I went back. First of all, it was about $100 less per night than HHV when you factor in that they don't charge for Wi-Fi or have a resort fee. It was clean, right on the beach and we never had a problem getting a spot at the pool. We had an ocean view room which was quiet at night and had a lovely view. If you want the total package view wise, ask for an ocean front view but honestly, the ocean view was just fine by me.
Just about everything is walkable from this hotel and like all of the hotels there, they will arrange transportation and activities if you like.
Overall, a great spot for the value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Aloha J F. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. As a return visitor to Oahu and the Waikiki area, your comparison of our property to others you have stayed at is important to us. We are one of only a few oceanfront hotels on Waikiki Beach that do not charge guests a resort fee on top of their nightly room rates. We still continue to offer free wireless internet service, free calls to the United States & Canada, as well as free in-room services such as daily coffee and tea and safe usage. We hope you will continue to stay with us in the future, whether for business or pleasure. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at Outrigger Waikiki on the beach in Honolulu and loved everything about it. What I loved most is it central location to beach, shopping and restaurants. Staff were very accommodating to our family dynamic organising interconnecting room for my in laws and us without any prompting and an early check in for in laws as mobility is no longer their strongest asset again without request. They also looked after some of our bags that we didn't want to take to the Big Island. Great stay great place do it again anytime especially with free internet and no resort fees!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JARSonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Aloha JARSonholidays. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your `ohana. We are more than happy to accommodate families in connecting rooms whenever possible. While our standard check-in time is 3:00pm, our Front Desk staff will gladly allow guests early access to their room as soon as it is ready and available. Mahalo Nui Loa for appreciating our complimentary services and absolutely no resort fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay 8 nights in a partial ocean view room in march 2014. From the moment I checked in I realised that this was going to be special. Bags were placed in room and we enjoyed a beautiful lunch at Dukes on the ground floor. A fantastic first impression, lovely fresh food (fish tacos, sashimi, wings etc) washed down with a refreshing marguerite or 2. Then it was on to explore the city , which is easy to do from the outrigger as it is so centrally positioned on the beach. It is close to Hawaiian village with many shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the Cheesecake Factory , p f changs, the Yardhouse etc all within easy walking distance. The hotel has many features, tour desk restaurants, coffee shop etc. it was a wonderful holiday and I will definitely return

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Thebigman255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Aloha Thebigman255325. Thank you for spending eight nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are delighted that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us. We will look forward to your return visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,192 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing