We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dukes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dukes”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

In May my dentist and I hit Dukes for a few days. We both have been to Honolulu many times and we had a great time at the bar. Thanks to Kirk who kept our glasses full. We both needed a break and a short trip was in order. My wife and I will be heading there soon as the boys trip is now out of the way!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha Bruce B. Thank you for your recent stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is nice to hear that return visitors to the Waikiki area frequent our property and also Duke's Waikiki. We are very proud to be home to three of Waikiki's best beachfront restaurants - Duke's Waikiki, Hula Grill and Chuck's Steakhouse. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,593
    1,543
    411
    139
    60
See reviews for
1,496
2,080
111
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My first stay at the Outriggers Waikiki on the beach, and it was on the beach. The location was great, get up early in the morning go down for a swim and return to my room and sit on the balcony. I had a deluxe oceanview room with a view to Diamond Head and it was superb. I found the room to be quite spacious, and the staff very helpful and friendly. The pool was nice, although I tended to swim in the ocean but it was great having a lounge seat by the pool to relax. Handy was Duke's and the other restaurants especially when the weather was wet. However it was an easy walk to other restaurants. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room on a high level with a view of Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingtomonttrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha travellingtomomttrem. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the first time. Our Deluxe Ocean-view category rooms are in the next best location to our Oceanfront units and suites. They are all situated on the Diamond Head side of the building with generous views of the beach from spacious balconies. It is wonderful to know that you had a great stay with us in one of these rooms and you will definitely stay here again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel, we can not find a reason to stay anywhere else, Location is perfect walk right out to Waikiki Beach, Shops and Restaurants are all in walking distance. All the staff are super friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha Lainey H. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the third time. We are truly grateful to have you as our loyal return guest. Mahalo Nui Loa for your continued patronage and five-star rating of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The whole experience at this hotel was excellent from the registration staff to housekeeping Everyone was very helpful and knowledgeable The room we had was an excellent ocean view of the surfers and beach We were given several keys to pick out our favorite room which ended up being on the tenth floor. I believe 1018 to be exact. The food at the restaurants was very good Dukes was definitely the spot with live music every nite which never kept us awake either. Thanks again Outrigger on the beach staff

Room Tip: As above ocean view was great Room 1018 or higher numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha Mickey60_10. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you took the time to tour several different rooms before choosing the one most suitable to your preferences. Should you book a future stay with us, please let us know if you would like to request the same numbered room. Our Front Desk agents will try their best to assign the best available room to match your reservation requests. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Loved this hotel and very centrally located. We had a lovely room, the staff were very helpful and would highly recommend a beachfront stay in this hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed the restuarants at this venue and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Aloha Margaret B. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the first time. We are so glad you loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary along with our 3 adult sons and 2 of their girlfriends. We stayed at the Outrigger for 7 nights in late May. We rented a car, so we also used their parking service. We had 3, partial-ocean view rooms on the Diamond Head side of the hotel on the 12th floor.

The service at the hotel was impeccable! From the front desk, to the parking attendants, to the concierge, to the housekeeping, to the bell service -- all were extremely nice and made us feel so welcome.

The rooms were super clean and well appointed. All the usual amenities you would expect in a nice hotel were available -- coffee in room, hair dryers, ironing, toiletries, cable TV. The housekeeping service did a great job of making our rooms feel fresh and clean each day. The balcony was OK, but a tight fit. If I were them, I would get much smaller tables so you could arrange the chairs a bit easier.

The lobby and lower lobby were full of interesting shops -- a high-end art shop, a vintage T-shirt shop, jewelry store, a store where you could get snacks and gifts, a Christmas ornament shop, a ladies bathing suit shop, along with others.

To park at the hotel, you need to cross the busy sidewalk along the Waikiki strip. The parking attendants were always so quick to make a path for us and make sure that we didn't take out anyone in the process of getting in an out of the street. They quickly retrieved our car for us (within a minute usually). The one problem we had at the hotel was a lost key on our first day. The attendants quickly got us a cab and paid for it. They also comp'd us 2 days free parking. They did find the key.

The concierge was very helpful in assisting us with planning our activities for the week. We went on an awesome horseback ride at the Kualoa ranch on the east side of the Island. Thanks Heather!

We ate one of our breakfasts at the Hula Grill in the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic and the atmosphere was paradise -- great views of the ocean, fresh flowers everywhere, beautiful decor. Service was perfect.

Our last night, we treated the family to a dinner at Dukes in the hotel (expect to drop about $50/person). We had some delicious fruity drinks, a great salad bar, yummy fish and steaks, and a Hula Pie which was to die for. The Hawaiian singers serenaded us at our table for our anniversary, singing us two songs! It was a magical night.

Our only disappointment with the hotel was the pool area. They closed it at 8 o'clock. There wasn't enough shady areas (it gets very hot in the sun), the spa/jacuzzi was located in an area where they set up nighttime dining, so we weren't about to use it while people around us were dining and drinking. But, they did have towel service which was nice, since we didn't have to bring or buy our own towels for the pool or beach.

Overall, we were very pleased with the experience we had on-the-beach at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandyRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Aloha Randy Robertson. Hau`oli La Ho`omana`o - Happy 30th Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating your special occasion at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your `ohana. We are delighted that you had an overall pleasurable experience with us and you were able to explore the many unique shops and restaurants in our hotel. Your compliments about our Concierge, Heather, as well as our dedicated employees at the Bell Desk, Valet, Front Desk and Housekeeping departments are very much appreciated. Mahalo for giving us the opportunity to create a memorable stay for all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We first stayed here with the kids in 1993 and had adjoining rooms at the rear of the hotel with a glimpse of the water. We all had a ball and were sorry to have to leave. We swore then that the two of us would come back one day and stay in a beachfront room. In 2008, we returned and were upsold from a beachfront room to a Diamond Head Suite. These are the corner rooms with two lanais - one facing the beach with sweeping views of the water from the Sheraton down to (obviously) Diamond Head and the other facing along the beach to Diamond Head. The first is in full sun in the afternoon so it's handy to have the other for the shade. The front one has a table and 2 chairs and the second has a smaller table and a lounge chair. There is a main bedroom with king bed and ensuite and a door which leads onto the 2nd lanai. A separate lounge room has a sofa which pulls out to a double bed. There is also an armchair, a coffee table and a larger table and two chairs which could be used as a dining table. There are TVs in both rooms. A 2nd bathroom completes the mix.
In 2008, we were in room 1423. I think this is the top floor and, whilst it was a great room, we felt a little remote from the action below. On our first visit this year, we stayed in 523 and, on this level, you really feel like part of the scene below. i think that any of floors 5 to 8 would be the best - as long as there's a 23 at the end of it. For our current stay, we had earlier asked for 523 again and I'm sitting on the front lanai there now. It's overcast but still hot.
There's a lot more sand out the front of the hotel than there was in 2008 so the beach is nowhere near as crowded as it used to be, particularly when the tide came in. The water is as blue and warm as ever and there's a huge crowd of ripple riders out on boards - 10 to each wave (no drop-in rules at Waikiki).
As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel's location is fantastic. it's in the centre of everything, including the shopping precinct and, with the exception of Chef Mavro, Alan Wong's, Michels and Hau Tree Lanai, all of the good restaurants are a few minutes walk away. Speaking of restaurants, the famous Dukes is on the Ground Floor of the hotel and seems to be constantly busy from breakfast until late. However, we time our visits to ensure that we are here for at least one Sunday for early dinner at Hula Grill. At just after 4pm on a Sunday, Henry Kapono and his group play out on the terrace at Dukes. Dukes is a complete bunfight at the best of times but, on Sunday, half of Waikiki seems to turn up for the music and the people watching is second to none. A table on the rail at Hula Grill directly above Dukes is the place to be (see separate review).
The staff at the hotel are universally friendly and helpful, especially the valet parking guys and the beach activities team. This is a great hotel and we'll be in a room ending in 23 again during our next trip to Hawaii.
Final note. Waikiki seems to have become very popular with Aussies and there are lots at this hotel.

Room Tip: Floors 5 and higher are the best with higher floors a little quieter. Go for oceanfront as a minimum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gwegwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Aloha gwegwy. Thank you so much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It takes a familiar visitor to recognize the changes in Waikiki beach since 2008. Your comment about how there is a lot more sand out in front of the hotel is very accurate. In 2012, 1,730 feet of Waikiki shoreline was returned to its lush vintage 1985 condition following a four-month long offshore sand-pumping project. Thus, the beach appears less crowded with much more space for sunbathing and relaxing. In recent years, Waikiki has been very fortunate to welcome an increasing amount of visitors from Australia. This is likely due to the family-friendly beach resort atmosphere, world-class retail shopping options and welcoming Aloha spirit of the people who call Hawai`i home. We are looking forward to seeing you again when you return for another memorable stay in our Diamond Head 1-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,010 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing