We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Came here for our honeymoon in September/October 2013. Check in was easy enough, although we tried to get an upgrade but couldn't due to high occupancy. The elevators often got cramped and full, and the hallways were narrow. We found our room a little cramped, but this wasn't a major issue as we weren't spending a lot of time in the room. The balcony was tiny, to small to sit outside and chill. We had a partial ocean view, but the view was not the greatest. Most of the view was taken up by the Cheesecake Factory roof, with a tiny slice of ocean. I do not think it is worth the money for partial or maybe even ocean view. I would either just go with the cheapest in future or splurge on oceanfront if I had the money. On the plus side, this hotel is in a prime location, in the heart of Waikiki, on the beach and right in the middle of the best restaurants and shopping. The restaurants on site were fantastic, we tried both Dukes and Hula Grill. I would stay here again, but I will probably try other options first next time I come to Waikiki.

Room Tip: The partial Ocean View we had on the North (Cheesecake Factory) was comfortable, but a little crampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie_robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Aloha angie_robyn. Ho`maika`i (Congratulations)! Thank you for celebrating your Honeymoon at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our prime location and on-site beachfront restaurants. Our hotel features Partial Ocean-view rooms on both the East and West sides of the building. Should your future travels bring you back for another stay, our staff will be happy to show you a room on both sides of the building so you find a unit best suited to your preferences. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,566
    1,527
    410
    137
    60
See reviews for
1,470
2,070
110
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Let me start off with the front desk, which is set up like multiple unlabeled banker desks in the lobby, you would have no idea where to go or who to talk to if you didn't constantly ask questions of how, where and why? Great question, why are the elevators a vision of the year 2046 invented in 1998? Was it worth saving $100 on each elevator by not having numbered floor buttons inside the elevators? Why, when I get out of the elevator does it feel like I'm staying on a cruise ship? The hallways are just narrow enough for one person to walk through with luggage, good luck if you're the lucky guest coming out of your room for ice and a family of stage 5 foreign tourists are wheeling down the hall with everything from strollers to luggage. Open your door with the same scan your key elevator concept, and into your lower deck cabin/water closet. These rooms are small and congested; sure the furniture is nice, but nice furniture in a closet is just disturbing, these renovations are unrealistic and unreasonable. The pool is bigger than the holiday inn; however, the deck is congested and stuffy, and the only way to get to the pool is to interrupt dining guests at Dukes. The people are nice, I'll give it that, but there are much nicer places to stay in Waikiki on the beach for less money. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone ever.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JohnnyCards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Aloha JohnnyCards. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very sorry to hear that you were confused by our hotel setup and newly upgraded elevator system. The decor throughout our property is intended to create a relaxing, welcoming and safe environment for our guests from the beginning of their stay to their day of departure. Our reception desk is situated in our upper lobby with sit-down check-in stations and an inviting seating area. There are no stanchions or queues; however, there is complimentary iced water service and Hawaiian music for guests to enjoy in the rare occasion they cannot be immediately assisted by our friendly Front Desk staff. All of our guest elevators were completely renovated in 2013 and we are proud to be one of the first hotels in Hawai`i to have one of the safest and most efficient elevator models on the market. Our elevators feature a key access security device so non-guests will not be able to reach any of the floors on which our rooms are located. To operate the elevators, guests simply tap their room keys on the elevator call button and enter their destination floor number on the connecting keypad. Since there are four elevators, the system determines which elevator will arrive at the guest's floor in the shortest amount of time and directs them to the appropriate lift. We are truly honored to be a family-friendly hotel with International visitors from all areas of the world throughout the year. While this may mean there are more children, strollers and luggage to be seen on property, we are happy to be able to accommodate everyone in our spacious rooms and facilities. Mahalo Nui Loa for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in adjoining rooms with our 2 college daughters and we all loved it! You are right in the beach with surfing paddle boarding etc all there. pool is nice and convenient. You have several great restaurant right in the building-Dukes, Hula Grill and both had great service and very good food. Rooms are very nice, nice size bathrooms, comfortable beds. Go with oceanview not partial ocean view. No need to rent a car. Great shopping and restaurants right outside your door!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha Cari M. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very conveniently located for guests of all ages to enjoy a fun-filled and activity-packed stay. The popular stretch of Waikiki beach in front of our hotel is perfect for surfing, swimming, canoe-paddling and snorkeling. On the opposite side of our property is Waikiki's main strip, Kalakaua Avenue, which is an internationally famous shopping and dining destination for visitors from around the world. To enjoy the best of what Oahu has to offer, there really is no need for guests to rent a car if they are staying with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

In May my dentist and I hit Dukes for a few days. We both have been to Honolulu many times and we had a great time at the bar. Thanks to Kirk who kept our glasses full. We both needed a break and a short trip was in order. My wife and I will be heading there soon as the boys trip is now out of the way!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha Bruce B. Thank you for your recent stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is nice to hear that return visitors to the Waikiki area frequent our property and also Duke's Waikiki. We are very proud to be home to three of Waikiki's best beachfront restaurants - Duke's Waikiki, Hula Grill and Chuck's Steakhouse. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My first stay at the Outriggers Waikiki on the beach, and it was on the beach. The location was great, get up early in the morning go down for a swim and return to my room and sit on the balcony. I had a deluxe oceanview room with a view to Diamond Head and it was superb. I found the room to be quite spacious, and the staff very helpful and friendly. The pool was nice, although I tended to swim in the ocean but it was great having a lounge seat by the pool to relax. Handy was Duke's and the other restaurants especially when the weather was wet. However it was an easy walk to other restaurants. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room on a high level with a view of Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingtomonttrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha travellingtomomttrem. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the first time. Our Deluxe Ocean-view category rooms are in the next best location to our Oceanfront units and suites. They are all situated on the Diamond Head side of the building with generous views of the beach from spacious balconies. It is wonderful to know that you had a great stay with us in one of these rooms and you will definitely stay here again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel, we can not find a reason to stay anywhere else, Location is perfect walk right out to Waikiki Beach, Shops and Restaurants are all in walking distance. All the staff are super friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha Lainey H. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the third time. We are truly grateful to have you as our loyal return guest. Mahalo Nui Loa for your continued patronage and five-star rating of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The whole experience at this hotel was excellent from the registration staff to housekeeping Everyone was very helpful and knowledgeable The room we had was an excellent ocean view of the surfers and beach We were given several keys to pick out our favorite room which ended up being on the tenth floor. I believe 1018 to be exact. The food at the restaurants was very good Dukes was definitely the spot with live music every nite which never kept us awake either. Thanks again Outrigger on the beach staff

Room Tip: As above ocean view was great Room 1018 or higher numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Aloha Mickey60_10. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you took the time to tour several different rooms before choosing the one most suitable to your preferences. Should you book a future stay with us, please let us know if you would like to request the same numbered room. Our Front Desk agents will try their best to assign the best available room to match your reservation requests. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing