We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent 6 nights here in May 2014. Truly past our expectations. Wonderful room, nice employees. This hotel is at the hub of all activities and surrounded with great places to eat. Would love to return someday!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeBee713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha DeeBee713. Thank you for spending 6 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are delighted to have surpassed your expectations and we also would love to have you return someday. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,475
    1,494
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,420
2,001
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed three times in this hotel in six weeks between visits to the mainland and other islands and it was perfect. Very comfortable rooms and everything one would expect in a nice four star hotel. With the beach right out the back and the main shops out the front the location couldn't be better. Also the price was better than others I investigated.
Dukes restaurant buffet breakfast was really delicious and well priced and as long as you got there early to get a front table the view was good. The queues were quite long later which could be a problem if you were in a hurry..
The only complaint I have is that we booked a Pearl Harbour tour with the concierge and were assured it was a "small group 10-12 people" and it turned out to be 52! on a big bus. Had we known this we would have taken a cab and saved a lot of wasted time and money too as nothing was really included other than the drive out there and the tickets we could have bought ourselves..
Apart from that no complaints and we will definitely be staying there again on future visits and will recommend it to our friends..

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms on the west side are quieter and not looking directly into the hotel next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaOZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha AmandaOZ09. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach between your journeys to other locations. Your feedback about the Pearl Harbor tour you booked is appreciated and will be forwarded to our Concierge Manager. We are glad you had no complaints apart from that and we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here this past month for 10 nights/11 days in a deluxe ocean view room on the 6th floor (rm 622 to be exact). This was our second stay here in as many years and we were not disappointed. The view we got was glorious. The housekeeping-glorious. The concierge-glorious. Though the hotel is not super modern, it is perfect in terms of bed and basic amenities. One tip: if you can afford it, definitely splash the cash to get an oceanfront or even better, the diamond head suites. We had, as stated, the deluxe ocean view and the view was amazing, I could only imagine how beautiful it would be in the ocean front or Diamond Head suites.
Many people have previously commented on the noise, being on the 6th floor we had no problem with noise. It may be different for the rooms closer to the Main Street however last time we were there we had a city view room and still had no issue with noise.
The ONLY thing I could fault is the weird elevator system? Our first visit we had the conventional elevators so this time round it was quite different, and what I believed to be slower and probably a bad move on behalf of the hotel. But, in saying that, we personally didn't have any problems with it apart from being quite slow a few times, but did witness a lot of others having problems.
Amazing location, right smack bang in the middle of Waikiki. Easy to get any transport, it's close to, well, everything, and yeah. We would come back again if given the chance to visit beautiful Hawaii again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Courtenay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha Courtenay M. Thank you for spending 10 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are honored to have you as a return guest and are delighted to read your positive comments about our views, housekeepers, concierge and location. While our newly installed and very modern elevator system may be a bit unfamiliar for guests at the beginning of their stay, please be assured that it is specifically designed to run more efficiently than conventional lift systems. If you experienced waits for the elevators during your stay with us this busy summer, please accept our apologies as this is due to high occupancy levels and increased frequency of usage during peak hours of the day. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Me and my wife have been overwhelmed by the friendliness of staff, great food and service over here. It was so great that we stayed here twice in the same week after leaving our originally booked more expensive hotel after shattered expectations. We were so happy with our 2 nights at Outrigger that we returned there for 3 more nights. The spa did not disappoint either.
The use of the hospitality room was excellent for late flight. Thank you so much for such great value and we will definitely come back and stay with you !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixN2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha FelixN2015. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our staff will be delighted to hear your compliments about their excellent service throughout your stay. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed at this property for 9 nights in an Ocean view room on the 12th floor. the room was large with plenty of storage space and a good size bathroom. We were told by one of the housekeepers that our room (1222) was one of the best on the floor.
The location is great and beach access also great. We were part of a family holiday and the kids had a ball! Walking distance to Aquarium and Zoo.
The buffet breakfast ($16.95 US) is excellent value
If planning a trip , I would ensure that there were no school holidays(as we did). Too many kids would be a bit of a nightmare at this venue !

Room Tip: High floors, ocean view, near ends of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha Herman M. Thank you for spending 9 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. The room you stayed in, #1222, is a Deluxe Oceanview room and also one of the best units we have on the 12th floor. There are only two Deluxe Ocean-view rooms on each floor and all of them feature the best views next to the Oceanfront category. We are glad your kids had a ball exploring the many popular attractions located within walking distance of our hotel. During the summer months of June-August, Waikiki Beach is a very popular vacation destination for families with children of all ages who particularly love the warm weather and activity all-around. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I am a travel consultant with ECSC Sidney, BC, and had won two nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach in a partial ocean front view room, from a Western Vacations Trade show (thanks Tracey Poole)i. I stayed at the hotel at the beginning of June, 2014, and from the moment of check in to the time I checked out, I was treated to exceptional customer service from all staff at the hotel, who presented themselves in a professional, knowledgeable manner. The room was more than just a partial ocean view, it was tidy, well stocked with coffee, tea etc, it was quite soundproof and ittwas nice to just hear the waves crashing on the beach.... one great perk was that all calls to the US or Canada were "on the house" a feature that was an afterthough at first but soon became a very handy perk indeed (did not need to worry whether or not I was ever roaming .... continental breakfast was a nice touch as well, food unique and delicious ... I would highly recommend this property to others, and I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha Wendy P. Congratulations on winning a two-night stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is such a compliment to be recommended by a travel consultant, such as you, who has personally experienced a stay with us. For the past few years, we have gladly offered unlimited complimentary in-room phone calls to the United States and Canada to our guests. We understand the need to connect with friends and family while vacationing overseas and saw this as way of providing added value to our guests' stay. For our guests who wish to make International calls, we never charge for dialing the toll-free number on pre-paid calling cards from the comfort of their rooms. Mahalo Nui Loa for highly recommending our property to others. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay here. We were upgraded to oceanfront room with 2 balconies. Diamond Head to our left! Very clean and everyone was super helpful. Rooms very clean! The bed was extremely comfortable. We wanted to steal the pillows! They were the best!! Pool area very nice and clean. Loved waking up so early and seeing so many others were enjoying the beach. Watching the surfers, walkers, joggers and people just playing in the water and it wasn't 7am yet!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha Elizabeth P. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your five-star review of our property and compliments about our comfortable beds, clean rooms and spectacular views are very much appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing