We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the best location with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is our second stay here and we will always choose to stay here when visiting Honolulu because of the location. The rooms are quite good value if you can get their early bird rates. The service is always great and helpful and you will always be greeted with a smile. The check in and check out process is the best I've experienced. You just hand in the room key upon departure and you're check out. Awesome if you're running late for an early flight. The only bad thing is that check in is at 3pm, and we arrived at 9am due to our flight, so after a long sleepless flight from Sydney with a young infant, waiting around for our room wasn't fun, but not the hotel's fault. The last time I stayed here a year ago we checked in straight away since our room was available and I can really notice the difference that made to our sanity! Anyway the rooms are big and clean and adequate and we were given a microwave and kettle which was really useful for people with kids. The only negative about this property is that the room furnishings are abit dated, but apart from that, we had a really pleasant stay and will come back in future. Being a beachfront property is very convenient and you have all the shops at your doorstep. It's the best location in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jadavi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aloha Jadavi2014. Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are happy to read your positive comments about our convenient location, good value, helpful service and efficient check-in and check-out procedures. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,885 - 1,891 of 4,856 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at the start of our two week vacation and I was thoroughly impressed. We had an ocean front room on the seventh floor and we loved the view of all the action on the beach. The hotel is in the heart of Waikiki and you can even walk to Ala Moana Shopping Centre in about 30 minutes, or take one of the frequent buses.

The hotel has a deli, which does beautiful, fresh sandwiches that are made to order and perfect to take back to your room to eat on your lanai and have a break from the sun. There are also a couple of restaurants, including the famous Dukes. The Hula Grill has great views of the beach. The food is good casual fare and we sampled many of the delicious cocktails.

We will definitely be back. Our only negative was the ridiculous lift system. Unlike any hotel I have encountered you have to swipe to call up a lift (rather than once you get in). This is very inefficient as often a lift would arrive and we would swipe, only to told to 'seek assistance'. We'd get this message several times before successfully calling up a lift. Many other guests were grumbling about the same problem. This resulted in long waits for lifts. The management should look to remedy this.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RaqueDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aloha RaqueDD. Thank you for starting your vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your compliments about our Oceanfront room, location and on-site dining options are appreciated. Our management team reviews all TripAdvisor reviews and values your constructive feedback about our lifts. Mahalo Nui Loa. We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Good rooms, excellent location, good service, good restaurants in the hotel (Dukes and Hula Grill) but the lifts were a constant irritation. To enter the lift you have to swipe your key card against a pad in the lift lobby and you are then allocated a lift. This results in lifts being congested and in having to wait for your lift to arrive - in summary a total pain that seems unnecessary.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TonyAbrahamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aloha TonyAbrahamson. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is good to hear that you liked our rooms, location, service and restaurants. We are sorry you were dissatisfied with our lift system. The reason guests are required to swipe their key cards each time they attempt to use the elevators is to ensure non-guests are restricted from entering the floors on which our rooms are located. This security measure is in place 24 hours a day to protect hotel guests from criminal activity and disturbance during their stay. Mahalo Loa Nui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had 5 nights here as R&R after a 6 week tour of the US. We loved it though a few things to be aware of. Ocean View rooms are very different to Ocean Front rooms. We initially had an Ocean View room ...good size, but tiny tiny balcony right above an air con unit, with a narrow glimpse of the ocean ( not the beach). We were able to upgrade to an Ocean Front room, with a good balcony, overlooking Waikiki Beach. Very good.

While food / dining facilities a very good, they are always very busy. You cannot just turn up & get a table...wait times vary from 5 minutes up to an hour for Dukes, for dinner. Once seated, everything ( food, servers, wine lists) are all very good.

Watch out if booking activities through the Conceierge. They are a referral point for Wyndham Resorts / Vacation Club, so before you know it you are invited to a free breakfast & a 120 min sales pitch......you won't get out under 3 hours. If you are looking for a Sunset / Dinner Cruise, avoid Alii Kai Catarmaran Cruises....( Trip Adviser reviews of this Cruise will give you a realistic insight ).... It's not good value for money, it's very crowded and a sub standard operation..... They will promote, but give it a miss.

A great Resort overall, excellent location, but....very busy, lots of people all the time....not the ideal spot for a quiet get away, but a great spot if you want to soak up the buzz of downtown Waikiki

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aloha Rob E. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for a relaxing end to your 6 week tour of the United States. Our Ocean-view rooms are situated on both the east and west sides of the hotel's building with angled balconies to give guests an ample view of the beach. Our Oceanfront rooms are located on the beachside of the hotel with best possible full frontal views of the shore and water. We are glad you were able to upgrade to an Oceanfront room during your stay. Due to our centralized Waikiki location and three of the island's most popular restaurants on-site, our hotel is constantly abuzz with happy tourists every day. This is definitely a great spot to soak up the buzz of Waikiki anytime of the year. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second stay here. We had an ocean front room on the 14th floor. The view was exceptional and most times we were able to use the express lift which goes straight to the 14th floor and above which was great as this place is busy and the lift system is annoying.
Rooms were pleasant but dated. Bed not the most comfy though.
Staff helpful and courteous.
Ate at Dukes and did not enjoy it. Food too sweet and not many choices for us. It was crazy busy so they are doing something right though.
Great location next to all the shopping spots.
Love Hawaii so will be back but might try another ocean front hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aloha katgold. Thank you for returning to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed your Oceanfront room on the 14th floor. Being located right on the beach, our guests in all of our Oceanfront category rooms and suites are able to take in the most spectacular views of the water and shoreline from morning to night. We hope to welcome you back for a third visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is located right on Waikiki beach and thus has great views of the ocean and its close to lots of shops and restaurants. The decor in the rooms is somewhat dated but still ok. We travelled with a small baby and they provided us with a crib, very helpful, The gym on the top floor is small but well equipped. The hotel pool is very nice and the restaurants in the hotel have good food. The experience with the staff was mostly positive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sannis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aloha sannis82. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your family. Our property is very family-friendly and we are happy that you brought your infant on your recent visit. We do provide complimentary usage of baby cribs and even in-room microwaves or electric kettles upon request. Mahalo Nui Loa to you and your `Ohana. Please come back again for another great visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki for 5 days. Terrific location in Waikiki. Fabulous beach. Great service. Big rooms with great beds - very clean and updated with view of the beach. Excellent security. Fast elevators! The famous Duke's restaurant is excellent (and relatively expensive). Typical beach services - surf board rentals including surfing instruction.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Aloha Arthur C. Thank you for staying 5 days at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We truly appreciate your 5-star review of our property and your compliments about our staff, surroundings and facilities. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £210 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing