We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“long vacation stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“long vacation stay!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Perfect for leaving your room & heading to the beach. Staff was great! Duke's was amazing. Rooms were quiet. If we needed any additional towels, toiletries they sent them up. With the elevator system , we felt more secure that people were not wandering the halls. Loved the comfortable rooms & everything about this hotel.

Room Tip: diamond head side may have less noise from the other hotels AC fans located on the other side. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marsmomaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Aloha marsmomaz. Thank you for spending a long vacation stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Our convenient location allows guest to enjoy an effortless holiday in paradise. Every day, guests can start their morning with a fresh, hearty breakfast from our on-site oceanfront restaurants Duke's Waikiki or the Hula Grill. Then they can relax by the pool on one of our comfortable sun loungers and go for a swim or a walk on the beach just footsteps away. Evenings can be spent exploring the hundreds of world-famous restaurants and shops in urban Waikiki, all located within less than a mile of the hotel. After a full day, guests can finally unwind with a tropical cocktail and live Hawaiian music at Duke's Barefoot Bar featuring both indoor and outdoor seating. We are so glad you loved everything about our property, from the location to the staff to the rooms. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,475
    1,494
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,420
2,001
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel has quite a lot to offer and is in a great location but at this stage of our stay - one night in to our 5 night stay I would say do not spend the extra for an ocean front room. Whilst the view is lovely the extra cost is not good value when the noise from the restaurant underneath is UNBEARABLE.

This is our second stay at this hotel but this room ie ocean front is terrible because of Dukes restaurant noise

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Aloha aussietraveller1997. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the second time. We are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise from our lobby restaurants. Since you posted your review on the first night of your stay, we hope you have contacted one of our Front Desk employees for assistance in relocating to a quieter room. Please be assured that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests is always a top priority. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nice hotel right on the beach. Rooms had 2 double beds and a foldout couch. With couch out there isn't any room to move around, but good for sleeping. Had a small patio with 2 chairs with a nice view of the beach, surfers and boats. Lower lobby had a great little shop for smoothies and sandwiches we went to every day. A few good places to eat but pricey like most places right by the beach. Rooms were clean and bathrooms were clean with small fridge in bathroom. Right in the middle of all the action.

Room Tip: Our room was on the north side and we had a good ocean view off the patio. Our friend were on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azfiero88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha kurtalcazar. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you found our accommodations to be clean and our location convenient. Pai's Sandwich Shop, our gem of a local eatery in the lower lobby is a favorite of hotel guests seeking a fresh fruit smoothie or deli sandwich to fuel a fun-filled day on the beach. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Everything is very clean and very up to date. The hotel features multiple shops and restaurants on location. There are daily activities planned at the hotel for its guests that are free. There are multiple shopping opportunities around the hotel with surf lessons and boating expeditions right in front of the hotel on the beach. I would strongly suggest finding the farmers market a block down - super easy to find- to buy fresh fruit and bakery items. They open at 4:00 Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Also plan an early trip to the swap meet- can go by bus - to purchase all souvenirs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 526Frequenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha 526Frequenttraveler. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is great to hear that you had an excellent Hawaiian vacation complete with trips to the local farmer's market and swap meet. We hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked three rooms, for us, the kids, and the mum in law for eight nights in May/Jun 2014, and had a great stay.

The Hotel, staff, and pretty much everything about it is perfect. It probably has the best location in Waikiki and possibly Hawaii. I would recommend it to anyone. It was clean and tidy, rooms are a great size, and best of all it is right next door to the Cheese Cake Factory.

There was only one negative about the place. Be very careful when booking trips at the travel desk, that you don't get caught with the Wyndham Club people right next to the travel desk. They will offer gifts and a free breakfast to attend a two hour presenation on Time Share properties with Wyndham Club. The gift is $150 off on any day trip you may take... but don't get suckered in like we did. The Wyndham Club presentation took over half of the day, and was the most intense hard sell I have ever had. They try to sell you $26K of Times Shares right on the spot, you have to make a decision on the day, and there is no Internet to do research etc, the only info you get is what is rammed down you throat by them. When you say no, it gets even more intense, they keep giving you more and more offers. I am gald I said no, as when I did research this on the net later, not a lot of people liked the deal, some have even called it a scam... YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED..

But don't let that stop you from staying here, it really was a 10 out of 10 for us, and I will stay here again....

Room Tip: Don't get suckered in by Wyndham Club, stay away. It is not a two hour presentation, and now th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank seanandmihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha seanandmihi. Thank you for booking three rooms at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed a great stay with us. Your comments about the Wyndham Vacations desk is informative for guests who are not interested in attending a timeshare presentation or receiving a gift certificate toward activities and services in the Waikiki area. Mahalo Nui Loa for rating us 10 out of 10.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

On of the best values and beaches on this island, we only left to grab a bite for dinner a few nights. The kids surfed and did everything they wanted. I would highly recommend this place if visiting this part of Hawaii

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qwiksamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha Qwiksamd. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the tenth time! It is so wonderful to be called one of the best values on Oahu by a regular return visitor. We are glad the kids were able to do everything they wanted without ever having to leave our property. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our family recently spent the first week of June at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We will ABSOLUTELY stay at this resort again when visiting Waikiki Beach. We booked a Diamond / Oceanfront Suite and found the room was more than adequate for a family of four. Not to mention the spectular oceanfront view of the beach, ocean, and Diamondhead. The two bathrooms that were included were a must for a family of four. The rooms were very clean and also provided a pull-out queen sofa bed.The bedroom also connect to the corner lanai, which provided a city view as well. While staying at the resort, we dined at Dukes (which was our favorite), Chuck's Steakhouse, and Hula Grill. The food was great at all three restaurants.

The fitness room was also used everyday, and the treadmill, elipitical, and bikes all worked. My wife and teenage daughter also enjoyed the SPA along with a rooftop lunch.

Waikiki Beach was crowded at times, however, we always found space available to enjoy the ocean. We also rented an umbrella and two beach chairs, and for $53 for then enitre day was a must. Surf boards could also be rented for $25 for the entire day and surf lessons were also available.

The front desk staff, bell desk, and housecleaning staff ALWAYS provided exceptional customer service. This included a friendly ALOHA each time we passed a staff member.

This resort is a must stay if you want to be in the middle of Waikiki and experience the best scenic view of the ocean and Diamondhead in Waikiki. We will DEFINATELY stay again when visiting Honolulu and Waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 623cn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha 623cn. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your family. It sounds like you all made the most of your Hawaiian vacation by fully enjoying the hotel facilities and the activities on the beach. Our 1-Bedroom Diamond Head Oceanfront Suites are the very best rooms in our hotel. They feature a spacious living room, private bedroom, two lanais, two bathrooms and stunning views of the ocean and iconic Diamond Head volcano. They are perfect for families who want to experience the comforts of home in a paradise setting. We are so glad to hear that you will definitely stay with us again during your next visit to Honolulu. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing