We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned home from 12 fantastic nights in this hotel. Great location central to everything on the main strip with a great view over the beach. Pool was good with lots of lounges out during the day. Kids loved being able to go between the pool and beach easily. Staff were excellent and all very friendly. We ate at the Hula Grill and sat in Dukes bar for drinks and meals. Dukes was always very busy but made for good atmosphere. Also had a great meal at Chucks Steak House on site with a great view out over the beach and the steak was cooked perfectly. Room was clean and the size you'd expect but have to say the housekeeping staff were very friendly and professional and never put out if you asked them to come back to do your room later. Don't forget Pai's Deli near the pool - great for sandwiches and smoothies when you need a snack. Good bagels and coffee from Seattles Best Coffee shop on site too - great for a quick brekkie. What a great place to relax we ate and drank too much I'm happy to say. My wife and daughter thought the Christmas decorations shop in the foyer shops was really cute as they love collecting items for the tree every trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garym1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Aloha Garym1234. Thank you for spending 12 fantastic nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach with your family. We are glad you had a great experience at all of our on-site eateries: Duke's Waikiki, the Hula Grill, Chuck's Steakhouse, Seattle's Best Coffee and Pai's Sandwich Shop. With so many restaurants in the surrounding Waikiki area, we try to offer a variety of quality dining options for our guests to enjoy at any time of day, whether for a romantic oceanfront dinner or a healthy snack to take to the beach. Mahalo Nui Loa for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,481
    1,499
    399
    130
    58
See reviews for
1,424
2,005
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel, great location and beautiful hotel. We had a ocean front room which was amazing and def. Recommend it. Lots of things to do, has 2 cafés and food is fantastic. As soon as you closed your balcony doors room silent. Will come again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Aloha Kim L. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed an amazing holiday with us in an Oceanfront room. We look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We came back to Oahu for our second time in a couple years and made sure we stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki again. Our previous stay was so nice, we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else! They've also done some upgrades/renovations since the last time we were there which just enhanced an already great hotel! This isn't a cheap hotel to stay at, but it's worth every penny! The rooms are great, the views are amazing, and the location cannot be beat!! Oh, and the staff are friendly. This place has it all. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LO_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha LO_SD. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the second time. . Since your last visit, we have completed an $18 million renovation project which resulted in noticeable upgrades to our guest rooms, swimming pool and pool decks, elevators and corridors. We are extremely delighted that you couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

An awesome hotel, excellent staff, very professional. Hats off to Wendy in housekeeping and Lilly Tran in reservations for over the top efforts. I think I paid $200 for the room and $300 for the view and it was well worth it. Great restaurants on site and close by. Beach services were excellent. We will be back. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: The ocean front on the 14th floor was great. Next time I will pay the extra for the corner room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha Robert C. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are proud to be called one of the best and this is due in large part to our team of dedicated employees such as Wendy in Housekeeping and Lily at the Front Desk. Mahalo Nui Loa for your many positive comments. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in June, celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and a '0' birthday. We had a partial ocean view room on the 15th floor. A nice view down to the beach between the Outrigger and Moana Surfrider. The room was clean and large, with a couch as well as two chairs and a desk. We also participated in a Vow Renewal service that was really special for us and I would recommend anyone to do it. Didn't want to leave to come home to the cold of winter. Ah well, we can look forward to another trip to Hawaii. I can't wait. Mahalo Outrigger.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha Robyn K. Hau`oli La Ho`omana`o and Hau`oli La Hanau (Happy Anniversary and Happy Birthday)! Thank you so much for celebrating these very special occasions at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We cannot think of a better way to commemorate your Ruby Anniversary than by participating in our romantic vow renewal ceremony on iconic Waikiki beach. We hope you have brought home many magical memories and will always be reminded of this event when you hear a Hawaiian serenade or see a Hula performance (traditional Hawaiian dance) on the sand. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Paid extra for a delux ocean view. We were so pleased to arrive early in the morning and have a room ready for us on the 15th floor. I was quite freaked out by the height. Having stayed before I enjoyed a lower floor and requested a change. Moved to the the 7th floor - fantastic. Love the outrigger. I know it's a bit out dated but the position is second to none. Staff were great. Room was spacious. DUke's bar goes off and is an iconic part of Waikiki.. Loved our stay here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trakka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha Trakka33. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is such a pleasure to read your compliments about our second to none location, great staff and spacious rooms. We are truly delighted that you loved your stay with us. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Ocean front room is extremely small, outdated hotel . Right on Waikiki beach so high price. We expected more, the whole hotel needs a makeover.. It is pretty much a group hotel. They do have some good restaurants on site.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank VondeMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha VondeMor. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and for staying in one of our Oceanfront rooms. Our newly-renovated Oceanfront rooms offer breathtaking views of Waikiki Beach and the Pacific Ocean. These rooms range in size with cozier king-bedded rooms suitable for up to two persons and spacious rooms with two double beds or one king bed plus a sofabed for up to four persons. We are sorry you were disappointed with the size of your room. If you should stay with us in the future and are unhappy with the room you are assigned, please allow our staff to show you a variety of available options that you can choose from. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,192 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing