We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise Levels High”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at the Hotel 10 nights this July.This was our second visit and although you cannot fault the views,beach etc noise levels are a big issue.We had a partial Ocean View on the 9th floor to the right of the hotel looking from the Beach.But still at 5am EVERY morning you have the rubbish trucks collecting the rubbish from the street and the Cheese Cake Factory Restaurant next door.This must have been loud as its on the other side of the Hotel.The noise goes on for ages and is very annoying with the beeping noise of the reversing trucks. Further to this you now have the construction noise coming from the Building Site across the road where the new International Market is being built.

Apparently they are not supposed to start work until 8am but the arrive on site somewhat earlier than that and start moving the dumper trucks around adding more noise.I mentioned this to the Hotel Management who seemed rather nonchalant about this ,whilst I understand that rubbish collection and Construction work is out of their control they were aware about the construction noise but obviously were failing to tackle this with the developers.

Construction noise that disturbs guests should be mentioned in any details from the Hotel prior to booking.

This noise may or may not have been experienced by other visitors but for us it spoilt our visit this time with the added disappointment of the lack of understanding from the Hotel Staff.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have an Ocean View Room it might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank andmoresome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Aloha andmoresome. Thank you for spending 10 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are grateful for your continued patronage and we truly apologize for the noise you experienced during your recent stay. Please be assured that members of our management team attend regular neighbor liaison meetings held by the developers of the International Marketplace project. All of the feedback we receive from guests regarding the construction activity from this project are communicated to the developers. Mahalo Nui Loa for notifying our staff about the noise issue. We hope to welcome you back for a third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,917 - 1,923 of 4,963 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for a week, this hotel is based in a great location and handy walking distances to everywhere you will need, this one is right on the beach so don't get confused with the other outrigger, would recommend you pay extra for a room with a view of the beach :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Aloha shan9. Thank you for spending a week at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We truly appreciate your five-star rating of our hotel. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Waikiki Beach. Good price for the location. The pool is a little small and the hot tub is closed in the late afternoon into night for buffets at the pool, but that is really the only complaint. The beach is shallow up to your waste all the out until about 200 yards. Watch out for the crowds of nebie surfers out there, they are a danger to themselves and you. Walk down the beach towards Diamond Head a couple hundred yards to save money on rentals and outrigger rides. The hotel charges too much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petrod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Aloha petrod21. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are proud to be located on the best section of Waikiki Beach where the water conditions are ideal for swimming and surfing, and the sandy bottom of the ocean is perfectly smooth instead of rocky. Our hotel does not rent out any beach equipment or sell ocean activities, however, there are many businesses located along the beach that do. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger for the purpose of being on the beach and proximity to Waikiki Surf spots. It was just fine for what we wanted to do. Hang out; read a book on a crowded beach and enjoy the water.
Outrigger was clean and acceptable. Some reviewers say it’s a tired facility. I found it to be OK. There is a lot of traffic through that hotel. Recognize it is not the Hyatt Regency, Four Seasons or Hyatt. But it works. They have the DUKES restaurant; Hula Girl café overlooking the beach and water. Bell service great; Rooms clean and acceptable. Beach access great. Your beach chair in the sand is less than 20 yards from the Outrigger bar and 10 feet from the patio. If you don’t like sand, use the Hotel pool lounge chairs at no charge. Pool is small. Why use it when you have the famous Waikiki beach.
Because we surf and SUP, we rented boards for the week so we avoid “by the hour” rental from the beach boy concessionaires. The Hotel has storage racks for the boards. NO Charge. Just put down the refundable deposit for the lock. Generally we are surfing as early as 7:00 am. It is beautiful.
So here is the tip for Waikiki beach. The beach is a public beach. If staying at any of the hotels directly on the beach, note that the concessionaires are not attached to the hotels even if they appear so. They are independent. So, if you want to rent a lounge chair in the sand with umbrella it will cost you somewhere in the neighborhood of $40 to $60 per day. These concessionaires lay out their chairs in the perfect position of high tide, view etc etc. BUT They don’t own the beach. So the daily game for us was to strategically place our chairs perfectly before the concessionaires set up their rental encampment . If something is ever said by those beach boys ; I can tell you they will back off because Hotel’s such as the Pink Palace, Outrigger Sheraton and others don’t want their hotel guests in controversy over a beach spot. The paid lounge chair encampment is generally never full.
So one can either pay the concessionaires by renting the lounge chair and umbrella each day or do like we did; head to Walmart or Costco for a beach chair that can be used on Waikiki or other beach spots that you choose to visit during your vacation. Buying a $40 beach chair for the whole vacation to use at Waikiki is cost effective because I prefer spending my money on drinks and food.
We went to a music concert in Honolulu and used our beach chairs at that venue as well. The down side is that you must haul a beach chair down from your room to the beach at the Outrigger. No big deal. At the end of the trip, we gave our chairs away to tourists that were laying in the sand with a just a towel. Playing it forward.
The Outrigger is just fine for couples and families without pretense. It has been around for a long time and truly reflects the Hawaiian layback style of Waikiki. If you want “upiddy” there are many other Waikiki hotels to stay at. However, remember this is Waikiki. In my opinion, it’s all about what you want to do. Every time we book a Waikiki vacation, (which we have done many times over the years) , I think to myself that I am NUTS. Folks are crazy to spend vacation time at destinations with massive hotels, wall to wall designer shops and massive crowds on the beach, street and restaurants.
But the Waikiki surf is great in the summer months . That experience by itself always brings a smile to my face.
If people annoy you, then I would think twice about Honolulu and Waikiki. As an alternative head to Maui, Kaui or Lanai or the Big island. Better yet, spend the vacation savings and take a trip to Moreau and Bora Bora in Tahiti.
Mahalo
P town Ken

Room Tip: This hotel is packed. Depending on the time of year, you could upgrade. It will cost you. But w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank PTownKenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Aloha PTownKenR. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. As an experienced visitor to the Waikiki area, your tips for future travelers are very accurate and useful. Waikiki is, in fact, a very beautiful and popular urban beachfront destination brimming with tourists, shops, restaurants and hotels throughout the year. The ocean conditions are perfect for surfing, stand-up paddling, catamaran-sailing and swimming. The beach is entirely public and there are many non-hotel operated businesses that rent chairs, umbrellas and equipment at a considerable cost to anyone. We are glad you decided to purchase your own beach chair and were able to use it on multiple occasions. Mahalo Nui Loa for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We first stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the beach last year and loved it so much we returned again this year. Pleased we did as you can not beat the location and value the Outrigger offers. No silly daily resort fee to pay too is a bonus. You still get free wifi anyway. Beach location is perfect for us as it really feels as if you're in the action/centre of Waikiki and the live music coming from dukes when you're lying on the beach/lazing by the pool or paddling out in the sea makes it even more special. Rooms are clean and fine. Granted they're not luxurious but are practical with a separate luggage/robe room coming off the bathroom and the toilet and shower can be closed off allowing privacy and someone else can brush their teeth/use the basin. Very handy for families!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Aloha fussytraveller2. Thank you for returning to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are so glad you found our location and value to be unbeatable. We always try to provide the best value to our guests by offering discounted room rates throughout the year. In addition, we do not charge resort fees and we provide free amenities such as complimentary Internet access, local and long-distance phone calls to the U.S. mainland and Canada, free in-room safe usage and much more. It is wonderful to hear that you had another enjoyable family vacation with us. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here with friends for 6 nights. really great location. rooms are classic, nice. beds comfortable. Clean., we had a partial ocean view room , was good, could see enough of the sea to get some good photos. Next time I will book a full ocean front suite, was booked out this time. would stay again. Great beach location and shopping all around.

Room Tip: partial or full ocean view are better, Others are small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzzanne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Aloha OakuraSue1. Thank you for spending 6 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms and convenient beach location. We will look forward to welcoming you back again. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel as the reviews rated it better than others and are glad we did. We had the city room (despite them trying to suggest upgrading for $100 to a partial ocean view or $200 for full ocean view per night) and we're glad we didn't bother the view want all that but you could see the beach on the balcony, the room was large, comfortable and modern (10th floor). The beach is on the doorstep although you'll be lucky to get a lounger. The sea is lovely and warm and relatively calm and shallow for a good 20 metres out.
We didn't particularly like Waikiki it's self as it is an expensive Vegas/ uniform strip, noisy and busy and eating out is a nightmare. Be sure to book the day before, at least, if you don't want to wait an 1 1/2 for a table. Nice place for a 3/4 night stay but wouldn't want longer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Viva81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Aloha Viva81. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed the view from your City-view room. Many of our guest rooms are designed to be spacious enough to comfortably accommodate families of four and our furnishings were recently upgraded during our last renovation. Waikiki is in fact a very well-visited urban area filled with vacationers exploring the large variety of restaurants, shops and beach throughout the day. Your recommendation to make dining reservations in advance is an excellent one. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,186 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £200 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing