We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from a week in Waikiki and stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. This was my 3rd vacation in Waikiki but the first stay at OWOTB. The first time, I stayed at the Hilton Prince Kuhio which was very nice. The second trip we stayed at the Sheraton PK (across the street from OWOTB) which had a great location but was otherwise awful. For this trip our travel agent suggested the Outrigger Waikiki and I'm glad we elected to stay here. It has a great location right on the beach where we spent quite a bit of our time. The property is quite narrow compared to the other hotels on the beach but the OWOTB makes the most of that space. The public spaces and rooms are decorated in a casual island elegance and are impeccably maintained. The hotel staff were always polite and helpful. We ate at Dukes and the Hula Grill which were both very good. Overall we loved our stay here. If your looking for 5 star luxury this is not the place for you. If your a budget minded traveler there are much cheaper places to stay. For the majority of travelers looking for a quality hotel in a great location in Waikiki beach you should consider the Outrigger.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coatejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Aloha Coatejo. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your third visit to Honolulu. We are very proud to be a quality hotel in a good location right on Waikiki beach. We hope you will stay with us the next time you vacation in Hawai`i. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,515
    1,509
    400
    132
    58
See reviews for
1,433
2,038
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Outrigger and it was just as good this time around.

The lady at reception who checked us in was very friendly. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view. The room was well furnished with a balcony overlooking Waikiki, great spot in the afternoon with a beer or champagne after a day on the beach (see Jan at Beach Activities on the beach for a cabana hire by the hour).

The room itself was a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, a nice sized bathroom and wardrobe with a safe, a separate couch and a large screen TV with limited cable options. I put the drip coffee machine to good use and our housekeeper Paz was great.

The hotel has a fairly well equipped gym with walkers, bikes and a few machines and free weights (dumb bells only).

The best thing about this hotel other than the room is the location - you're on the sand or in the shops within 5 minutes and there's great food options within the hotel (Pai's Deli for lunch, Duke's or Hula Grill for dinner). The hotel is not as large as some of the others on Waikiki, so you won't get the big tour groups through there.

What else can I say other than we love this place and we'll be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Aloha Aaron W. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the second time. It is wonderful to read your compliments about our friendly reception and Housekeeping staff, our comfortable rooms, well equipped fitness center and convenient location. We are extremely proud to be your favorite hotel. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My grandson and I spent quite a few days at the North Shore before traveling to Honolulu for the last three days of our trip. Our stay at the Outrigger did not disappoint! This hotel is very beautiful and the staff always friendly and helpful! The breakfast buffet at Duke's is delicious and reasonably priced! The activities staff on the beach at the hotel are awesome! My grandson took a private stand-up paddle lesson with Mike, and he loved it! I highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Honolulu. We will definitely be staying there on our next visit!

Room Tip: We had a room with partial ocean view which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Aloha VIcky707. Thank you for spending three nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad your grandson was able to experience stand-up paddle boarding while he was here. This is truly the perfect location for guests to make the most of a fun-filled vacation on the beach. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

May 2014 we booked ten days at our favorite hotel in Waikiki because we've always had pleasant experiences here in the past 5 visits. Again we got a room on the Diamond Head side (10th floor around the middle) with decent views of the beach and ocean. Room was a bit dated but clean, quiet and comfortable. Bathroom had a half-tub but good water pressure (watch out for the toilet water pressure as it could suck a small child down there!). Thankfully Pai's sandwich shop is still down by the pool (best freshest sandwiches on the beach). The hotel staff are always helpful and smiling. The location is A1 and pool is cozy and cool. Beachfront is best spot for people-watching and going out to the surf line-up. Duke's and Hula Café are both great for oceanview meals. Free lei making and ukulele classes weekly. I really can't think of any negatives. I just hope this hotel doesn't get too popular.

Room Tip: Stay away from lower floors facing the Cheesecake Factory air ducts on the westside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ALKamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Aloha AJKamino. Thank you very much for continuing to choose the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are humbly honored to be your favorite hotel in Waikiki after 6 stays with us. Many of our return guests, such as you and your family feel right at home here because of the distinctive charm of our property. This is due in large part to the welcoming hospitality of our staff, the island-themed decor throughout the hotel, our engaging cultural activities and local small businesses in our lobby such as Pa's Sandwich Shop. Mahalo Nui Loa. We look forward to seeing you on your 7th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikerie, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights last week. Great location had an ocean view room that was very clean and comfortable. The staff were all extremely nice and helpful, I would highly recommend the outrigger as you are central to everything and are right on the beach.

Room Tip: Had an amazing view of the beach and ocean from the 14 the floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishStringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Aloha TrishStringer. Thank you for spending 5 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your high recommendation and five-star rating of our hotel is very much appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Service was great, all the staff made you feel extremely welcome and were extremely helpful, especially the staff at the activities desk! Hotel style isn't that modern and the pool was small but it has the prime location on Waikiki beach and is the perfect destination if you're looking to be in the heart of Waikiki!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chiro93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Aloha chiro93. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very proud of all our employees who provide the best island hospitality to our guests each and every day. Mahalo Nui Loa for acknowledging their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stopped at Outrigger for a one night / 2 day taste of Hawaii enroute from Australia to Alaska.

We really enjoyed our stay - the hotel is right on the beach and a good base to explore the walk up the coast or inland on the shopping strip.

The rooms were clean & comfortable and we had no problems with our stay - they managed to provide access to our rooms a few hours early to freshen up after our long flight and we also enjoyed the pool / facilities after check out and were given use of a special suite to shower and change at the end of the day before our next flight.

Will definitely return should we return to Hawaii

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Aloha richaus. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach while you were enroute to Alaska. We understand that most visitors travel very long distances to arrive at our island destination. For that reason, our hotel provides the complimentary use of a Hospitality room for guests to shower and freshen up in before their flight is scheduled or before their assigned rooms are available for check-in. Mahalo Nui Loa for enjoying our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing