We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

For our honeymoon, we decided to do Hawaii. Oahu was the first island on our trip. This hotel is so so. The rooms and hallway felt dated, the beach is crowded, and its in the middle of a very commercialized area. It doesn't feel like Hawaii. Down the street is an H&M and next door is an apple store. We found ourselves looking for tours and activities that took us away from Waikiki every day. On one of the tours we took, it circled the entire island. There are a lot of nice resorts and hotels that are secluded from the craziness in the city. One of our tour guides noted that he hates Waikiki beach because it is so busy.

The hotel does have a couple nice restaurants. There is a busy restaurant on the water that is loud and full of drunks from the beach. Unfortunately it is below the nice restaurants.

We didn't get a chance to use the pool. It is directly next to the crazy restaurant. It is not that big and it seems the only way you can access it is by going through the seating area. Weird location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,798 - 1,804 of 4,856 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was very nice. It was clean and family friendly. Duke's Canoe Club was a great place for breakfast. My daughters didn't find much on the dinner menu. But we just went to the bar and it was no problem. And it's right on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank amg7177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha amg7177. Thank you for spending your Hawaiian vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that our property was suitable for the needs of your `ohana (family). Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good hotel, central to everything in the heart of Waikiki. Bit noisy though. Was woken up around 2am by people just coming back from a big night out and then around 6am the people staying above us were out on their balcony dragging the chairs around! Apart from that, it was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha NLobo. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our centralized location and are sorry that you were disturbed by guests in neighboring rooms during your stay. Please come back again and do not hesitate to let us know if we can assist you should any problems arise. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very close to main area and to the beachside also. Actually do not need a car if you want to look around Waikiki. Especially for shopping, you might find everything around within 5-10minuates walking. Rooms and other facilities very clean.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Wendell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha Wendell K. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is our goal to provide clean, comfortable accommodations and exceptional service in a convenient location for all of our guests. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great Hotel. We had a motorcycle and were able to use park our own bike. Great view. Friendly staff, clean room. Food and service great in the hotel. The beach was beautiful. We were able to walk to all the shops at nights. Night life is great without spending any money!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha Maureen C. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Waikiki is a fantastic destination for enjoying the nightlife while on vacation. The main strip, Kalakaua Avenue, is lined with an eclectic mix of street performers, hotels and shopping centers feature live Hawaiian entertainment every evening, most of the retail shops are open until 10pm or later and popular nightclubs are the perfect place for dancing, music and libations until 4am in the morning. It certainly sounds like you had a fun-filled vacation here. Please come back soon for another great visit. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here twice in the last month and once last year. Will continue to go back here as it is central to shops, restaurants, beachfront. Had a city view room for the first part of the trip so was not expecting any sea view but to our surprise we had an amazing view of the beach towards Diamond Head and the city. We were very happy with this. On our return a few weeks later we had a partial ocean view which was as good as the city view but the room was higher on the 10th floor also Diamond Head side. My sister had a partial ocean view on the Cheesecake Factory side. This was not nearly as good as the Diamond Head side. They asked to be moved and this occurred the next day.

Room Tip: Go Diamond Head side 8th floor and higher. Partial ocean view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha Lou C. Thank you very much for being a loyal return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We truly appreciate your continued patronage and five-star rating of our property. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from a week in Waikiki and stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. This was my 3rd vacation in Waikiki but the first stay at OWOTB. The first time, I stayed at the Hilton Prince Kuhio which was very nice. The second trip we stayed at the Sheraton PK (across the street from OWOTB) which had a great location but was otherwise awful. For this trip our travel agent suggested the Outrigger Waikiki and I'm glad we elected to stay here. It has a great location right on the beach where we spent quite a bit of our time. The property is quite narrow compared to the other hotels on the beach but the OWOTB makes the most of that space. The public spaces and rooms are decorated in a casual island elegance and are impeccably maintained. The hotel staff were always polite and helpful. We ate at Dukes and the Hula Grill which were both very good. Overall we loved our stay here. If your looking for 5 star luxury this is not the place for you. If your a budget minded traveler there are much cheaper places to stay. For the majority of travelers looking for a quality hotel in a great location in Waikiki beach you should consider the Outrigger.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Coatejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha Coatejo. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your third visit to Honolulu. We are very proud to be a quality hotel in a good location right on Waikiki beach. We hope you will stay with us the next time you vacation in Hawai`i. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £210 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing