We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our first visit to Hawaii and the Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach was our hotel of choice after much research of Waikiki hotels and we were not let down. We landed early in Hawaii after a 10 hour overnight flight from Melbourne, arriving at the hotel at 9am. Our room wasn’t ready and that’s fair enough, however even though the check in time was 3pm the front desk staff did say to us check back at about noon as we will try and have your room ready, and they did which was great as it allowed us a quick nap before hitting the beach. We stayed 4 nights for our first visit and then another 4 nights after returning from the Big Island.

The hotel rooms were large and well appointed with great furniture, effective air-conditioning (while somewhat noisy), a small bar fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, large screen TV, large desk, super comfy bed and pillows, good size bathroom (no bath), and heaps of cupboard space. The room also had a small balcony (aka a lanai) looking to Diamond head and a so, so view of the beach (refer to photos). Our rooms were on the 15th & 14th Floor for our stays roughly in the middle of the floors and we had no problems with noise internally or externally, room numbers were 1535 & 1435. These rooms were behind the lifts… there was no lift noise whatsoever, which made them easily accessible.

The hotel is in the perfect location on Kalakaua Avenue and being right on the beach is in my opinion the best way to enjoy Waikiki. The hotel pool is small but being right on the beach we chose to swim at the beach. Unfortunately to hire a beach umbrella and 2 sun lounges on the beach was $USD50 per day, a bit pricey!! At least pool and beach towels were supplied for the hotel guets. None the less being right on the beach you could use the sun lounges at the hotel and then walk to the beach for a swim. Having Pai’s sandwhich bar at the hotel meant you didn’t need to leave the hotel if you wanted a simple bite to eat while spending the day at the pool or the beach, or you could order food from Duke’s while at the pool. The hotel has a small but well appointed gym, didn’t use it cause we were on holidays ;-). The hotel has cold water in the lobby and also by the pool, which is a nice touch. The hotel also has free wifi which is great, however it is almost impossible to get a connection first thing in the morning or after 5pm in the afternoon, on many occasions we had to ring the front desk to get the connections reset. Hotel management should look to investigate automatically disconnecting inactive wifi connections after 15mins (it is easily done), which will save lots of unhappy wifi users. Being in the heart of Kalakaua Ave means easy access to many dining options, shopping and some sightseeing which can all be had by foot. If you do not have a car, the easiest and least expensive way to get around is by local bus, a bus map can be collected from the hotel’s information centre. If there are 4 of you in some instances a taxi may be a reasonable and more efficient method of transport as bus tickets are all $USD2.50 per person.

The hotel has great and reasonably priced dining at all its restaurants, and Duke’s is by far the most popular and when you go you will see why, the menu is great and the salad bar stupendous, on numerous occasions we over indulged the salad bar meaning we struggled to finish our meals. Duke’s is super popular, everyone comes to Duke’s, from all different hotels, so expect to wait over 90mins for a table in some instances we heard 2 hours (Friday nights). BUT, the great thing is that hotel guests get priority, which I would expect and the hotel delivers. Basically you can call Duke’s from your room, tell them what time you want to dine (give them at least an hours notice), and they will call you back when your table is ready….so no waiting for the hotel guests.

All staff were great, they were friendly, courteous and always willing to help and give advice. It was nice to stay in a hotel/resort that has ALL its staff trained to respect the guests staying there. I tip my hat to the management. I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Go for rooms higher up as traffic noise could be an issue for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
14  Thank StanAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Aloha StanAmana. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach after researching the different hotels in the area. Your very thorough review of our property will be very helpful for future travelers. We truly appreciate your compliments to our staff and management. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 4,917 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well our first time in honolulu. This hotel was excellent for our 2 night stay. Room very comfortable but I must say we could have done without the garbage bin collection at 5.30 in the morning. The trucks continually beep for 2 hours. Best advice would be to get an ocean facing room. Pricing was very good value for money and the hotel is very central.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha Mitmas. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki during your first time in Honolulu. Nothing pleases us more than to hear you would stay with us again. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Right in the centre of activities and right on the beach, you can't do better that that! Fabulous rooms and equally great restaurants - you have to eat at Duke's - and a beach worth hanging out on. Staff and service is exceptional, lots of beach and are area activities, shop 'til you drop opportunities, many area dining choices. Been to spas in many countries, on-site services here are among the best. Going back next May.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms have a great view that can include Diamond Head. Go a few floors up to minimize ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob_downie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha rob_downie. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Your compliments about our location, rooms, restaurants, staff and spa are truly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you next May! Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

For our honeymoon, we decided to do Hawaii. Oahu was the first island on our trip. This hotel is so so. The rooms and hallway felt dated, the beach is crowded, and its in the middle of a very commercialized area. It doesn't feel like Hawaii. Down the street is an H&M and next door is an apple store. We found ourselves looking for tours and activities that took us away from Waikiki every day. On one of the tours we took, it circled the entire island. There are a lot of nice resorts and hotels that are secluded from the craziness in the city. One of our tour guides noted that he hates Waikiki beach because it is so busy.

The hotel does have a couple nice restaurants. There is a busy restaurant on the water that is loud and full of drunks from the beach. Unfortunately it is below the nice restaurants.

We didn't get a chance to use the pool. It is directly next to the crazy restaurant. It is not that big and it seems the only way you can access it is by going through the seating area. Weird location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was very nice. It was clean and family friendly. Duke's Canoe Club was a great place for breakfast. My daughters didn't find much on the dinner menu. But we just went to the bar and it was no problem. And it's right on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank amg7177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha amg7177. Thank you for spending your Hawaiian vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that our property was suitable for the needs of your `ohana (family). Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good hotel, central to everything in the heart of Waikiki. Bit noisy though. Was woken up around 2am by people just coming back from a big night out and then around 6am the people staying above us were out on their balcony dragging the chairs around! Apart from that, it was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha NLobo. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our centralized location and are sorry that you were disturbed by guests in neighboring rooms during your stay. Please come back again and do not hesitate to let us know if we can assist you should any problems arise. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very close to main area and to the beachside also. Actually do not need a car if you want to look around Waikiki. Especially for shopping, you might find everything around within 5-10minuates walking. Rooms and other facilities very clean.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Wendell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Aloha Wendell K. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is our goal to provide clean, comfortable accommodations and exceptional service in a convenient location for all of our guests. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,159 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £204 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing