We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waikiki in all it's glory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff are friendly, the bed is comfortable. The prices pretty good. The view is to die for. The best thing about Waikiki is the clear and beautiful ocean with all it's colours. The toiletries are good. We ate in all the restaurants. Pai's Deli does the best milkshakes we've had in years. dukes was average, chucks also,average. Stand out best place for all meals was Hula,Grill.
Our room was on 9 th floor which cut down noise, and ocean side. Still heard the pool,side bands. Great location to enjoy all tourist stuff, and pick up tours. Arrived at 11.30 am and got our room, even though check in is 3pm. Checked out and paid bill night before the flight to reduce delays.
Hint: the only sour note is booking your excursions. We were misled on two of them. You can get it better and cheaper by booking the, yourself. If not, do your homework and be really explicit about what you want. Ask lots of questions and double check. In my excitement I didn't do this and we got disappointed. Plantation spa was good massage and facial in penthouse

Room Tip: Waikiki is a tourist place,lots of activity and noise. Get a room high up and Oceanside to reduce no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank illana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha illana15. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is wonderful to hear that you ate at all of our restaurants and enjoyed a good massage and facial at our rooftop Plantation Spa. We are sorry you were disappointed with two of the excursions you booked. Please be assured that our experienced concierges are always ready to assist guests with any questions they may have. Mahalo Nui Loa. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,849 - 1,855 of 4,923 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were greeted by a very rude young lady who gave us the impression that they were doing us a favour by letting us stay there . After we checked in we went thru to the bar and restaurant which was busy ,so while we waited for seating we went to bar and was told again quite rudely to stand in line . The room was cramped with two outdated double beds with hardly enough room for our luggage .
We spent the previous three weeks on the US mainland at a number of hotels from Comfort inns to the Bellagio in LV this was the worst hotel by far.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Owen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha Owen J. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are truly sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your room and the service you received. Providing the best service and quality of accommodations is very important to us. Your feedback will be utilized to improve our training efforts in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Wonderful location,right in the heart of the action at Waikiki. Hotel staff were polite, helpful and co-operative. Rooms were clean, bright and plenty of space. Pool area was rather crowded so we chose to swim at the beach instead

Room Tip: Rooms were perfectly adequate. We were offered an upgrade when we arrived, which we accepted and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Kathy10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha Kathy10000. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very proud of our wonderful location, clean rooms and helpful staff. Your compliments about them all are humbly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed 8 days & had a great room on the 11th floor with a partial view of the ocean & city. Great location, big rooms & good beds. Staff are very friendly & booked some great tours for us. The pool is lovely with great poolside service for drinks. There was often live music being played in the dukes's restaurant section outside which added to the atmosphere. Dukes has great food & an amazing healthy salad bar that us Aussie's love! Close to all restaurants & shops. Make sure you go to ward shopping centre & grab some bargains. They have Asics runners for $56!!! We appreciated the constant updates from the hotel with the approaching cyclone last week. This is a very clean & comfortable hotel with a lovely balcony from all rooms & an on site laundry.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a partial ocean view room. They all had city & ocean views. Ask for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Maree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha Maree P. Thank you for spending 8 days at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, friendly staff, lively atmosphere and Duke's restaurant and bar. During the recent hurricane warning period, it was our priority to keep our guests safe and well informed about weather updates and changes in airline schedules. Mahalo Nui Loa for expressing your appreciation for our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is a place to stay if you like shops, food & a busy atmosphere. The hotel has all of these things included within its walls!
The check in process and staff were very attentive and kind.
The room itself was very cute, but the appliances and things seemed to be falling apart. The door fell off the first night under the sink as well as the knob in the bathtub.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stmwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Aloha stmwalsh. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. It is true that we have a wonderful variety of shops and restaurants in a lively atmosphere under our very roof. We are glad you enjoyed our staff and facilities. We will alert our Maintenance department about the room furnishing issues you mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

From check in we had an extremely unhelpful staff member (dont remember her name but she had blonde hair and sat on the end desk). Our room wasnt ready as we had arrived earlier than check in - was told to keep coming back to ask her - why cant they send me a text or come and tell me whilst waiting in the outside pool are? Room wasnt ready till check in time - 3pm.Another receptionist during our stay we asked about the yoga class advertised in the lift and she gave us the wrong information and send us to level 2 which only has guest rooms!. We never found out where it was.Reception staff and porters are rude and gave us wrong directions to the bus stop to hanamua bay, patronising and extremely unhelpful. The housekeeping lady was lovely and our room was always spotless, it was such a nice change to have someone friendly and helpful on staff. As for the rest of the hotel, the location is good but it is a very public hotel and hotel guests get no preference for the restaurants or bars on site.

Room Tip: Partial rooms have quite good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Aloha Trudy A. Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are very sorry about the service problems you experienced. While we would love to have accommodated you with a room when you arrived earlier than the check-in time, we were unable to do so as there were no available rooms at the moment. Our Front Desk staff does offer luggage storage services and use of the hotel facilities while you wait. Your suggestion to have our staff text you when a room becomes available is an excellent one. Our current hotel phone system does not have texting capabilities; however, we will keep your suggestion in mind for upcoming technological upgrades. All of your feedback is valuable to us and will be carefully reviewed by our entire management team. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Outrigger before going on our cruise. The room was good with a view of the beach. It was great to be able to get to the beach in about 2 minutes. We had breakfast in the restaurant on the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Aloha Ian P. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach before embarking on your cruise. It is wonderful to hear that you had a lovely time here. We hope to see you again. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,169 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £206 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing