We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pace To Stay in Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife & I have stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach seven times. We have brought our grown son with us five times. Every time we have been greeted with much ALOHA! The hotel is decorated with REAL Hawaiian artifacts & really urge you to enjoy the cultural side of Hawaii. We were there the last of April & first week of May, 2014. During our stay we did all the cultural activities that were offered. Made leis on May 1st (Lei Day), created Hawaiian luggage tags with our Hawaiian names on them. Took ukulele lessons. My wife learned to do the Hula while I filmed! We also renewed our wedding vows out front, which was one of the highlights of our trip! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, newly weds, couples & families. All the employees were Great!

Room Tip: Usually stay on Diamond Head side of Hotel. Great view, the higher the floor, the better
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Aloha Michael H. Thank you very much for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the 7th time. We are so pleased to hear that you and your `ohana participated in all of the free Hawaiian cultural activities that are offered to our guests almost every day of the week right in our lobby. Our employees take it as a compliment when visitors show a genuine interest in learning about the history, traditions and practices that are unique to their island home. We hope to welcome you back for the 8th time and we look forward to helping all of you perfect your ukulele skills. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,786)
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,702 - 1,708 of 4,786 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is located right in the middle of Waikiki and adjacent to the Royal Hawaiian. We checked in and was upgraded from a partial ocean view to the first room considered ocean view in their building. As your room gets closer to the beachfront side of the building your views improves but even with a barely ocean view room the location was fine. We were on the third floor and though earlier reviews complained about noise, we did not hear a thing. The rooms are very well built and we did not once hear a sound from the hallway or adjacent room (and the hotel was fully booked when we were there). There are stores in the lobby area and it is open to the public but this did not detract at all from the hotel.

It is important though to get down to the pool when it opens to obtain a decent lounge chair by the pool but they are much more available here than at other properties and it did appear that the pool attendant did watch at times to make sure people do not just drop a towel down and then come back hours later at the expense of everyone else there.

Dukes was a great place for lunch and if the hotel restaurant prices seem high, you can always go a block or two for lower price options - places like Subway, BK and McDonalds are not far as well as California Pizza, Cheesecake Factory, etc. The ABC stores are also a great place to get things like beer or soda and if you have access to a car there is a Walmart with 15 minute drive to get other sundries which you will pay double or triple in Waikiki.....

The rooms are very well maintained and all in all this was an excellent hotel. We stayed 8 nights here and then 4 nights at the Royal Hawaiian and enjoyed every minute of our vacation.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view or better - also you do not need to avoid a low floor - we were on 3rd floor and...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank PMPB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Aloha PMPB_11. Thank you for spending 8 nights at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are glad you liked our well maintained rooms and had a relaxing stay with us. Since the hotel's recent renovation that took place in 2012-2013, all 524 guest rooms were sound-proofed and upgraded. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed every minute of your vacation. Mahalo Nui Loa for your dining recommendations and five-star rating of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is number 2 of my top ten hotels , based on the fact it suits me, maybe not everyone i surf so overlooking 180 d ocean is to die for, the reception staff are great some since my first visit some 15 years ago, thanks to Lai who checked us in without any problems and made sure everything was just right, the room was great and clean , despite all the usual problems with having a front room and not wanting air con on all night but the sound of the surf and 26 c warmth at night so be prepared for a bit of noise roudy people on the beach are quickly silenced by security. there was a fight on the beach at dusk more yelling and swearing then anything this bought the response of Hawaii 5 O sirens blasting and many police who quickly sorted it out with zero tolerance to idiots which is one of the reasons i love it here.
The tractors raking the beach at first light and setting up of chairs make sure you rise early for an amazing swim before the crowds again i stress this is only if you have the balcony door open at night.
The food and breakfast are good value and the omelette is fantastic, lunch and dinner are always fantastic and don't forget your Hula Pie.
The lifts have improved slightly only 3 which is always a way to meet people close up and personal , a note to the person trying to get into the lift with a 9'2" surfboard use the board lockers down stairs !!!!! they are FREE.
The pool is small unlike the promo photos but clean and good for a sun bake and cocktail served by friendly staff.
You can hire a surfboard stand up paddle board etc right out front as well as chairs etc.
Despite all the first world problems this is an icon of Hawaii and stands on surfing history of the original Waikiki beach boys and Duke, the downstairs and lobby are filled with history and memoirs of the sole of surfing, respect this Hotel as a National treasure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank oskardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Aloha oskardog. Thank you very much for being a return guest of the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are truly honored to be ranked number 2 of your top ten hotels in the world! Our property is the ideal place for guests to enjoy the ocean views and the many beach activities that can be found just footsteps away from our spacious pool decks. Mahalo Nui Loa for appreciating the rich history of our location and the many exhibits we have throughout our lobbies that are dedicated to Hawai`i's unique culture and past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My first trip overseas. And Honolulu was the first stop and this was where we stayed. Very comfortable rooms with splendid views of Waikiki and the ocean, very freindly staff who were always willing to help with a smile, a fantastic tiki bar by the pool ( which was my first introduction to american beer). And they do have a non- alcoholic option on tap if you want it. I wish we had stayed here on the way home as it would have been more of a fitting end to a great trip than the hotel we stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Aloha scott m. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach during your first vacation in Hawai`i. We are delighted to be a part of your many new experiences of traveling overseas and we hope you will be back for another great trip. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was our third time staying here, location as always great, even to shuttle bus for Ala Moana shopping centre being just next door. This time we spent two separate nights here, as we spent a week on Big Island and wanted a stopping point for fly in, fly out from overseas. Best part was we were able to leave our suitcases in storage for free here and just travelled with carry on luggage saving us $100 in checked luggage charges. Our big suitcases were for shopping in Oahu. Breakfast was good, stand range. We did have a problem getting a table for dinner and ended up eating out. Staff as usual were very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronwyn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Aloha Bronwyn18. Thank you for staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach for the third time. Your continued patronage is truly appreciated. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Set on the beautiful Waikiki Beach with stunning views of Diamond Head and pristine waters this hotel was much more then I had expected. I visualized a typical tourist hotel with rude staff, sub par restuarant experience, and outdated decor. What I experienced was quite the opposite!
The staff was exceptional, from the front desk to to the maid service. We were always greeted with a smile and a heartfelt Aloha from every member of the staff. The rooms were bright and clean, and the bathrooms very clean, I always inspect the corners, thats just me, and well stocked with shampoos, soap and towels. The restaurants and bars in the hotel offered great food and drinks at very reasonible prices. The wait staff were always helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic! On the beautiful beach with more then enought lounges around the pool area and lounges and umbrellas on the sand for a nominal fee. The activities are virtually endless, with surfboard rentals and surfing lessons, catamaran tours, and swimming in the very calm waters. There is also plenty of shopping and great restuarants all nearby. Fantastic hotel, fatastic staff and fanastic location!!

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to an ocean front room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SCOTTYK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Aloha SCOTTYK57. Thank you for spending your family vacation at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. We are so proud to read your many positive mentions about our staff, rooms, restaurants, location and activities. Having exceeded your expectations is a great compliment to us. Please come back for another fantastic stay. Mahao Nui Loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is right on the Waikiki Beach and is amazing. We had a group of 19 people and everyone loved it. Lajuana was great with our vow renewal ceremony. Five couples in our group participated and they said that was the highlight of the trip. Nature's Touch Photography took pictures and was just perfect. Thanks Boyana for preserving our experience!
Vicki Greger, Vicki's Tours

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourlady75561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,067 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £201 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing