We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple is best”
Review of Ewa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ewa Hotel
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simple is best”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Like many have noted the hotel is not the Hilton. Actually I can say this with authority as I stayed at the Double tree Hilton one night. If you need fancy modern rooms, a pool and fitness centre with loud obnoxious people, lip service from unmotivated staff and a small bathroom without counter space and Wifi that doesn't work but still charges you $10 extra for (and a $20 continental breakfast- coffee on top of that). Then go to the Double Tree.

If you want a spacious clean room with helpful staff, on a quiet street within steps of the beach and the fun part of Waikiki then Look no farther. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Aloha Gary D,

Thank you so much for your positive review! Our location is truly a great asset to the property - we truly are steps from the beach without the hustle and bustle and the noise of Waikiki. Please come visit us again!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    176
    135
    25
    35
See reviews for
89
135
99
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of our Hawaii vacation. Location is ok, a little hard to get to with a car (thanks to one-way streets). On-site parking at $20/day seems to be on par with other places in Waikiki.

The room itself was clean but dated. The wallpaper was old and the kitchenette cabinet doors were literally falling apart. The furniture was ok and the room was ok overall.

The bed was comfortable, linens were clean and fresh. The A/C system worked really well and kept the room nice and cool.

If you come to this hotel thinking it's one of those fancy ones on the beach, you'll be disappointed. If you're looking for good budget accommodation, you have a winner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBrown79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Aloha AndyBrown79,

Mahalo for taking the time to tell us how your stay was here at EWA Hotel Waikiki. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms and hopefully when you do decide to give us a try again, the rooms are much more to your liking.

Please visit us again soon!

Thank you,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The rooms were not great. No microwave. Restricted view. People working there were nice. Marginal parking. Location was excellent
Next to zoo. They changed our room to one with a working refrigerator.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Aloha Kenneth R,

Mahalo for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you found the staff at EWA nice and loved the location. If your travel brings you back to Hawaii, I hope you will stay with us again.

Thank you,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

You wouldn't choose this hotel for the quality of the room but it was clean and functional with fridges and crockery/cutlery for self catering. It's in a great location, close to the beach and a stroll away from shops and restaurants. Also has easy access to busses if you want to explore further afield.

Room Tip: We were travelling as a family of 5 with 3 teenagers and the interconnecting rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfitzjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Aloha mfitzjohn,

Thank you for your review. Yes, you are correct, we may not be the best hotel on the block but we make sure that our rooms are clean and functional. And being close to the beach helps a lot too. We are currently doing a lot of upgrades to our hotel and hopefully you will come visit us again.

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This Hotel is a little gem, yes it is a little dated but has clean spacious rooms with all you could need in them. Comfortable beds, fantastic shower water pressure, coffee pot plus small kitchenette with mini fridge & microwave. There is an ice machine in the garage. A short walk to the beach and the main strip. Starbucks is a 2 minute walk and the ABC (corner shop) is one minute walk away. The staff are lovely, so friendly, especially John, he went out of his way to help us, so much so we bought him a latte from Starbucks to say thankyou. They were all very helpful priniting us out walking and driving maps on request and suggesting places to explore. The kids loved helping themselves to the iced lemon water in reception, nice touch Ewa.

Room Tip: Previous reveiwers complained about having a room next to the elavator but with the a/c running all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daggles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Aloha Daggles69,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I will definitely pass on the kudos to Jon and I am so glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here in Hawaii. We are currently refreshing our rooms so hopefully by next year, all of our rooms are more up-to-date. Please visit us again soon!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great time in Waikiki and our room definitely did not distract from our stay. The room was very clean, had a firm but plush queen bed, a sofa, and a kitchenette with stove, refrigerator, and coffee pot. The staff was very friendly and knows the area well. There were many moderately priced restaurants within walking distance, as well as Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Beach, the Aquarium, and the Zoo.
The downside was that this is an older building, the view out of my window was of several balconies in the neighboring buildings, and housekeeping knocked on our door at 9am. Hardly an inconvenience for the price difference between this hotel and many others on the strip.
Overall Five Stars for this two star hotel. I would definitely stay here again for the amenities if I visit Honolulu in the future.

Room Tip: Handicapped parking is limited in the garage. There might be 1 or 2 spots, so be sure to ask about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Aloha Erin B,

Mahalo nui for taking the time to post a review of your stay here at EWA Hotel Waikīkī! I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Everyone here at the property is looking forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Excellent value. Staff went out of their way after we forgot somethings to get them back to us promptly. Great staff. Housekeeping was very helpful when we found we forgot stuff. Front desk went out of their way in helping us getting around Oahu.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJNWesternArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer B, Manager at Ewa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Aloha JJNWesternArizona,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for our hotel. I am so glad we were able to help you out with everything you could possibly need while vacationing with us. Please come back and visit us again!!!

Mahalo,
Jennifer Batara
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marina Tower Waikiki
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ewa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ewa Hotel

Property: Ewa Hotel
Address: 2555 Cartwright Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ewa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet side of Waikiki, Ewa Hotel Waikiki offers affordable, island-style accommodations just steps to Waikiki's diverse activities and entertainment including world-famous Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Kapiolani Park and the Honolulu Zoo. This charming hotel features an expansive rooftop sundeck where guests can soak up the warm Hawaiian sunshine or view spectacular Waikiki sunsets. Soothing pastels and rattan decor add tropical flair and island charm to the rooms. The Ewa Hotel Pet Policy allows (1) cat or dog per room, daily pet fees apply. With our daily convenience fee for all stays, Ewa Hotel Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. You'll also enjoy the 24-hour Front Desk, bicycle rack, and surfboard rack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ewa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ewa Hotel Honolulu
Ewa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing