We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll stay here again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“We'll stay here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I -- both military retirees -- have been wanting to stay at the Hale Koa for several years. We decided to stay there for 4 days after a 1-week cruise with his brother and sister-in-law that ended in Honolulu on Christmas Day. We debarked earlier than expected but the hotel graciously allowed us to check in at 11AM instead of 3PM. The rooms we had reserved weren't ready yet so they offered us rooms that were slightly cheaper and they threw in tickets for a few free meals, which we appreciated. Our party had two rooms, both clean and well-appointed, especially for the price (in Honolulu, anyway). My only complaint about the room was the lack of free internet service - it costs $9.95 a day. We had a small lanai but didn't sit out there often as it was unusually rainy that week. The beach is one of the nicest on that side of island and there are two pools as well. We had reservations for the last seating of the Christmas brunch buffet but the servers were backed up and we were seated 30 minutes late so felt a bit rushed but the food was great. We tried the other restaurants at the hotel also - nothing special but more convenient than going out for every meal. There is also a small PX on the lowest level but the prices were higher than I expected and the food choices were very limited, especially if you are on a special diet like me. Apparently the management doesn't cater to those of us who don't eat sugar or a lot of fat but you'll do fine if you like regular soda, chips, cookies and sugary cereals. They carry quite a few souvenir-type items, aloha-wear, sunglasses and beach necessities but again I was not impressed by the prices. (I live on the Big Island so am used to prices in Hawaii but was expecting to see some sort of a discount at the PX.) We rented a car since there were 4 of us and were pleased with the reduced-price parking the hotel offers. You can also arrange tours and car rentals through the hotel. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brinklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    542
    116
    37
    20
See reviews for
678
723
50
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
179 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Maybe I'm spoiled.... I did not think much of the accomodations, but .. we had a top floor ocean suite with THE most incredible vistas EVER, I took pic through the window, to get the west view over the park of the hotel and the beach.. it looked like a post card. Sunsets views through the other window facing west (the hotel roomes had two walls of windows only!) were incredible to watch. We are very active travelers, so thankfully we did not spend much time in our rooms. Breakfast: meh.... disappointing... dinner we always had elsewhere. The gardens of this hotel are really beautiful. The Luau is very touristy... whadaexpect...lol..... I am a seasoned traveler, I just don' t go for all that kitsch.. but we still enjoyed it regardless. The location of this hotel is just FANTASTIC... just leave the premises and before you know, you're right there. .. in the midst of downtown Honolulu, shops, Waikiki Beach.. perfect. We did some surfing which was awesome, when I started spotting giant Sea Turtles below my board! All in all... rooms:meh, food: meh...but ...the views and amenities and location... great place to stay when in Honolulu!

Room Tip: Ask for upper level with SOUTHWEST view .... you will have TWO walls entirely of glass , it's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sistatravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans/Honolulu
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Indeed, great for those with military benefits. Rates will vary depending on rank but good rates in general. You can find cheaper elsewhere, but not directly on the beach. Hale Koa has a great location right on the beach. Rooms are pretty standard but good, clean. Nothing fancy. Good service all around. PX on site. Ok restaurants on site. Cheap parking. There is a nice Saturday afternoon Catholic Mass on the beach there during the summers.

Travel tip: Get out of Waikiki. There is so much to see other than this spot. I used to live on Oahu, so I know there are better beaches and towns out there. The beach at the Hale Koa is rocky in the water. Get out to Sandy's Beach, the Windward side, Kailua, Haliewa and the Northshore.

Room Tip: love this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston,AL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We found the Hale Koa by walking up the beach a few years ago because the grounds are so amazing. Then we were thrilled to find out it is the military hotel since BF is retired. I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews before we went, but I had no need. The check in was easy, sky cap efficient, and we were lead to our room which was an end one with both ocean and mountain view (8th floor). It was spectacular. The room was clean, and the staff friendly and efficient. The grounds are to die for, and it was great to be able to walk on Waikiki to watch the 4th of July fireworks. Location is perfect - easy to hop on a trolley - and the parking garage is a god-send when you realize how hard that is in Honolulu. We also enjoyed the luau, but since it's my first I can't say if it was the best, but we had a great time, and don't feel like we need to do another. The PX made things much easier, and saved us LOTS of money on souvenirs and such. We are already planning our next trip to the South Seas, and we will be stopping over and staying here again.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean, get a room above 6th floor. Our partial ocean view was spectacular (8t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redhead64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Spend your next vacation at the Hale Koa and you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benfen6293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

This was a great place to stay in Honolulu. We didn't spend much time there, but the rooms were clean and the view was great!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smur38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
251 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

May 2011: This was our 3rd time at the Hale Koa and will always be our hotel of choice. We had room 639, a room that has a nice corner balcony. It's classified as a garden view room but it's more of garden/city skyline views. If you walk around the corner of the balcony, you get a peek of the ocean between the two buildings.

Check in is at 3pm, so plan your arrival accordingly. We got there a little early on a Sunday so we went to have brunch. We couldn't get in to the restaurant, as it was full and of course we didn't have reservations. I remember the brunch from our last visit, and it was awesome. We ended up eating at Biba's, which was fine.

Our room, while not fancy, was clean and comfortable. What's best about the Hale Koa are the prices (we paid $136/night), the fabulous beach area (the best on Waikiki beach IMHO), the pools, the Barefoot bar where the bartenders (tell Geri I said hello!) serve some of the best Mai Tai's in town; and the friendliness of the staff. Parking is a bargain compared to other hotels. This is truely a Best Value hotel for what you paid/get.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mjpileggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Property: Hale Koa Hotel
Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1998
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing