We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last year with my family and cousins and we had a good time! The hotel was very close to wherever we wanted to go and kids had a blast at the pool including me! Rooms were neat and tidy and we got the hotel at a good deal! Staff was nice and we enjoyed a lot! Will come back here sometime soon! Just loved it and Hawaii as well!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparksugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    551
    118
    37
    21
See reviews for
702
736
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you are lucky enough to have been associated with our military, or sponsored by someone who has been, this is an affordable Waikiki Beach location. The rooms are basic, but who cares when you're hanging out at the beach? The grounds are wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeseville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great place and true value. Luau was excellent, comedy night very entertaining, Beach was exceptional. Breakfast at the coco cafe terrace every morning overlooking park & ocean...Beautiful. Tour & travel office was great for setting up excursions. Looking forward to going back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

First of all, it has one of the longest beaches on Waikiki, sits on Fort DeRussy, ***** hotel facilities, including huge open-air lobby, coffee kiosk, spa, flower shop, salon, Post Exchange, 2 incredible restaurants, great bar, best luau in Waikiki, prices - see website - unbelieveable, huge beautifully landscaped grounds, two outdoor pools, snack bar, barefoot bar ++++++ others. Lots of specialty activities for families and singles alike. I've been there 5 times and I and my family love it. Great for kids. Great for seniors. Very accessible: wheelchair, rolling walkers. Check out the website. (no room service - ignore the rating, below)

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same except for the view. If you can afford it, consider Ocean Front at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeePlantation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked our hotel room about a month ago, and since we arrived, it has been an unforgettable experience. Fourth floor corner room, king size bed, with a perfect unobstructed view of the ocean. Great amenities, giant TV, very friendly staff.

And it's $156/night. $7/day parking, with in/out privileges.

Don't stay anywhere else. Book the Hale Koa far in advance.

Room Tip: Call and ask in advance for a king bed room, but they are very rare (10%)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was my husband and I's first time staying at The Hale Koa, we previously had taken advantage of their pool while he was living in Hawaii.

We were visiting Hawaii to get married, my (now) husband was able to sponsor three rooms for our family. Upon making the reservation I requested that we all be in the renovated tower. During check in 3 out of the 4 rooms were in the renovated tower. I was able to see what rooms looked like in both towers, and there was a SIGNIFICANT difference. The other tower is in desperate need of renovation.
Our room was beautiful. We were on the 13th floor and had a partial ocean view.

-The property is kept immaculate, beautiful gardens & you cannot beat the location.
-Two pools. One being adults only with hot tub. Our biggest complaint: they close at 8:00PM. Crazy!!!!
-KoKo Cafe has an AMAZING breakfast buffet, we took advantage of this almost every morning. Fresh fruits, omelet bar, make your own waffles, pastries, yogurt, eggs/bacon/french toast/pancakes, fried rice, etc. Lots of vegetarian and/or gluten free options.

The hotel has an exchange where you can purchase EVERYTHING you could ever need. Clothing, food/drinks, Hawaii souvenirs, travel necessities, alcohol, all toiletry needs, anything you could ever need at the beach, etc. You need a military ID to purchase here. If a sponsored guest wants to buy anything, someone with a military ID must be present & more often than not they hassle you if you are trying to use a credit/debit card.

There is a coin operated laundry room located on most floors. We were able to do our laundry right before we left which was really great.

***Rooms do not come with microwaves BUT there is a microwave in the laundry room! We had no idea til well into our stay.

Overall this is a great hotel in a perfect location. So thankful this is available to military.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. The hotel is exactly where you want to be on Waikiki. Plenty of restaurants around within walking distance. Has a military only convince store on site great prices. Two pools and one is set up for adults only. The rooms are clean and have decent beds. The staff are great.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jgilbert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Property: Hale Koa Hotel
Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1998
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing