We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Waikiki is the Hale Koa!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
251 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Waikiki is the Hale Koa!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2005

$110/night for a Garden View Room. Room 546 Maile tower for the first four nights; Rome 839 our last night, Maile tower.

This was our second stay at the Hale Koa (October 2005) and just like our last visit, we truly enjoyed this visit. Our room was clean, comfortable and with a wonderful view of the Waikiki area. Everyone was friendly, especially Geri, our cute and always smiling waitress at the barefoot pool bar. If you are military or a DOD employee, this is THE best place to stay while in Waikiki. The prices are excellent (based on your rank and type of room (garden vs. ocean view)), no taxes, and all the amenities a 4-5 star resort provides. And the beach is the best in Waikiki, as it is not crowded at all.

Room 839 has a great corner balcony, so we had views towards the mountains, and could also look around the corner towards the water. The room looks larger too. Room had a king bed, a small sofa and desk. Room 546 had two queen beds.

The Hale Koa is within walking distance to Keo's Thai restaurant; 20 minutes towards Diamond Head (we dined at Tiki's - great Kalua pig quesadillas!).

We'll always return to the Hale Koa when visiting Oahu.

Monica

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank mjpileggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    547
    117
    37
    21
See reviews for
685
727
50
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2005

My husband & I chose the Hale Koa for our stay while in Oahu and could not of been happier! This property exceeded our expectations and was our favorite resort during our two island stay.
This was our first time staying at a military resort and I must admit, I wasn't expecting it to be much more than average. I'm happy to say we were wrong!
When we first arrived we were blown away by the resorts fabulous lobby and grounds! The web pictures do not do justice to the property.
We were so impressed with the beautiful property and all the amenities. The service we were given was without a doubt superb. Th aloha spirit was everywhere. Our room in the newer tower was clean and comfortable and boasted a beautiful ocean view overlooking the lush grounds of the resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our buffet breakfast on the terrace at the Koko Cafe each morning, it was a fabulous way to start the day. Also having the Exchange on property was so convenient! and a great place to stock up on all those wonderful Hawaiin souveniers, and the selection and price of course, can't be beat. We ate exclusively at the hotel and enjoyed all of our meals at a very affordable price. We walked to all the other nearby hotels on the beach and found the Hale Koa was the only one with a "real beach" located behind it! Most had only a small amount of beach area or no "sand" area at all! The Hale Koa is private and surrounded by lush gardens and a beautiful stretch of beach.
Upon leaving we traveled to Maui and stayed at the Westin Resort & Spa in a deluxe ocean front room. Though the accomodations were much more lavish than the Hale Koa, we still enjoyed the Hale Koa more. Our 3 night stay at the Westin cost 4 times what our 2 night stay including all meals and a show cost at the Hale Koa. The service at the Westin was good but we still felt the service at the Hale Koa was more personable. We plan on returning to Hawaii soon and only plan on staying at the Hale Koa when we return. Our only regret was not staying there for our entire stay. If you qualify to stay here, don't miss it or you will be missing out on a real "gem" in the pacific!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank ldb8333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2005

This resort is right up there with the major resorts on Waikiki. Beautiful surroundings, the grounds are impeccably maintained, service is top notch, food is excellent, the prices can't be beat. I would stay here again in one beat of my heart. One of the best vacations we've ever had. If you are military connected (active or retired or DOD), I believe you are eligibe to stay here.

If you are Catholic, DO NOT MISS the Mass on the beach on Sat evening. It is breathtakingly beautiful. Even if you aren't Catholic, if you'd like to attend a beautiful church service with a Hawaiin flair, at Sunset on the beach, this is not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank tracyintpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2005

We were fortunate to stay at the Hale Koa with my parents for 8 days in July. The facility was great! We were in the new tower with a partial ocean view room. The room was on the small side, but very clean. The lobby.... it is just beautiful. We enjoyed sitting there watching the people pass. Everyone was very friendly, the staff as well as the other guests. We ate at Bibas and the Koko Cafe several times and the food was very good. We also took advantage of the magic show (very funny and entertaining) and the luau. One night my husband and I walked down the beach to see some of the other hotels and were astonished to find how tiny and crowded their beaches were. The beach at the Hale Koa was very large in comparison. The exchange was so handy; we purchased gifts, food, CDs, clothing and jewelry there. And the jewelry store in the lobby has lovely things at wonderful prices! Everything was wonderful about our experience at the Hale Koa and I would recommend it to anyone is able to stay there. Thanks, Dad, for taking us!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank mrs.bigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2005

We were here 10 years ago and decided to share some paradise with our daughter too. We spent the first part of our vacation at Bellows then moved on to the Hale Koa. We arrived early and decided, if allowed, to change and use the pool until our room was ready. To our surprise, our room was ready so we were able to check in and go directly to our room. It was on the 5th floor with an ocean view. They view was wonderful but would rather have a higher floor view. The Hale Koa was wonderful from start to finish. Our only disappointment was the luau, we didn't make advance reservations and missed out on it. Our room was roomy enough and clean. The restaurants were great. We did most of our souvenir shopping at the PX. They had a good variety of items at low prices and no tax. We had a rental car for the first part of our vacation but once we parked it in the parking lot we didn't use it. We actually walked to the Ala Moana Mall one night and had dinner at Bubba Gump's. The Hale Koa is in a location within walking distance to alot of places. The beach and the pool are wonderful! My only recommendation would be to have a central location where you could donate beach toys to other families. We were lucky enough to run into a family who were trying to unload their beach toys before their departure. So we in turn located a family to donate the toys to before we departed. All in all the Hale Koa is a wonderful place to experience paradise!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank cal2net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Hale Koa 13-25 July as part of my R&R from Iraq. As part of the R&R program, the hotel offered to take an additional 30% off our room rates and on-site meals, which made a great value even better.

The Hale Koa is located at the beginning of Waikiki Beach, next to the Hilton Hawaiian Village. The beach is wide and beautiful. We took a walk down Waikiki and were astonished to find that many expensive hotels have only a fraction of the beachfront that the Hale Koa does. It is located on the former Ft. DeRussy, and includes expansive park-like grounds, tennis courts, two pools and the parking garage.
One pool is reserved for the "over 18" crowd (meaning retirees) and the other is all ages. The larger pool is adjacent to the beach and has a snack bar and drink bar. Alcohol is not technically legal on the beach, so be discreet. We spent most of out time at the beach, which is protected by a reef. It has excellent snorkling and is lifeguard-protected during the day.

We were situated in the new tower, with a partial ocean view, and did not experience any problems with the room. On the lanai, we could either look out onto the ocean, or turn around and look towards the mountains. The room has a refrigerator, but no coffee maker. The bed was comfortable, but we really didn't spend a lot of time in the room.
The hotel has a number of restaurants, ranging from horrible and ironically named "Happy's", to the incredible Hale Koa Room, which served two of the best restaurant meals I have ever had. It has a dress code and is really an experience that should not be missed. It also has two other moderately priced restaurants for casual dining. The Sunday Brunch is worth the price.

We attended and enjoyed the luau, although the food was average and the fish made my wife ill the next day. The entertainment was excellent. We both took tennis lessons from the outstanding tennis pro on premises and enjoyed facials and massages at "The Point", the on-site day spa.

The Hale Koa has an on-site PX with plenty of trinkets and beach-related items. There is also a jewelry shop on premises that has an excellent selection of jewelry ranging up to $20,000 diamond earrings.

The only drawback of the Waikiki location is navigating the Honolulu traffic. We rented a car and parked in the garage across the street ($4/day). We toured the island. If you golf, I recommend taking advantage of the excellent military courses nearby. We golfed at Hickam AFB and Barbers Point and could not believe how low the greens fees were. They also rent clubs.

The Hale Koa is on par with any Marriott and is approaching the quality of Hilton. I could not believe that this hotel could be associated with the Army. The service was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

One more note: the Hale Koa is probably the most secure hotel in Honolulu. In addition to regular security, there is a platoon of MPs that patrols the parking garage and grounds.

We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
35 Thank idahodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2005

We spent Easter of 2005 at the Hale Koa with our family,and had such a good time that we went back for our anniversary in July. We have had oceanview and ocean front rooms in the old tower. Oceanfront room had a million dollar view. We have not been successful in getting into the new tower. Spoke with a gentleman in the hall who has tried four times to get into the new tower. The old tower is in need of new carpet and wallpaper,the halls are not airconditoned. That being said the old tower is closer to the beach so street noise is not as noticeable. The Hale Koa is still a great value for the money. Staff was wonderful. Flower shop did a great job on a order we sent to a family member. Beach at Hale Koa is large and clean. There is a company who rents chairs and umbrellas by the day.They give the Hale Koa guests a 20% discount. I did see some cats by the beach, but figured they helped keep rodents away. We can't wait to return to the Hale Koa in the future.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank VAQs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Property: Hale Koa Hotel
Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1998
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing