We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for a friendly, comfortable stay in Waikiki”
Review of Breakers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Breakers Hotel
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Breakers for 2 nights prior to our flight to Sydney.
This hotel seemed to us to be reminiscent of small hotels we remember from our younger years.
Yes, the rooms are a bit dated but that aspect lends to its charm. The room was clean, the bed comfortable. The Breakers sits close to much more expensive hotels which cost a whole lot more, making this hotel a real bargain. The location is perfect. You can walk to restaurants, shopping, and the beach. The staff are wonderful, answering all of our touristy questions nicely. There is a lovely courtyard and pool in the center of the property with tropical trees, flowers, and shrubs, which makes the property seem like an oasis in the busy city of Honolulu. There is a sushi restaurant on the property, which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Try to book a room facing the courtyard as the street noise was noticeable in our room at the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelfun6639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Breakers is old Hawaiian. Have been staying there for years. Convenient but quiet, comfortable, well maintained. May be dated for some tastes, but is a pleasant, welcoming place to stay right in the middle of Waikiki. Easy walk to the beach, to restaurants or to shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This place is an institution. My family has been staying here since my mother was a kid. It is old style, not flashy. A low-rise nearly surrounded by high-rises. Rooms are clean, functional, and comfortable. Most or all with kitchenette. Staff is friendly and responsive. And rates are moderate. The clientele are people who want simplicity and quiet; many of whom have been returning for decades. If you want glitz and glamor, don't stay here. This is an oasis of calm, understated class in the heart of Waikiki; all of it steps away, including the beach, which is 1-2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Small 2 level hotel. Very casual feel. Staff is helpful and friendly, available 24/7. Excellent location, 1/2 block to Waikiki beach. Rooms and bath are dated, small kitchenettes but clean. Restaurants, shops are all in walking distance. If you don't want to pay high-rise prices and don't want fancy lobbies and elevators to get to the beach, this is the place for you. Pool area is in the middle of the buildings, so it's very private. Wasabi Bistro is also on the property.

Room Tip: I felt the second floor rooms were more private. Lower level opened to pool area and guests walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Deb04033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The location of the hotel is very close to the beach and other hotels, restaurants. Opposite there is an ABC store and a 7 Eleven for basic needs. Everything in Waikiki is walking distance form the hotel. Bus stops are just a block away that will connect you to the rest of the city.

The hotel is charming - I think that's the right word to use. The rooms are dated, but it's part of the charm. If you absolutely need the latest bathroom equipment, fluffy expensive white towels, power shower then this is not the place for you.

Rooms are large and the beds were comfortable. Guests are mostly Japanese and the quiet sort. The hotel staff was very nice. The caring sort.

I appreciated the charm and the close proximity of other guests and that they have cats and birds at the reception as part of the family. So if this is not your thing (it is mine!), book another hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DesertBunnyAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I did my research before deciding on The Breakers Hotel. So yes, we were prepared for the dated/older Hawaiian décor which we thought was quaint. It was very clean and roomy enough for two. Ear plugs are a good recommendation, not the hotels fault, noises just bounce off all the highrises.
The Good Stuff: The pool area was beautiful and free Wi-Fi poolside (not available in your room). There are resident cats to welcome you and a friendly open-air front desk which is staffed 24/7. And definetly plan to have dinner at the on-site sushi restaurant, at least once...its fabulous!
Now about the location: Could not be better! Honest! You have everything you need within walking distance including the famous "Roy's" restaurant (the front desk was so kind as to make reservations for us!). Starbucks, the Beach Walk mall, Outrigger...too many things to list...all within blocks of your hotel room. Really a great value! I almost wanted to keep it a secret and not do a review. But I also want to see this hotel continue to thrive and hang onto its little piece of paradise in the middle of the big city!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This unique hotel is about 1/2 block from the beach in a excellent location. Most other options nearby are much more expensive. Two story buildings make it easy to get in and out of your room quickly without having to wait for an elevator. The rooms are spacious and include a small kitchen area. It's an older hotel so the decor is dated but expected in a hotel of this age. The bed was comfortable. The pool area is nice and the staff are friendly. Waikiki is noisy so if you're a light sleeper earplugs are a must. Parking in back is very limited but other options are close by. Free coffee and WiFi by the pool are a plus. This is a great place to stay and I would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Windward_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ilima Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
953 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
638 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,548 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Surf Hotel
Holiday Surf Hotel
#78 of 84 in Honolulu
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Hotel

Address: 250 Beach Walk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1994
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £72 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Breakers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Honolulu
Breakers Hawaii
Breakers Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing