We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Response to Surfer Dude's review”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Breakers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakers Hotel
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Response to Surfer Dude's review”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Having just returned from our stay The Breakers I want to respond to Surfer Dude's review. We appreciate the 'old time Hawaii' feel of this wonderful hotel. Don't expect amenities or much available on site parking, but stay here if you want the feel of a laid back Honolulu, relaxed and very very friendly staff. This is why we have stayed here for more than 20 years. You are in the middle of Waikiki where all the action is, but you will have a wonderful retreat to return to at the end of your day. We had a kitchenette with 4 electric burners and oven; toaster (you can probably switch with a microwave if you prefer), mini fridge. The back room with double bed has the air conditioner. The front room with 2 twins has a fan and tv. The perk of the rooms by the pool is you are literally steps to the pool surrounded by chaise lounges and round tables with umbrellas. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank restaurantgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    88
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
62
65
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Awesome old style Hotel, only stairs. Diamond in the rough. Great people who work there. I have been going to the Breakers for 20 years while I work on the Islands. Its like family. Great Sushi restrurante in the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: By the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank balance21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAWAII
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First of all, the "Professional" picture showing the outside of the building is not the The Breakers. Rely on the traveler's photos for accurate pictures. The location is still excellent and the value ( depending on your perspective is good), but unfortunately that's all it has going for it. It has gone way downhill since my last review. I will no longer put my friends and family there when they come visit the islands. Bed comfort is horrible. Box air con noise sound like a jet engine. Traffic noise on the back side is bad because Saratoga is a major road. The rooms themselves have a mustiness and unclean sensation that never seems to go away. Basically it's a 60+ year old property that's stuck in the 60s. If you are on an extreme budget and don't mind discomfort and questionable cleanliness, this place might still work for you. However, in your search I think you will find much better low cost options that are updated and cleaner and more comfortable. Bottom line though, I will never put someone I care about here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, stay on the Beachwalk side not the Saratoga side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SURFER_DUDE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

What could be bad about a 2 story hotel 2 blocks from the beach in Waikiki? Rooms are a bit dated but very clean. They even have a semi kitchenette (I say semi as it is a mini fridge with a glorified hot plate and no microwave, but full complement of utensils). Nice pool in the courtyard and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 360eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for only 2 nights. Picked it because of the great location and low price. The BEST thing about this place was the location. Very easy walk to the beach. Located in a very upscale area- Hard Rock Cafe a few doors down, and great shopping nearby. The property seems to be one of the original hotels, before the big building boom-the huge hotels went up around it. It has a nice pool, and wi-fi in the pool area only. The rooms were dated, but clean. No microwave. The water pressure in the shower was OK, but had trouble keeping the water temperature consistent. Either too hot or too cold. The front desk asked that room keys be turned in when we left the property, but remembered what room we were in without us having to tell them. Beach towels and straw mats were provided. There were only 5 free parking spots-1st come, 1st serve. There was a large for fee lot across the street by the post-office. Was a good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AREEN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Breakers for 2 nights prior to our flight to Sydney.
This hotel seemed to us to be reminiscent of small hotels we remember from our younger years.
Yes, the rooms are a bit dated but that aspect lends to its charm. The room was clean, the bed comfortable. The Breakers sits close to much more expensive hotels which cost a whole lot more, making this hotel a real bargain. The location is perfect. You can walk to restaurants, shopping, and the beach. The staff are wonderful, answering all of our touristy questions nicely. There is a lovely courtyard and pool in the center of the property with tropical trees, flowers, and shrubs, which makes the property seem like an oasis in the busy city of Honolulu. There is a sushi restaurant on the property, which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Try to book a room facing the courtyard as the street noise was noticeable in our room at the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelfun6639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Breakers is old Hawaiian. Have been staying there for years. Convenient but quiet, comfortable, well maintained. May be dated for some tastes, but is a pleasant, welcoming place to stay right in the middle of Waikiki. Easy walk to the beach, to restaurants or to shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Polynesian Plaza
#83 of 84 in Honolulu
178 reviews
Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Ilima Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#35 of 84 in Honolulu
1,495 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Hotel

Property: Breakers Hotel
Address: 250 Beach Walk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1994
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Breakers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Honolulu
Breakers Hawaii
Breakers Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing