We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspirational”

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
Book In Advance
More Info
US$169.00*
and up
Hawaii Five-0 TV Locations Tour
Ranked #9 of 321 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The resting place for more than 25,000 victims of three American Wars - World War II, Korean War and Vietnam War – this is truly the “Cemetery of Heroes.” Punchbowl was formed some 75,000 to 100,000 years ago during the Honolulu period of secondary volcanic activity. A crater resulted from the ejection of hot lava through cracks in the old coral reefs that, at the time, extended to the foot of the Koolau Mountain Range. Of special note is a monument honoring Hawaii-born astronaut Ellison Onizuka, who perished aboard the Challenger space shuttle in 1986. Also noteworthy are the Courts of the Missing, white stone tablets bearing the names of those missing in action from World War II.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Very peaceful. Spent some quite time remembering why all these folks are buried here and what they sacrificed for our freedom

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TeMosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,687
    618
    130
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deep and moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Back in the 1970's we lived in DC. This is much like Arlington cemetary

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chosun_trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely setting with great views of Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This cemetery is fairly close to downtown Waikiki, but you need directions to get there, as it is located in a residential area. Once you get nearer the cemetery, there are signs leading you there. Quite impressive.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank metalmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Totally worth stopping at.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is a beautiful, peaceful place with an incredible monument that you can walk up and view. There is a huge driveway-ish thing with gorgeous trees on the side, and the monument is huge and head turning.

After viewing the monument walk above and behind it (and to the left, if you're looking straight at it) and walk up a short road to this AMAZING and beautiful view of Honolulu, Diamond Head and the ocean. It was completely deserted while we were there and felt so peaceful, especially after walking through the gardens and gravestones honoring those who were killed or MIA defending our freedom. If you go to Pearl Harbor (which of course you should!), this is a perfect way to end a day viewing that memorial and museums. It would be a gorgeous place to watch a sunset, too.

I took my 5 and 2 year old to this cemetery, and they loved it. They loved running up the stairs to the monument and going to the overlook. It really is that cool. Even a 2 year old liked it, so you will too. I almost didn't bother going to it, but we got mixed up with our GPS and accidentally ended up on a road where I spotted a sign directing us to it and checked it out. We ended up visiting it twice. Put it on your must see list, along with Pearl Harbor.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank abbyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very moving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Manicured grounds, amazing mosaics documenting the Pacific theatre of combat, great views of Honolulu/Waikiki

Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific also viewed

 

Been to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing