We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Visit”

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
Book In Advance
More Info
US$160.00*
and up
Day at Pearl Harbor Tour
Ranked #8 of 322 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The resting place for more than 25,000 victims of three American Wars - World War II, Korean War and Vietnam War – this is truly the “Cemetery of Heroes.” Punchbowl was formed some 75,000 to 100,000 years ago during the Honolulu period of secondary volcanic activity. A crater resulted from the ejection of hot lava through cracks in the old coral reefs that, at the time, extended to the foot of the Koolau Mountain Range. Of special note is a monument honoring Hawaii-born astronaut Ellison Onizuka, who perished aboard the Challenger space shuttle in 1986. Also noteworthy are the Courts of the Missing, white stone tablets bearing the names of those missing in action from World War II.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful location / worth the time to pay yur respects. The viewis also amazing and the whole place is well maintained - never seen anything like it before.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AussieAceCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,719
    631
    131
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Part of our tour”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On the day we visited the cemetery we had just been to the arizona memorial, then the missouri and then the bus took us through Honolulu and the cemetery. it was a great addition to the historical story and whilst educational and informative was never dull.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Humbling”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

A beautiful, somber place of reflection befitting those whose sacrificed so much for us. I wish Pearl Harbor was as aesthetically pleasing as the cemetery. The memorial is worth the walk up the steps...the mosaics are an artful representation of ugly conflicts and president Lincoln's words etched beneath Columbia are very moving. Beautiful views of Honolulu from the top, too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pineapplepalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Serene”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is another "don't miss" on your visit to Oahu. You don't want to pass this by. There is such a respect here and the graves are just a reminder that we do live in a sometimes dangerous world and so many men have given their lives for all of us that we need someplace as beautiful and purposeful as this to show them the respect that they deserve. We couldn't get out of the bus because there was some ceremony going on, but still it was worth the drive thru.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WvTinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quiet place”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a very large cemetery. As we were on a bus, didn't get a chance to really look around. Interesting though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific also viewed

 

Been to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing