We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See!”
Review of Iolani Palace

Iolani Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$114.14*
and up
Monarch's Tour: Bishop Museum & Iolani Palace Combo Tour
Ranked #11 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Iolani Palace, the official residence of Hawaii's monarchy, is a marvel of opulence, innovation and political intrigue. Meticulously restored to its former grandeur, this National Historic Landmark in downtown Honolulu tells of a time when their Majesties, King Kalakaua, who built the palace in 1882, and his sister and successor, Queen Liliuokalani, walked its celebrated halls. Today, you can enjoy one of the most spectacular living restorations in all of Polynesia and immerse yourself in Hawaii's royal heritage. E komo mai! Welcome!
KCMO
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Finally made it to the Iolani Palace after several visits to Oahu. Very glad I did. Beautiful building/appointments and an exceptional history lesson.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingmanKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,315
    1,101
    308
    44
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A glimpse of real Hawaii. A must see for all visitors.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We did the docent led tour and weren't disappointed. Booked a reservation on line 24 hours ahead, smooth process. We left the car at the condo and took theBus. Turned out we didn't have to - there was plenty of cheap parking on site and near by. We haven't done the self-guided tour but I understand that some areas are off limits to that tour which are included on the guided tour. Our guide was a delightful elderly gentleman whos encyclopedic knowledge of the palace and Hawaiian history was only trumped by his enthusiasm. We were fortunate enough to visit the day before Kalākaua's (the last reigning king) 150th birthday so the place was spiffed and polished with bunting all over the facade. The time flew by and I felt like I transported back in time. A great tour and a worthwhile cause to support! As a bonus, the world famous statue (think Hawaii 5 O) of Kamehameha I is across the street and the Aloha tower is only two blocks away. TIP: Guided tours only run from 9:00am to 10:00am and not every day so I imagine they sell out fairly quickly so plan accordingly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura_and_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hawaii's Royal Palace”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We really enjoyed our guided tour of the Iolani Palace, and hearing about the residence of Hawaii's Royalty. It gives us mainlanders a much better understanding of the dynamics of the Royal Family as Hawaii joined with the rest of the world. It is a beautiful building furnished with antiques and fascinating stories!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_P_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For History Buffs”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Really just a huge old house. Lots of historical artifacts but you really should invest in the guided tour in order to understand some of the stories behind each. A great way to appreciate an important piece of island history. Lot's of restoration has taken place to return the Palace back to it's original state from a government building. My wife enjoyed it more than I did (quilts, old fabrics) but definitely not for kids.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Royal Palace”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The history of the Royal Palace is very interesting especially how the last Queen was imprisoned within the palace walls within one room and had no visitors or writing implements for any type of communication with the outside. You are allowed to take photos inside the palace , WITHOUT A FLASH . The throne room and the blue room were my personal favourites.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DONNA063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iolani Palace also viewed

 

Been to Iolani Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing